We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shin La

) #30 of 73 Restaurants in Brattleboro ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ Sushi, Asian, Korean
57 Main St, Brattleboro, VT 05301-3257
+1 802-257-5226
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good39%
  • Average0%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“sushi” (17 reviews)
“edamame” (2 reviews)
“soups” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Sushi, Asian, Korean
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
57 Main St, Brattleboro, VT 05301-3257
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 30 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2014

Shin La is a family-owned-and-operated Korean restaurant which also features an excellent sushi menu. The owners, Taemo and Yi Soon Kim, are constantly there, supervising what seems to be the most excellent and consistent oriental fare available in Brattleboro. If you are not familiar with...More

Thank JohnWilmerding
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Just a great place to eat.....casual and good value. You can order spicy or "not too spicy" and Mom, Dad or Grandma cooks your meal.

Thank Ian D
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Great food that is worth the price. Their sushi is the best in the area, and their Korean food is as good as any major city. However, it can take a long time to get your food, so be aware if you go when it's...More

Thank pickyeater2014
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Visited this Korean restaurant twice in one week with consistently good food but irregular service. They must have wait staff issues. Our suggestion is to look in the door and if most every table is full then be prepared to wait to be served. Not...More

Thank DarienDiner
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I have been to Shin La close to 10 times now and plan to keep going back. I live in NH and this place is definitely worth the drive over the border. The food is authentic Korean food. They make Japanese too. It is all...More

Thank Sean M
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I decided to ignore the negative reviews and see for myself. I am filled with regret and a bad taste in my mouth. The food was sub-par, and not exactly what we ordered. The restaurant was sparsely occupied yet my food took more than a...More

1  Thank Jon691
Esther K, Guest Relations Manager at Shin La, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear Jon, I am curious when you came to visit us. None of our tables during a "sparsely occupied" time have ever waited one hour for their meals. With just a few tables, meals will never take longer than 15 minutes to complete. Unless our...More

Reviewed 14 October 2013

Went on a Saturday night, got seated right away, waitress took our order quickly. She dropped off one salad and water shortly afterwards, then we waited 90 minutes for the rest of our food, which was simply an appetizer and sushi. They got our sushi...More

1  Thank Cathy K
Esther K, Guest Relations Manager at Shin La, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Cathy, It seems you dined with us on a very busy Saturday night. Please accept my sincerest apologies for your experience. I am happy to hear that your server was attentive and timely. Unfortunately, on unexpectedly busy nights we are unable to serve food...More

Reviewed 1 September 2013

Shin La is and has been awesome for over 25 years. It's addictive and delicious. It's healthy and plentiful.

Thank Bojap
Esther K, Guest Relations Manager at Shin La, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Could not have put it any better! Thank you for taking the time to leave such kind words and we hope to see you again sometime soon! P.S. -- My apologies for the incredibly late response, but better late than never, right?

Reviewed 20 August 2013

If you feel like Korean food, and at some time you will, you know you will, go here. The place is family run and the service is very friendly to match the cuisine.

Thank bykhyk
Esther K, Guest Relations Manager at Shin La, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you for your kind words! We appreciate your taking the time to leave feedback and hope to see you again sometime soon! P.S. -- My apologies for the incredibly late response, but better late than never, right?

Reviewed 31 July 2013

One of the worst Korean dishes I have ever had in U.S.A. was at this place. The name of the restaurant is derived from Korean history. But the food is not Korean at all. Do not think the food served there is of Korean origin....More

1  Thank ykim1221
Esther K, Guest Relations Manager at Shin La, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

We are so sorry to hear that you believe our Korean food is not of Korean "origin". It is a Korean family-run business. Many Korean restaurants serve side dishes and it is indeed a great thing! However and unfortunately, because of our location and commitment...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Whetstone Station Restaurant and Brewery
898 reviews
.09 km away
Peter Havens Restaurant
207 reviews
.11 km away
Mocha Joe
158 reviews
.06 km away
Brattleboro Food Co-Op
104 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
Brattleboro Museum and Art Center
56 reviews
.12 km away
Retreat Trails
38 reviews
1.15 km away
Twice Upon a Time
33 reviews
.01 km away
Hermit Thrush Brewery
38 reviews
.27 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Shin La staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 10 - US$ 15
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Monday
11:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 21:00
Thursday
11:00 - 21:00
Friday
11:00 - 21:30
Saturday
11:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 57 Main St, Brattleboro, VT 05301-3257
  • Location: United States  >  Vermont (VT)  >  Brattleboro
  • Phone Number: +1 802-257-5226
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing