We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Highland House

₹₹ - ₹₹₹Mexican, American,
12741 N Port Washington Rd, Mequon, WI 53092-3329
+1 262-243-5844
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good36%
  • Average17%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“enchiladas” (12 reviews)
“chips and salsa” (12 reviews)
“ranch dip” (5 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 AM - 10:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Mexican, American, Southwestern, Bar, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
12741 N Port Washington Rd, Mequon, WI 53092-3329
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My Mother & I went for lunch. Excellent service from bartendress. The salads were great! Will definitely return!

Thank erhLizard3
Reviewed 14 October 2017

If you're looking for a varied menu, quick service in and around Mequon the Highland House is a decent choice. It has a Jimmy Buffet type vibe, at least as much as one can in Wisconsin. You won't be blown away by the entrees, but...More

Thank Mark H
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

This place gave us great service and quick seating. I would come here every day and only have an hour. I would be done in 45 to 60 minutes. Every time its good.

Thank VisitTheBest
Nicole R, Manager at Highland House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thanks so much for your kind review! We'll see you soon!

Reviewed 15 August 2017

This place is busy and family friendly, We enjoy having a drink on the deck. However, we find the food very mediocre.More

Thank jamfam11
Nicole R, Manager at Highland House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thanks for taking the time to review us. While I'm glad you enjoy our patio seating, I am sorry to hear that our food does not meet your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies for what should have been a fantastic visit. I do hope...More

Reviewed 7 August 2017

We visited this summer on a Saturday night because our daughter is attending Concordia University, which is nearby, and wanted to check out the Mequon area. • was seated outside on the deck, which is nice • menus were dirty with spilled salsa; told the...More

Thank TammyL406
Nicole R, Manager at Highland House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Hi Tammy! Thanks for taking the time to review us! It sounds like your experience was a bit of a mixed bag. I'm pleased to hear that you will be giving us a second chance to earn your business. I sincerely apologize for the condition...More

Reviewed 17 July 2017

Met a friend that I have not seen for a while here for dinner. The place is absolutely huge and gobbles up people. Don't let a the full parking lot scare you away, as it nearly did us. When we got inside, it was only...More

Thank dennisgV7281OF
Nicole R, Manager at Highland House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Thanks for the lovely review Dennis! We'd love to see you again soon!

Reviewed 4 July 2017

Two large groups planned their post-grad celebrating at Highland House. They couldn't accommodate the two groups, other than placing two large tables next to each other. It was stifling hot inside, so our group opted for a large round table on the patio. We asked,...More

Thank Ron F
Nicole R, Manager at Highland House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Hi Ron! Thanks for reaching out! I'm sorry to hear that your visit did not meet expectations. We strive to provide excellent service and product to all of our guests. Please accept my apologies regarding the seating situation. Perhaps there was a miscommunication. We were...More

Reviewed 30 June 2017

The food is "typical Mexican", nothing special...just a lot of it. I would rather have smaller portions and lower prices than take things home. Many people come for the Margaritas (lots of flavors) but we're not margarita drinkers. The atmosphere is fun and cheery; and...More

Thank Woody_Boater
Nicole R, Manager at Highland House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Hi Woody! Thanks for taking time to leave us some feedback. I'm glad you enjoy the patio, I hope you have been able to take advantage of some of this nice weather we're having! It's true, we do offer quite a large variety of Mexican...More

Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

We were in the area and stopped by on a very nice night. While the patio was pleasant the chips come with very bland salsa and watered-down ranch dressing. Ranch?! Unfortunately things did not improve. Tacos and rice were completely unmemorable. Nachos were burnt. Everything...More

Thank Christine R
Nicole R, Manager at Highland House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Hi Christine! Thanks for taking the time to leave us your honest feedback. I'm sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I am quite surprised to hear that you didn't enjoy our complimentary chips and salsa. Usually, the Jalapeno Ranch dip is a crowd...More

Reviewed 19 June 2017

Simple Sunday lunch for three. Small bar b que pork sandwich and fries for me- could have been more pork in the sandwich. An egg with bacon sandwich for our son, and a chicken sandwich for my husband. All good, but not exciting. Presentation on...More

Thank 24trips
Nicole R, Manager at Highland House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Thanks for taking time to review us! We certainly appreciate your feedback. Please accept my apologies regarding the plate presentation that we served you. That was certainly an oversight on our part. I hope when we see you next, this will have been a problem...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Range Line Inn
79 reviews
3.52 km away
Cafe 1505
96 reviews
3.30 km away
First Watch
72 reviews
3.40 km away
Nearby Attractions
Thiensville Farmers Market
24 reviews
4.84 km away
Kapco Park
20 reviews
1.79 km away
Virmond Park
13 reviews
4.75 km away
Mequon Chancery
15 reviews
3.40 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Lori R
7 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Nicole R | Property representative |
Hi Lori! Thanks for reaching out. A quiet graduation dinner for the number of people you are looking for would depend on the day and time that you are planning to come in. Please give me a call at the restaurant to... More
0
Votes
Joyce F
18 September 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from fstemper | Property representative |
We most certainly do. Cod, Perch and Walleye.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 10 - US$ 20
Cuisine
Mexican, American, Southwestern, Bar, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 12741 N Port Washington Rd, Mequon, WI 53092-3329
  • Location: United States  >  Wisconsin (WI)  >  Mequon
  • Phone Number: +1 262-243-5844
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing