We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bishopsgate Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
54 Castle Street, Beaumaris LL58 8BB, Wales
+44 1248 810302
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

365 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 362: English reviews
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Really nice beautiful part of the country. Lovely place to be base at. Food is great. Would recommend

Helpful?
Thank buster300
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were staying at the hotel and decided to try the restaurant on our first evening, ended up eating in night 2 and wished we had on our last night. Food was very plentiful, well presented and went out of their way to accommodate special requirements

Helpful?
Thank JulieBamber
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A cheerful welcome, clean room, comfortable bed, perfectly cooked breakfast, pleasant and helpful staff for a two night stay in delightful Beaumaris, very conveniently placed and traditional good service here.

Helpful?
Thank foodie_two_12
Appleby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went with a party of 12 for the large group menu after a long day taking photographs across the island. We had a well-positioned table, not shoved in a corner as often happens and our waitresses were helpful and attentive. Food pronounced very good across all choices. Recommended

Helpful?
Thank 36GrannyJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice pleasant stay the rooms had everything that was needed comfy beds hairdryer tv nice towels there is a lounge to sit in and a seperate bar area as with an old building the floors can slope and creak but it adds to the visit could not fault it breakfast was good the staff at breakfast were so friendly nothing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Louise B
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The food at the Bishopsgate Restaurant is good overall, although it seems it wants to be more than it actually is. The ladies serving you are very pleasant, but as other tables arrived they started ignoring us a bit. Overall, a good experience but not great.

Helpful?
Thank Alex D
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2017

No bread served with starters, despite butter on the table. Water glasses on table, but no water offered. Overcooked mains served with poor vegetables. Decided not to go for desserts as the options were jaded (and the menu read like they'd be straight out of the microwave or freezer). Wine over priced. Service - didn't appear to be that bothered.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Pestria
Hazeljohnsonollier, Owner at Bishopsgate Restaurant, responded to this review

Very shocked to read your review, and very disappointed you do not say what you ate. Can't imagine why you didn't request bread or water as you could see we expect people to do so with butter and water glasses at the ready. You say overcooked mains and poor vegetables, however offer no indication of what you ordered. I have... More 

St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2017

We couldn't get into any other restaurants in Beaumaris on Saturday night - 8th April and I must admit from the outside this hotel/restaurant looked a little tired but we were made to feel so welcome and sat in the bar for half and hour whilst we waited for a table. At all times we were kept up to date... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie J
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2017

We had the full Welsh breakfast the first morning. You can also have various other choices. Fruit juices, coffee. The Sunday lunch was as good as home cooked. Can not fault anything, everything beautifully cooked and presented.

Helpful?
Thank smiffi62
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

Purchased travelzoo voucher for 3x course a la carte dinner for two. The bar area was dog friendly which meant we could eat there. Interior was a little tired and probably could do with a little overhaul altho it did have a certain traditional character. Service was a little nervous (not sure why) but polite and we were seated promptly.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JonnyOldham

Travellers who viewed Bishopsgate Restaurant also viewed

Beaumaris, Island of Anglesey
Beaumaris, Island of Anglesey
 
Beaumaris, Island of Anglesey
Beaumaris, Island of Anglesey
 
Beaumaris, Island of Anglesey
Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey
 

Been to Bishopsgate Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 22 - US$ 47
Cuisine
British, Welsh, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 54 Castle Street, Beaumaris LL58 8BB, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  North Wales  >  Island of Anglesey  >  Beaumaris
  • Phone Number: +44 1248 810302

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Bishopsgate Restaurant and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
over a year ago
over a year ago
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
6 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Bishopsgate Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?