The Waggon & Horses

The Waggon & Horses

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+44 20 8953 1406+ Add website
Hours
Sun
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Mon
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Tue
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Wed
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Thu
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Fri
12:00 pm - 1:30 am
Sat
12:00 pm - 1:30 am
Improve this listing
Reserve a table
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Ratings and reviews
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Travellers' Choice 2023

RATINGS
Food
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Food and ambience
Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Menu

"Traditional english breakfast"
£9.95
"Mediterranean breakfast"
£9.50
"Omelette"
£8.50

Full menu TheFork – The Waggon & Horses
Does this place accept credit cards?
About
A stunning 15th century Inn, the Waggon & Horses is full to the original rafters with period features. With three open fires, a library, beautifully decorated in keeping with its age, this pub is at once cozy and romantic. With live music on certain nights, it transforms into a happy party venue with a real old fashioned buzz. The food is inspired by Mark Hix and celebrates the best of seasonal Britain. With a great wine list, cutting edge world beers and expertly kept ales, you will be left wanting for nothing.
PRICE RANGE
₹1,189.00 – ₹2,594.00
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Parking Available, Free off-street parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music
Top 3 reasons to eat here
Sponsored by: The Waggon & Horses
1. Great service ,lovely food
"Highly recommend,lovely quaint pub ,good food excellent service"
5.0 of 5 bubblesTracyS634
2. Family meal
"Excellent food that we all enjoyed with pleasant service."
5.0 of 5 bubbles700Chris
3. Amazing place
"The food was absolutely amazing"
5.0 of 5 bubblesemmag318
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles556 reviews
Excellent
312
Very good
94
Average
38
Poor
40
Terrible
72
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Steven Davies
Shenley17 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Favourite Review
Mar 2024 friends
The pub is dated from 1471 and is as expected, old and quaint with many classic features that one would expect from such and old pub. The pub has a brilliant beer garden but also has a marquee for when the weather is not at its best. The marquee can also be booked for private functions and is a splendid size capable of hosting 40 - 100 people depending upon seating requirements. The staff are excellent with a menu that represents good value. In winter a lovely open fire will keep you warm. Dog friendly and children welcome. All in all, this pub must be considered a "go to" destination for family and friends to enjoy the traditional atmosphere.
Written 28 March 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Prash Theva
Thanks for getting in touch and leaving us a review - We're glad to hear about your experience at our branch.Keep an eye out on our Instagram for all our exciting new promotions and events and we hope to see you soon!
Written 2 April 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Dan H
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 couples
Spent the evening with my wife for our 6th anniversary and was recommended the waggon and horses by friends and I'm pleased to say I was not disappointed. The beer and spirit selection was exactly what we wanted with great quality, the staff were brilliant and did not rush us for orders or to give us the bill and the food was out of this world. All staff members were happy and positive with great personality to add to our evening. The lamb chops were cooked to perfection and the rice was fantastic too, my wife had the baked seafood spaghetti and finished the whole meal.with the prices they offer for the drinks and food makes this establishment a place of worthy visit. Will be coming back for definiatly and will be recommending it to all friends.
Written 4 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ptigerbay
Thank you for taking your time to give us a great review. We're happy to hear you had such a pleasant time when dining with us and had such a good experience. Its also great to know you really enjoyed the food you had at The Waggon. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Waggon & Horses. Waggon Management
Written 9 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Tottenham1980
London93 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020 friends
Had the most enjoyable Italian salad with great company in the lovely garden setting, my friend enjoyed a beautifully made sandwich which was served with a choice of chips or salad, both excellent prices as well for the quality. Not being a daytime drinker I settled a orange squash with soda water, and my friend latte, having arrived earlier I actually opted for a second orange squash with soda. At the end of the meal I was disgusted to see that the soda water with just a dashing squash was charged at £4.50 per drink, obviously £9.00 for two, I challenged this with the waitress and she confirmed that was the price, not that I would swap for another drink as that’s why I wanted it ruined my trip and would question having lunch there again, even the latte was only about £3. Leaving there I actually went to another pub later for a meeting who charged 50p for the same drink of orange squash with soda, uninformed them about the earlier lunch and they said wow soda is free here we just charge 50p for the squash
Written 20 July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ptigerbay
Thank you for taking your time to give us a great review. We're happy to hear you had such a pleasant time when dining with us. Its also great to know you really enjoyed your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Waggon & Horses. Waggon Management
Written 24 July 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Amy R
London2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 family
When we arrived we were told that the eat less (50%) was only valid inside the pub not outside there was no available seating inside so we had to sit outside and pay full price. When seated we waited around 10 minutes for our drinks to be taken. We ordered our food 3 main dishes and it took over half an hour to come ,after we asked where it was ,we had to order more drinks for our meal.When the food arrived my chicken was under cooked and a side of butter didn’t make it to the table. The staff were lovely which is the upside of this pub and they dealt with problems professionally.Overall the pub garden is beautiful but the food and the service is terrible I left without eating but did receive a refund on the chicken.
Written 11 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ptigerbay
Hello, Thanks for leaving us a review. I would personally like to apologise for any inconvenience you had whilst being with us. We have acknowledged your concerns and I would like to inform you that we take all comments on board and sincerely hope that you regain our custom in the near future. We also hope that you managed to enjoy your experience and look forward to seeing you again. Message from owner
Written 27 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lisa
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 none
Snails pace service. When our orders FINALLY arrived, they were either incorrect or missing entirely (my partner and sister in law incorrectly received beef Sunday dinner which the server insisted was in fact the steak and chips ordered). The (what I was assuming was) peppercorn sauce for the steak was inedible. My poor father in law went without 2 drinks orders, he practically turned into dust. Our server blamed everyone but herself (one excuse was ‘the lad is from Poland so probably didn’t understand you’… NOT COOL!) We were there for 3 hours for 2 courses. Food was below average, service was a shambles. Even post lock down, after a dry spell of 4 months staying indoors, I’d have rather remained at home eating a pot noodle on zoom with the family. Complete disappointment for our first time post lockdown drinks. It was terrible, but has great potential if everything is re-addressed.
Written 14 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ptigerbay
Hello Lisa, Thanks for leaving us a review. I would personally like to apologise for any inconvenience you had whilst being with us. We have acknowledged your concerns and I would like to offer you 10% off your next meal with us. I would also like to inform you that we take all comments on board and sincerely hope that you regain our custom in the near future. We also hope that you managed to enjoy your experience with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Written 27 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

mark k
Borehamwood36 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 family
Cheese burger and chips was good according to my Dad. We had sea bass and chips. Small fillets, served with frozen chips and what I can only describe as a pathetic bit of salad (you needed a magnifying glass to find it. The sea bass was cooked adequately but over all below average especially taking into account the price, £16.50. My mum had battered cod and chips. It was quite honestly disgusting. It tasted as though it had been dipped in dish water before being dipped in the batter. It was soggy underneath the crispy batter. That's a feat in itself. My partner politely complained to the manageress who seemed to think it was quite amusing! She chuckled and explained that the chef (if you can call him that) batters the fish himself. The batter was fine, what was underneath the batter was a catastrophe! The waitress was so sweet, cheerful and helpful that we still left her a small tip. Otherwise I wouldn't have left a penny. I will never eat here again. It was poor.
Written 12 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ptigerbay
Hello Mark, Thanks for leaving us a review. I would personally like to apologise for any inconvenience you had whilst being with us. We have acknowledged your concerns and I would like to offer you 10% off your next meal with us. I would also like to inform you that we take all comments on board and sincerely hope that you regain our custom in the near future. We also hope that you managed to enjoy your experience with us and look forward to seeing you again. Message from owner
Written 27 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Brian186306
St. Albans21 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 none
I and my wife visited this pub last week. We were shown to a table in the pleasant garden area and before ordering I was asked to hand the waitress my credit card which she said would be put in a locker and I would be given the key and my card returned when we paid ! A strange request ! and at this stage I almost felt inclined to leave . We had club sandwiches with chips and two coffees which were very good. When I was given the bill it was for the full amount of just over £20.00 and did not allow for the Eat Out For Less offer. I queried this and was told I should have asked for this on ordering and the bill was adjusted with poor grace allowing the £10. 00 discount. We will not visit this place again which is a shame as the food is excellent but they need to treat customers with more respect and trust as I have never before been asked for my credit card to be held as a security !
Written 12 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ptigerbay
Hello Brian, Thanks for leaving us a review. I would personally like to apologise for any inconvenience you had whilst being with us. We have acknowledged your concerns and I would like to offer you 10% off your next meal with us. I would also like to inform you that we take all comments on board and sincerely hope that you regain our custom in the near future. We also hope that you managed to enjoy your experience with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Written 27 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

