We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Green Man

) #1 of 1 Restaurants in Stanford ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ , British,
Stanford Road, Stanford, Biggleswade SG18 9JD, England
+44 1462 812293
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good28%
  • Average12%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible13%
2 days ago
“Let down by poor service.”
2 weeks ago
“Mixed feelings”
Open Now
12:30 - 21:30All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Stanford Road, Stanford, Biggleswade SG18 9JD, England
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
Reviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Was passing and so decided to stop for lunch as it did not look very busy. We were the only ones at the bar waiting for service and despite trying to attract the attention of the waitress, we were ignored and were on the point...More

Thank Venusbeachreturners
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited for a bite to eat in the sun as it was a sunny evening. The garden area was fairly busy, as expected but not too bad. Our starters came out pretty quickly but we waited over an hour for our mains which seemed...More

1  Thank JayAndZ
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here for a meeting .great staff good food fantastic breakfast. Great rooms and had a great stay.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Mark A, Front Office Manager at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Excellent love it thank you for the review

Reviewed 17 May 2017

Booked this hotel because it was central for meeting up with family. We stayed 2 nights. When we arrived we were taken to a different door and shown a staircase and told our room was a 'boutique' room. We entered the room and it looked...More

Thank Susan T
Mark A, Front Office Manager at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us and the comments you made will be addressed. I am pleased that all our staff were very helpful and friendly.

Reviewed 15 May 2017

hi mark we decided to eat out side but they would not open a tab for me on my credit card very disappointed service poor we had to use credit card three times party of four with guide dog roger

1  Thank bottitt
Mark A, Front Office Manager at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We do not have a facility to open tabs for people eating and drinking outside, even for regular customers who may be known to me but not to every member of staff who know that paying up front is company policy, no exceptions.

Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

My partner and myself ordered food and others in our group ordered seperatly, food started to come out about half an hour later..no sign of our food, waiter/waitresses said nothing, everyone had eaten and still no food, when we asked a more senior waitress she...More

2  Thank Henlow1
Mark A, Front Office Manager at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

When taking separate orders for a party of 18 who had not pre-ordered on a busy warm evening there will be a wait for the food as everything in this establishment is cooked to order using the very best fresh ingredients and i am sure...More

Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

First time I have visited and stayed here, first impressions are great, very pleasant and friendly staff, the Pub looks great and after eating here both nights I stayed the food is brilliant, and apart from the steaks the food seems great value (steaks too...More

Thank Ian B
Mark A, Front Office Manager at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

thank you for taking the time to write us a review and we are glad that you enjoyed your tay with us to a point. You are correct some of the rooms have been refurbished and the rest will be done at some point, its...More

Reviewed 3 May 2017

Compared to when i visited before, the choice reduced and is now very basic. I had a pizza this time - to be told twice that two of the toppings were not available. When the pizza did come - it was overcooked and the parma...More

2  Thank Nuttytart86
Mark A, Front Office Manager at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

due to our food being cooked from fresh produce we do sometimes run out of ingredients and we have to offer our guests alternatives in the hope that this will be to their satisfaction which on most occasions is. We do hope that you will...More

Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Warm friendly atmosphere. The menu is good with a good selection of proper pub grub. The kids were made very welcome and really enjoyed their meals. All round very good and we'll be calling in again 👍

Thank CostaDeano
Mark A, Front Office Manager at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us here at the Green Man and we look forward to seeing you again

Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

We probably last visited around a year ago but decided to visit again with friends for lunch in the sun! We were sat outside so ordering was done at the bar. All of the staff were very friendly. The food was delicious, good choice on...More

Thank JayAndZ
Mark A, Front Office Manager at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you came back to visit us but we hope that you don't leave it so long to call in again

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Cock at Broom
59 reviews
2.22 km away
The Black Horse at Ireland
1,047 reviews
2.49 km away
The Plough
7 reviews
2.79 km away
Nearby Attractions
Champneys Henlow Spa
264 reviews
3.57 km away
The Shuttleworth Collection
373 reviews
3.79 km away
Intelligence Corps Museum
9 reviews
4.06 km away
Bannatynes Spa
198 reviews
7.39 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Green Man staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 9 - US$ 24
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 20:00
Monday
12:30 - 21:30
Tuesday
12:30 - 21:30
Wednesday
12:30 - 21:30
Thursday
12:30 - 21:30
Friday
12:30 - 21:30
Saturday
12:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Stanford Road, Stanford, Biggleswade SG18 9JD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Bedfordshire  >  Biggleswade  >  Stanford
  • Phone Number: +44 1462 812293
  • E-mail
Description
Our Old English Restaurant with its oak beams, inglenook fireplace in our front bar and new log burner in our eating lounge room area which is very popular with our patrons especially in our winter months. Good quality meals are enjoyed in comfortable surroundings with a choice of our Chef's Specialities on the A La Carte menu. Our ever popular Sunday roast lunches are available from 12 noon.The restaurant seats approximately 150 guests and bookings for parties both large and small can be catered for. This includes weddings, see our wedding package on our website. You will receive a warm welcome if you choose full meal or a just drink at the bar. We have now launched our new senior citizens menu, two courses for £7.95 And three courses for £9.95. We also have a lunch deal available to all ages, this includes two course for £9.95 or three course for £11.95. We have also just launched our Christmas 2016 menu which is also available to view on our web site
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing