We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Windmill Inn

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British,
58 Nore Road, Portishead BS20 6JZ, England
+44 1275 818483
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent24%
  • Very good39%
  • Average16%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“gammon steak” (8 reviews)
“pudding” (20 reviews)
“bristol channel” (56 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
58 Nore Road, Portishead BS20 6JZ, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (774)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 771 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stunning location, and the pub itself is nice. However food is at best mediocre and overpriced. Unfortunately I believe they rely on where they are located to keep pulling in the customers. Fillers you do great beer, please pick up the pace on the food...More

Thank Here-my-am
Windmill I, Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good afternoon I would appreciate some details of your visit if possible Please email windmill@fullers.co.uk. Regards. Pix

Reviewed 1 week ago

I ordered fish which came on a couple of leaves of spinach drenched in a white sauce and served with plain boiled potatoes and a few frozen peas rolling around the plate. Why peas, a green veg, when there's already a green veg on the...More

Thank onon
Windmill I, Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good evening and thank you for the feedback, unfortunately the dish you describe is not something we offer. If you wish to discuss any of the menu we do offer please contact us windmill@fullers.co.uk Kind regards. Pix

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have heard some really good things about the Windmill Inn so we decided to book for Sunday Lunch. Glad we did book as they were really busy probably due to bank holiday weekend and the very hot weather. My husband and I have roast beef...More

Thank Helsbels123456
Windmill I, Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for such a positive review. I hope to wecome you back very soon. Best wishes. Pix

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I had rump stake, mostly charcoal burnt around the edges, unfortunately not only the grisly bits were difficult to chew. Another person sitting opposite me had a gammon stake, which was extremely thin, looking like a large flattened Crispy bacon rasher. Hopefully other people have...More

Thank davidhI6484JE
Windmill I, Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments, for your information all our steaks are bought in by weight and the Gammon steaks are eithet 5 oz or 10oz. We try to check back tomall tables to ensure any issues are dealt with at the time, if this...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Positives = friendly, polite staff, nice interior, great views, good car park Negatives = My meal forgotten - had to seek out staff. Ploughman's poor, dry sliced bread, mediocre cheese, small amount of thinly sliced ham, soft chips (not fresh). Staff replaced bread but no...More

1  Thank John S
Windmill I, Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good evening, I am sorry your visit was not up to our usual standard. It is our policy to check back to tables to make sure any mistakes are dealt with straight away so if this did not happen I apologise. I have passed on...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Windmill is a really lovely place to have a meal. Really enjoyed the food and the early bird offer on the dessert. Worth a visit if in the area and seem to be quick to check about any allergens.

Thank mattyjed16
Windmill I, Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good afternoon, thank you for leaving such a positive review. It is great to hear the staff were implementing the Allergen policy we have in place. Kind regards. Pix

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went along for the first time in a couple of months. Last time we went it was terrible and said we won't rush back. But we went today and wish we hadn't, overpriced, portions far too small. Of all the places we eat in portishead,...More

1  Thank Jolene M
Windmill I, Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Goid morning, thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you feel we did not meet your expectations. We check back to all inside tables so any issues can be resolved at thw time if this did not happen I apologise. If you wish to...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great place to eat with fantastic view of the Severn. Food was great as was the service and the bar. Will be going back soon.

Thank Loonuk
Windmill I, Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for such a glowing review! I hope to see you again soon. Kind regards. Pix

Reviewed 10 April 2018

Booked for Sunday lunch on a visit to our daughter in Bristol and it was wise that we did. The Windmill was quiet when we arrived just before midday, but by one o'clock it was absolutely buzzing with people of all ages, including a party...More

Thank Caddy1
Windmill I, Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for letting us know about your visit I hope on your next visit you try the Roasts as your feedback would be great. Best wishes. Pix

Reviewed 9 April 2018

We come to this restaurant about once a month, and are never disappointed. They train their staff very well, and that makes a real difference. The food quality is always high and always consistent (which is rare), so we keep coming back. If you haven't...More

Thank Andy P
Windmill I, Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Good afternoon and thank you for such a lovely review! I hope to see you again soon. Best wishes. Pix

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Portishead Hotels
Travelodge Portishead
745 reviews
1.27 km away
Premier Inn Portishead Hotel
845 reviews
1.45 km away
Days Inn Bristol M5
746 reviews
5.28 km away
Best Western Walton Park Hotel
1,152 reviews
6.63 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Venga
367 reviews
.92 km away
Antonio's
177 reviews
.96 km away
Aqua
550 reviews
1.27 km away
Bottelino's
499 reviews
1.25 km away
Nearby Attractions
Portishead Open Air Pool
140 reviews
1.08 km away
Portishead Youth Centre
27 reviews
1.07 km away
The Play Port at Portishead
6 reviews
1.04 km away
Channel Explorer charters
5 reviews
1.52 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Andy K
7 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Nathancj23 | Reviewed this property |
Yes they didn't not very big thou
1
Vote
phoebeSomerset
6 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Windmill I | Property representative |
Yes on the bar floor or outside
2
Votes
Brian C
29 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Windmill I | Property representative |
Yes on the level as you walk in
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 58 Nore Road, Portishead BS20 6JZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Portishead
  • Phone Number: +44 1275 818483
  • E-mail
Description
A warm welcome and stunning ocean views await you. At The Windmill Inn in Portishead, it’s freshly-prepared homemade food and fine real ale on the menu. There’s no need to book – just pop in and make yourself at home.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;