884riteshd
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021 family
Wouldn’t recommend this pub after such a terrible experience. We’d arrived at a relatively quiet time with not a lot of tables, ordered 2 burgers and a fish and chips, nothing too complicated, yet had to wait nearly an hour for our food. The staff apologised once or twice and insisted “it’ll be out soon” with the excuse of them kitchen being confused with all the orders and trying to do things all at once (again with not a lot of tables at the time) but still managed to get food out to other tables far quicker and more efficiently. When the first plate arrived there was still a 10 minute wait for the second and a further 10 for the final plate of food arrived. The food was definitely not worth the wait, my burger was greasy beyond belief, and as for the fish and chips; the chips were completely over cooked and the fish was clearly rushed, far too greasy and very bland. There was clearly no effort made to the kitchen to get our order out, nor anything offered to make up for a very unreasonable (and frankly unnecessary) wait time. On top of it all we were asked to give a card (bank or ID) for security reasons due to having customers doing runners, which is reasonable, and handed over my bank card thinking nothing of it, but it appeared to be just our table having to do such a thing. Avoid, avoid, avoid!
Written 4 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Speeshal
132 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 none
Went here over the weekend for a catch up lunch with the family. It's got parking for circa 10-15 cars I think. Staff were friendly throughout the meal, attentive and were more than happy to give us more time when needed to look through menus and decide. Too often staff are very quick to have you sat, ordered, eat and back out the door - not the case at all here. We ordered several starters to share, prawns, wings, hummus, halloumi, it was all tasty. We also ordered the spicy potatoes but personally they weren't great, quite oily and very little spice to them. But the others starters were good. There's a varied menu across starters and mains, especially as they do pub classics (fish & chips / bangers and mash) as well as Turkish food like chicken shish, lamb kofte with rice etc. I had the bangers and mash, came out hot, and tasted lovely. The portions across the table were massive! I also tried the chicken shish which was excellent, chicken was very tender. For dessert we got a few to share between everyone as we were stuffed, the chocolate fondant wasn't overly rich, which was good for me! But the brownie was really good! Overall, a great pub, would highly recommend for a nice lunch / meal with friendly staff.
Written 10 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ptigerbay
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review! We are delighted to be informed that you enjoyed your meals at The Waggon & Horses, we highly appreciate your recommendations. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your food. We look forward to welcoming you back soon as we have many exciting upcoming events and offers. *Waggon Management*
Written 23 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Johanna K
Radlett7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 friends
We held a baby shower here yesterday for my daughter in the small function room. The staff were very attentive fetching more furniture for us when we needed it and getting drinks for us when we arrived to set up. The buffet provided was delicious and there was plenty of it including a couple of plates of complimentary Parma ham and jugs of tap water with fruit. Would definitely recommend!
Written 5 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ptigerbay
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review! We look forward to welcoming you back soon as we have many exciting upcoming events and offers. *Waggon Management*
Written 11 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

PHM
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 none
We sat outside in the beer garden, which was pleasant - except that there were several tables of smokers, which meant that we were bothered by their smoke when they all lit up. From the outset, the feeling that we got was that the young staff were out of their depth catering for the number of diners and drinkers in the garden (though they were enthusiastic and friendly given the pressure that they were under). And so it proved: it took a long time to get drinks and then, when we realised one was missing, a protracted period and repeated requests to get it sent out. The same went for the jug of water that we had asked for, which finally arrived after at least three requests. The pub prides itself on its cask ale - but there was none at all available. Nor, indeed, was there any craft keg beer on draught. The food itself (starters, main courses) was pleasant enough and all in the group enjoyed what they ordered. But the wait for it to arrive was lengthy. We did not order a desert as it was getting so late. The website says that serving staff wear masks. None did on our visit.
Written 10 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ptigerbay
Hello, Thanks for leaving us a review. I would personally like to apologise for any inconvenience you had whilst being with us. We have acknowledged your concerns and I would like to inform you that we take all comments on board and sincerely hope that you regain our custom in the near future. We also hope that you managed to enjoy your experience and look forward to seeing you again. Message from owner
Written 27 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

alhedley
London38 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2021 friends
Went to meet up with friends las5 Sunday. It looked on the expensive end of pub food so thought it would be a nice place to meet up with friends for lunch after such a long time waiting for the end of lockdown. Such a disappointment. Burger was like a child’s portion with cold fries. “Roast beef” for £17.50 - I would not have served this meal as a disaster at home so don’t know how any professional can let this leave a kitchen. Using small plates so it looks substantial, a couple of small pieces of a barely cooked potato (my husband got no potato at al) one tiny floret of cauliflower, no gravy (there was a pool of the fat from the meat on the bottom). As for the meat the beef was dried up overdone scraps of gristle that looked like they’d been scraped off a pan and my husband’s roast chicken consisted of two drumsticks and a random piece of bone. Staff ranged from lovely to completely disinterested and inept. No one seemed to be in control and it showed. Just to be clear I am not a picky diner and it is the only time I’ve ever not eaten a morsel from a plate of food and went home hungry as a result of seeing the rest of the meals coming out our meals were not an isolated incident. We were not the only ones to complain according to staff. Lucky the San Miguel in the sun meant we made the best of it in spite of the food. If you just fancy a drink it might be ok but I won’t be returning.
Written 1 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Himesh Sweeny
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 none
Visited the pub after a while (since lockdown), however nothing has changed and its the same brilliant pub as it always is, of course they have the Covid measures but apart from that a great visit. Simon was polite, attentive and just overall brilliant - he went over and beyond to serve us and was a bundle of joy. The pints were cold and crisp (which is exactly what is required on a hot sunny afternoon), the selection of Gins were vast and the food was DELICIOUS! You can immediately tell that the Waggon take pride in everything they do - the quality is over the roof. I would recommend this for any size of party as they are extremely accommodating large or small. Will 100% be returning on a regular basis.
Written 14 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ptigerbay
Hello, Thank you for taking your time to give us a great review. We're happy to hear you had such a pleasant time when dining with us. Its also great to know you really enjoyed your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Waggon & Horses. Feel free to follow us on Instagram @thewaggonpub to stay updated with our latest deals, thanks Waggon Management
Written 25 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sunil P
Borehamwood2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 family
We ate here today 18.08.2020 on the Eat Out to Help Out scheme and was impressed. 2 adults and a child had mains and desserts. The fish and chips were good despite reading reviews that the batter was soggy. Look, its freshly made fish and chips and like all fish and chips shops, once the fish is fried and then wrapped, it goes a little soggy but not like some of the reviewers describes. It tasted great and the chunky chips were polished off. The burger was good and definitely needed the cheese in it to make it 5 out of 5. Desserts were a little small but I guess any bigger and you wouldn't be able to finish it. Service was quality from the young man who served us at the beginning to the lady who gave us our bill, I mean she was lovely and made us feel very welcome. I do miss the days of the freshly made pies and hope that one day they bring it back but this place is by no means a place not to visit.
Written 18 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ptigerbay
Hello, Thank you for taking your time to give us a great review. We're happy to hear you had such a pleasant time when dining with us. Its also great to know you really enjoyed your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Waggon & Horses. Feel free to follow us on Instagram @thewaggonpub to stay updated with our latest deals, thanks Waggon Management
Written 25 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

FurtiveChimp
London3 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 none
Pros: Service friendly, food decent Cons: Service extremely slow and often forgot to bring some items. Overstretched staff. All ales were off - I recognise it's COVID season at the moment, but still. As the evening wore on, massive amounts of flies were attracted by the overhead light on the patio. Starters were huge, which is nice, but they tasted average across the board. In total, we were there for just over 2 1/2 hours, and not because we wanted to be...! Had to ask for music to be turned down a little. Lastly, smokers and non-smokers not separated. Overall, would not recommend at all, which is a shame.
Written 7 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ptigerbay
Hello, Thanks for leaving us a review. I would personally like to apologise for any inconvenience you had whilst being with us. We have acknowledged your concerns and I would like to inform you that we take all comments on board and sincerely hope that you regain our custom in the near future. We also hope that you managed to enjoy your experience and look forward to seeing you again. Message from owner
Written 27 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-15 of 555
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
Bhageecha
₹₹ - ₹₹₹ · Indian, Cafe, Contemporary
Battle Axes
₹₹ - ₹₹₹ · Bar, British, Pub
The Aerodrome Café
₹₹ - ₹₹₹ · French, Cafe, British
Buca di Beppo Italian Restaurant
₹₹ - ₹₹₹ · Italian
The Victory Pub & Kitchen
₹₹ - ₹₹₹ · Bar, British, Pub
The Eastern Brasserie
₹₹ - ₹₹₹ · Asian
All Elstree HotelsElstree Hotel Deals
Things to DoFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire