We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bailiwicks on Mill

₹₹ - ₹₹₹American, ,
98 Mill St, Saint Johnsbury, VT 05819-1922
+1 802-424-1215
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good32%
  • Average8%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (21 reviews)
“ahi tuna” (9 reviews)
“risotto” (7 reviews)
Open Now
5:00 PM - 9:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
American, Bar, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
98 Mill St, Saint Johnsbury, VT 05819-1922
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

We ate dinner in the bar portion of the restaurant. They have 2 menus. Both can be served in the bar, but only dinner menu on the other side. I loved watching the bartender making the drinks--a lot of martinis. My husband and I split...More

Thank Charciejo
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

The fried pickles and calamari were delicious! Everyone seems to have enjoyed their dinners. good but not amazing. (However, the fried scallop plate was a bit minimalistic - 5 medium size scallops for $20--mostly french fries. Hoped for a few more. For desserts, we had...More

Thank Asha L
Reviewed 6 days ago

We arrived around 7:45 pm and didn't see a lot of cars in the lot. When we went into the door, we were met by 4 people waiting for a table. My advice is to call ahead for a reservation on a Friday or Saturday...More

Thank markalanharris
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a disappointing experience. Although our server was very good, clearly her hands were tied... we had good expectations having received high recommendations to go have dinner here. After a long day of driving and no eating, we were looking forward to a nice meal...More

Thank fragrantlight
Stacey N, Owner at Bailiwicks on Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi reviewer, we're very disappointed in your disappointing experience, to be sure. We strive to make every guests' experience in a positive way, and we didn't live up to yours our our own expectations, and we are sincerely apologetic for this. We really pride ourselves...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My friend and I were on a girl's trip to see the fall foliage and were in St. Johnsbury for one night. She's a vegan and so we decided to try this place on a recommendation from a local. They were fully booked, but because...More

Thank Lauren R
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We all enjoyed our entrees. Wish I had read the description for Seafood Bayou better it was good but with habernaro peppers in it it was very spicy. Others really liked crab cakes shrimp and tuna. I have had better clam chowder. Creme Brule was...More

Thank Mountainman827
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We serendipitously booked dinner at Bailiwick's, but, boy, were we glad we did: hidden away as it is on a side street and housed in an old brick building, what a lovely surprise we were given when we were seated outside, overlooking the river...the food...More

Thank Mark E
Stacey N, Owner at Bailiwicks on Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We're sorry you live so far away, as well! We're so happy you got to dine with us when the weather was nice, so you were able to take in the riverside deck dining. Nothing beats a fantastic meal in Vermont during fall foliage, it...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I read the reviews and wanted to try Bailiwicks- Wow! If I lived in St. J I would be a regular! We sat at the bar and received excellent service. Great mill decor and ambiance. Not loud- but not all hush-hush, either. The regular menu...More

Thank Janice G
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had read the excellent reviews and saw the # 1 rating in St.Johnsbury, but i was still surprised with our first visit to Bailwicks. This is a top class restaurant with an excellent menu and with a marvelous choice of beers. My wife had...More

Thank mcarr0ll27
Stacey N, Owner at Bailiwicks on Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your shout out to Bailiwicks on Mill, we love what we do, and we think it shows! It's always an added bonus when the weather cooperates, and you get to enjoy your meal on our riverside deck. We're so happy...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Has been to Bailiwicks a few time in the past years. Always a good meal. I would highly recommend. You do not need reservations for lunch on the weekend. Nice presentation as well.

Thank barrechef
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Anthony's Diner
255 reviews
.83 km away
Kingdom Taproom
100 reviews
.70 km away
Cantina Di Gerardo
131 reviews
.73 km away
Nearby Attractions
Dog Mountain
158 reviews
2.83 km away
The Dog Chapel
119 reviews
2.83 km away
Fairbanks Museum and Planetarium
129 reviews
.68 km away
NEK Adventures ATV & Snowmobile Tours
85 reviews
3.69 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Sally B
14 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Stacey N | Property representative |
Hi Sally, we do offer Sunday brunch, and it is a varied menu in pricing. Are you asking specifically for Easter Sunday, or Sunday in general?
0
Votes
Julie H
18 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Stacey N | Property representative |
Hi Julie, yes we are open 7 nights a week! Stacey
0
Votes
LucyLu801
18 May 2016|
Answer
Response from Stacey N | Property representative |
Hi Lucy, we do, indeed, have gluten free options. All of our dishes are made to order, so our waitstaff are very versed in answering questions and steering people in the right direction when choosing their appetizer... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Takeout, Television
Good for
Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 98 Mill St, Saint Johnsbury, VT 05819-1922
  • Location: United States  >  Vermont (VT)  >  Northeast Kingdom  >  Saint Johnsbury
  • Phone Number: +1 802-424-1215
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing