We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dirty Al's

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
33396 State Park Road 100, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6412
+1 956-761-4901
Website
Today
11:00 - 20:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 - 20:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,015 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 990: English reviews
Johnston, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is one of our go-to places for some good seafood while in South Padre. Place is nothing fancy, but food is good.

Helpful?
Thank Lori42076
Dirty_Als_Mgmnt, Public Relations Manager at Dirty Al's, responded to this review

Thank you for your loyalty. We are happy you like the food! More 

Ontario
Level Contributor
245 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stopped in for a beverage while waiting for our boat. We did not have time to eat but the food we saw coming and going looked good and the people seemed to enjoy it. Prices were reasonable and they have $2.25 beer on tap! It's cheaper than Coca-Cola! The place is not fancy and the staff were very friendly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pat M
Dirty_Als_Mgmnt, Public Relations Manager at Dirty Al's, responded to this review

We invite you to try our seafood next trip! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Food was very good and very reasonable. Loved the casual atmosphere! I had the shrimp plate, they were cleaned and butterflied, very good.

Helpful?
Thank Lee C
Dirty_Als_Mgmnt, Public Relations Manager at Dirty Al's, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you liked the shrimp plate. Causal atmosphere is our thing! More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Food is very good. Water side view. Great pelican watching. Friendly staff. I love having enough on my plate to take some home for dinner.

Helpful?
Thank Barbie K
Dirty_Als_Mgmnt, Public Relations Manager at Dirty Al's, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed the view, service and the food. We look forward to your next visit. More 

Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had the blackened flounder with side salad and split a 1/2 lb of peel and eat shrimp. The best fish I have had on the Island, done beautifully and the shrimp were freshly boiled, still a little warm on the inside. They were served on a tray with ice. Delicious. Our server was Rosa, she was very good. It... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jerry H
Dirty_Als_Mgmnt, Public Relations Manager at Dirty Al's, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed the blackened flounder and the peel and shrimp. We will make sure to let Rosa know about your positive note. We look forward to your return visit. More 

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived with a group of about 50 people. We did have reservations. We were promptly seated and immediately given menus, and drink orders taken. Our food arrived by tables very quickly, and HOT! Everyone at our table received exactly what they ordered. We had the perfect waitress. The food was out of this world. We were all from Oklahoma... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daniela R
Dirty_Als_Mgmnt, Public Relations Manager at Dirty Al's, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing Dirty Al's. We are pleased you enjoyed the food, service and pricing. We hope to see you again soon on your next trip to South Padre Island! More 

San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dirty Al's is a cool place. You can buy a bag of ice there for a dollar. The place just smells really good as you walk in. The food is reasonable priced and delicious. Everyone says, and I'd agree, that they serve up the very best shrimp basket in So. Padre. The fish is darn good too. Be sure to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tommy O
Dirty_Als_Mgmnt, Public Relations Manager at Dirty Al's, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are glad you enjoy the seafood. Thank you for your compliment, and we of course agree we have the best fried shrimp! More 

Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Food was fantastic!! Portions were very generous! Wait staff was incredibly friendly :) we will def be going back again when we visit South Padre!

Helpful?
Thank Deenahowe
Dirty_Als_Mgmnt, Public Relations Manager at Dirty Al's, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us at Dirty Al's. We are pleased you enjoyed the food and service. We look forward to serving you again on your next trip to South Padre Island. More 

McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Apparently this is a local restaurant with a lot of tradition. We waited too long for our food and it was cold when it got to our table, but the food was ok.

Helpful?
Thank Girandova
Dirty_Als_Mgmnt, Public Relations Manager at Dirty Al's, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback. I apologize for the long wait. We hope that you may give us another opportunity. More 

Jasper, Arkansas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Giant shrimp kabobs, awesome fish, great shrimp cocktail that is a little different( has avacados), excellent service. Classic coastal fish house with great food and rustic ambiance. Prices very good for the amount and quality of food.

Helpful?
Thank D D
Dirty_Als_Mgmnt, Public Relations Manager at Dirty Al's, responded to this review

We appreciate the positive review. We are happy you enjoyed the food and the service. We look forward to your return. More 

Travellers who viewed Dirty Al's also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Dirty Al's? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
American, Seafood
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 20:00
Monday
11:00 - 20:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 20:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 20:00
Thursday
11:00 - 20:00
Friday
11:00 - 20:00
Saturday
11:00 - 20:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 33396 State Park Road 100, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6412
  • Location: United States  >  Texas (TX)  >  Texas Gulf Coast  >  South Padre Island
  • Phone Number: +1 956-761-4901
Description
About Us
Dirty Al’s has been in operation since 1986 and has always provided the freshest seafood to thousands of visitors from all over the world.
As a family owned and operated business, we have always taken great pride in taking care of each customer and providing them with a unique experience that they can only get from eating at Dirty Al’s. Dirty Al promises every customer that they will only be served the absolute freshest seafood caught in the wild off the Gulf of Mexico.
A Father and his Sons Make a Great Team!
Alfonso Salazar, better known as “Dirty Al” originally started shrimping as a young man with his father and 6 brothers. In 2003, he and his youngest son, Cameron, who graduated from Culinary School, transformed his bait stand into a restaurant where together they have been known for having “The World’s Best Fried Shrimp”! In 2005, his other two sons returned home to help grow the business. To this day, they now own 6 restaurants on beautiful South Padre Island and continue to bring only the “best” Gulf Seafood to each customer’s table.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Dirty Al's staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?