We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Monkey Puzzle

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
British, Bar, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Monkey Puzzle Leatherhead Road, Chessington KT9 2NE, England
+44 1372 744060
Today
06:30 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 07:00 - 22:30
Mon - Fri 06:30 - 23:00
Sat 07:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

550 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 548: English reviews
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

It has been a long time since I have visited a Beefeater and I was impressed with the standard of interior design.The usual menu of burgers and steaks were on offer, but pricey. The 8oz sirloin being £15.99 and a beef and cheddar pie for £12.99.It's not 'cheap eats' nor 'top notch' in quality but it is handy if you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were 100 + miles from home after an appointment and were both hungry. This restaurant was the first one we came across, so thought we'd give it a go. We were met by a very happy, polite server who showed us to our seats. We both ordered, I had the mixed grill and my partner had the steak burger.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joanne N
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been a few times and the most recent months has been either nice or not so :-( steak on on visit was not nice at all and we ordered two on previous visit but just had starters this time and they were good. But the people behind us had a complaint.

Helpful?
Thank lisyloutan
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well all I can say is the experience was a disgrace from beginning to end!! We entered the restaurant to see the waiter advising that they would not be able to accommodate a party due only one waiter being on duty! I should have listened to my gut feeling and left but I didn't, wanting to give the benefit of... More 

Helpful?
Thank jennyreds
Seanthacker, General Manager at Monkey Puzzle, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am very disappointed to read your comments and on behalf of the Monkey Puzzle team I apologise for the issues you faced at our restaurant. Please feel free to get in touch at Chessington.monkeypuzzle@whitbread.com if you would like to discuss the issue with me further More 

Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Breakfast before father Christmas visit and sadly the food / service was not up to the usual beefeater standard... Food was okay but have had better at the monkey puzzle... And was told the coffee machines to serve up a Costa coffee weren't working - curiously this hasn't been the first time we've been told this... On the plus side... More 

Helpful?
Thank LGBfund
Seanthacker, General Manager at Monkey Puzzle, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. I am sorry that on this occasion our breakfast service did not meet your expectations. We review feedback regularly and always try to use it constructively so thank you for bringing these issue to our attention. Kind Regards More 

Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The place was not busy, service was slow but staff were seen chatting. took a long time to place an order and receive a drink. When the food arrived it was average at best. the whole place felt dity I wasn't well after my visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank richardhart856
Seanthacker, General Manager at Monkey Puzzle, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your visit. I can assure you that all feedback is reviewed and where possible actioned. We will continue to work on our service standards and we are looking forward to a sparkling refurbishment this year Kind Regards More 

Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

I attended yesterday (3rd December 2016). 1st impression where good... from the outside !!! I stood at the sign "wait to be seated" for what seems like ages... no eye contact from the staff... just as I was about to leave the manageress approached and found me a table. I was seated with a menu. I then waited a further... More 

Helpful?
Thank Markt40
Seanthacker, General Manager at Monkey Puzzle, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. I am very sorry to read the issues you experienced and I would like to assure you that all feedback is reviewed constructively to help us improve where necessary. Please get in touch at Chessington.monkeypuzzle@whitbread.com if you would like to discuss the issue further Kind Regards More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Nice grub and friendly staff in decent set up but drinks were very slow in coming then food especially desserts even longer. To give them credit they did refund us for the desserts. Overall a pleasant enough experience

Helpful?
Thank Hally16
Seanthacker, General Manager at Monkey Puzzle, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review, I am very pleased that you had a pleasant experience and we will certainly use your comments constructively to further improve our offer Kind Regards More 

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2016

I and my family stopped for lunch yesterday 3rd December. After a few minutes wait we were shown to a table on the upper level which I can only describe as a disgrace. The bench seat was stained and covered in dust as was the table. The cutlery was also stained and dirty. If this was the standard of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank eddyfromkent
Seanthacker, General Manager at Monkey Puzzle, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your visit. I am disappointed to read your comments however I would like to assure you that all feedback is read, reviewed and shared with our team, so I hope that we can use this constructively and improve where neccessary If you would like to discuss... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Charlotte v good. Great family feast for seven of us. Kids loved it we are all happily stuffed. Beefeater

Helpful?
Thank Graham K
Seanthacker, General Manager at Monkey Puzzle, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback, I am very happy that you and your family had a great time! We look forward to welcoming you again soon! Kind Regards More 

Travellers who viewed Monkey Puzzle also viewed

 
Chessington, Surrey
 

Been to Monkey Puzzle? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
British, Bar, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
07:00 - 22:30
Monday
06:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
06:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
06:30 - 23:00
Thursday
06:30 - 23:00
Friday
06:30 - 23:00
Saturday
07:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Monkey Puzzle Leatherhead Road, Chessington KT9 2NE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Chessington
  • Phone Number: +44 1372 744060

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Monkey Puzzle and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Monkey Puzzle staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?