We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Seaside Restaurant

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, Seafood, Soups
263 Main Street | Gros Morne National Park, Trout River, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 5P0, Canada
+1 709-451-3461
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good29%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (45 reviews)
“cod” (43 reviews)
“chowder” (32 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Canadian, Seafood, Soups
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
263 Main Street | Gros Morne National Park, Trout River, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 5P0, Canada
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

My friend and I had dinner here after a day of hiking. The seafood was delicious. After dinner we walked along the boardwalk outside the restaurant and down to the harbour.

Thank Cyndie B
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Nothing fancy but the food was done right. Had the cod sandwich with onion rings and it was delicious! My husband had the cheeseburger and fries and said it was ok. Service was warm and friendly. I'd recommend this restaurant!More

Thank EKT2011
Jenny P, Owner at Seaside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

That you for your review - we make no claim to the burger nor the onion rings. Fancy - we are not - maybe a little rustic with great service. We do take claim of having fresh fish available. Thanks for dropping by - we...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Having read the other reviews I couldn't believe I was in the same restaurant. Only the cod was fresh. The tartar sauce and seafood sauce came in a Heinz or Kraft food service container...most seafood restaurants pride themselves on their home-made tartar sauce. The mussels...More

Thank Paul B
Jenny P, Owner at Seaside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

As I read your review - you were definitely in the wrong restaurant. For starters, we do not sell Fish & Chips at our restaurant - we haven't had mussels for days & we do have them they are fresh(not frozen) & We Do Make...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited after hiking in Gros Morne and so glad we did! We all enjoyed our meals, from the fish to the stir fry to the tender vegetables (fresh, not frozen!). Alas, we could not buy the melt in your mouth fresh bread rolls to...More

Thank Patricia F
Jenny P, Owner at Seaside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Delighted to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful restaurant by the sea in Trout River. Hope you had a great time here in Gros Morne. Cheers, Jenny

Reviewed 1 week ago

The food is great, the owner very interesting and the decor is funky and educational. A great spot for great food (the scallops at any rate).

Thank harry w
Jenny P, Owner at Seaside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks for your review. Maybe you will get another opportunity to visit us here at the Seaside. Cheers to our wonderful National Park. Cheers, Jenny

Reviewed 1 week ago

Tried mussels and calamari for the first time. Perfection on a plate!!! The owner and staff are very welcoming! =)

Thank Tracey C
Jenny P, Owner at Seaside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

We are always delighted to sere the travelling public - happy to hear that you enjoyed the Calamari & Scallops here at the seaside in Trout River. Hope to see you next time you are travelling through our area. Cheers, Jenny

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

During our trip to Gros Morne we searched out local restaurants which had a reputation for good food. We were pleasantly surprised by the excellent quality of the seafood our party enjoyed. All dishes prepared were excellent, served hot and with a lovely presentation. We...More

Thank SERAF54321
Jenny P, Owner at Seaside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

I always find it amazing how some folks, as yourselves, can really enjoy what our Seaside Restaurant staff & owners work so hard to present, while others just don't see that. Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again if your happen...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We'd been told the Seaside Restaurant is the best in the area and were looking forward to a great lunch. Sadly, that did not happen. The pan fried scallops (3 small and 3 puny) were a total disappointment and more in line with an appetizer...More

Thank dkb60
Jenny P, Owner at Seaside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Sorry to hear that you left hungry - I am sure that if you addressed the fact that you were still hungry at our restaurant - we would have taken care of that for you. We, Newfoundlanders, do not like to see folks go away...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Due to the rain we chose not to hike. We had lunch here and were not disappointed. The location is really pretty (even in heavy rain). We had the seafood chowder, fish burger and the scallops. All were delicious and portions were good. The scallops...More

Thank BDFD
Jenny P, Owner at Seaside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for taking to time to visit our Seaside Restaurant here on the beach in Trout River. Happy to her that you enjoyed the food that was served to you. Thanks for complimenting our server, they work really hard to ensure that each and...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

i had Turbot and my wife had cod. both were excellent. they also had a very talented woman playing harp which was very elegant. the view is incredible.

Thank davidbe57
Jenny P, Owner at Seaside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the harp music and the food here at the Seaside in Trout River. Thank you & Cheers, Jenny

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Old Store Cafe
71 reviews
18.14 km away
Treasure Box
243 reviews
19.37 km away
Granite Coffee House
6 reviews
15.35 km away
Nearby Attractions
Green Gardens
58 reviews
1.32 km away
Galliott Studios
36 reviews
15.29 km away
Bonne Bay Marine Station
149 reviews
18.40 km away
Trout River Interpretation Centre
10 reviews
.47 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
lynnmclean48
1 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Young0252 | Reviewed this property |
I highly recommend you make a reservation. First of all, it is one of the fancier restaurants in the area, secondly I find it is courteous for the owners allowing them to manage their business better, and thirdly you have a... More
0
Votes
Nick Y
11 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jenny P | Property representative |
Good Morning. Just so beautiful here in Trout River this morning. Our Menu for the seaside Restaurant is not a published one as we like to keep it unique too our place. We have a price range from $22 to $32 for dinner... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 8 - US$ 20
Cuisine
Canadian, Seafood, Soups
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, View
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 263 Main Street | Gros Morne National Park, Trout River, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 5P0, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Newfoundland and Labrador  >  Newfoundland  >  Gros Morne National Park  >  Trout River
  • Phone Number: +1 709-451-3461
  • E-mail
Description
Winner of Hall of Fame Restaurant! Harp Music on Sunday & Wednesday evenings! 7 to 9 pm Seaside Restaurant is located in the most scenic part of GROS MORNE NATIONAL PARK, in the small fishing village of Trout River (Route 431), on the beachfront overlooking the ocean with its spectacular sunsets & a kilometer of boardwalk... less than a 10 minute drive from the Tablelands Exhibit. Enjoy the best of Newfoundland cuisine and enjoy beautiful sunsets over the water. After a hike up the Tableland Mountains, or a boat tour up Trout River Pond, this is a great place to come and relax with some real cultural delicacies and picturesque view. Great Food, Great Wine & Great Views of the Ocean!

NEW FALL HOURS: 12 noon to 8:30 pm
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing