We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

George III Hotel Restaurant

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British,
Penmaenpool Bridge | Mawddach Estuary, Penmaenpool, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1YD, Wales
+44 1341 422525
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent27%
  • Very good25%
  • Average20%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible17%
Travellers talk about
“lamb shank” (17 reviews)
“sunday roast” (5 reviews)
“potatoes” (9 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Welsh, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Penmaenpool Bridge | Mawddach Estuary, Penmaenpool, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1YD, Wales
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Travelling with friends through North Wales and have stayed three nights in Dolgellau and we decided to try George III Restaurant which overlooks the beautiful estuary and is adjacent to the toll bridge. We had not booked and on entering the pub were met by...More

Thank keithsec
George-III-Hotel, General Manager at George III Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your meal. Once again we apologise for the mix up but are glad to hear it didn't spoil your evening. We would have liked to offer something by way...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked Sunday lunch which has always been an amazing carvary. What we got was a plated lunch, veg were undercooked and cold, Yorkshire puddings were really dry, asked for extra gravy which arrived but still wasn’t enough. Puddings at 5.95 were small and disappointing. We...More

Thank Janet M
George-III-Hotel, Manager at George III Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We have been serving plated roast dinners since we changed hands last year. So it is not reasonable to blame us for you expecting something we have never served and has not been served at the hotel in 7 months. The veg was not undercooked...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We passed this place today looking for some lunch. We were really pleased when we drove down the lane and saw the setting. Such a beautiful place! Unfortunately the experience inside was not as positive. As we walked in we were greeted by a guy...More

Thank Emily555123
George-III-Hotel, Manager at George III Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are surprised to see your review. We felt we were polite and reasonable with you. Explaining that we were very busy. We have two dining rooms, two bars (one open on that day) and extensive outside seating areas. So whilst we can appreciate it...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We ate here 2 years ago and have recommended this place to friends, family and colleagues! It was stunning beyond words back then! How did Robinsons get it so wrong in such a short amount of time? Full of eager anticipation we turned up on...More

Thank SimonSpinksLindley
George-III-Hotel, Manager at George III Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

The hotel was acquired by Robinsons Brewery last year but is currently being run by us as tenants not Robinsons Brewery. We are not sure why you feel the place "seemed off" or lacked the "warmth and feel" of your last visit when very little...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in for lunch (really wasn't sure if it was open or not, to be honest), as the door was shut and I couldn't see lights on, but....praise be, it was. Greeted very warmly by the new proprietor, with a huge welcoming smile. Lots of...More

2  Thank Mark J
George-III-Hotel, Manager at George III Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your meal with us and thank you so much for your kind words of support. We are happy we could offer a warm welcome to you and your dog and...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have a caravan at Talybont not far from the George 111 at Dolgellau We have been visiting this pub for years on a Sunday especially for the Carvery which was always excellent well cooked & plenty of different choices both in meats Veg &...More

1  Thank Farnellryton
George-III-Hotel, Manager at George III Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are very sorry to hear that you were so dissapointed with your meal. Our roasts have been very popular since we took over. We use great Welsh meat from our award winning butcher in Bala (same as you have had before), fresh produce from...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived for lunch going over the toll bridge. The place looked closed but thankfully was open. We only stopped off for a sandwich and drink but the puddings looked good. The sticky toffee pudding is delicious. Overall this place is quite expensive and although...More

Thank Sarah S
George-III-Hotel, Manager at George III Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your brief visit to our hotel. We hope to have flower pots and hanging baskets dotted about the place soon which should help the hotel look more open. We are sorry to...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Over cooked fish and chips, tasted bland and pretty oily , lemon tart such thin coating nearly missed it , such a great location , shame if food doesn’t match up , hearing what others say seems to go up and down which is a...More

Thank Sue A
George-III-Hotel, Manager at George III Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are sorry to hear you were so dissapointed with your food. We serve dozens of fish and chips every week to dozens of happy customers. We are sorry if this was not the case for you. Our lemon tarts are homemade and we apologise...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A lovely place to sit on the mawddach trail and have a drink or a bite to eat. The food is lovely and would highly recommend the Sunday carvery but get there early!! The only thing that lets it down is the guy behind the...More

Thank Jonathan Richar... W
George-III-Hotel, Manager at George III Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoy visiting the hotel though feel your review is maybe a little out of date? We stopped serving the carvery in October and now serve a wonderful plated roast dinner using...More

Reviewed 15 April 2018

An Amazing location, friendly staff and warm welcome. Food and drinks good, OK you pay the price for the location, in my opinion well worth it.More

Thank Jackie W
George-III-Hotel, Manager at George III Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We are very happy you enjoyed your visit to our hotel and found the staff to be friendly and warm. Rest assured we don't put a penny on our prices for the view. It is free to us, so...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Penmaenpool Hotels
Penmaenuchaf Hall
360 reviews
.44 km away
Y Meirionnydd
334 reviews
3.51 km away
Dolserau Hall Hotel
160 reviews
6.02 km away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
137 reviews
6.32 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Bwyty Mawddach Restaurant
364 reviews
1.80 km away
Cross Foxes Bar & Grill
797 reviews
7.42 km away
Y Meirionnydd
427 reviews
3.51 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cader Idris
366 reviews
5.69 km away
Cregennan Lakes
73 reviews
6.76 km away
Precipice Walk
171 reviews
5.00 km away
Barmouth Bridge
378 reviews
8.00 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Barbara P
31 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from George-III-Hotel | Property representative |
Hi, we welcome dogs in our bar and all outside seating areas.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 12 - US$ 25
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Welsh, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, View, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Monday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Tuesday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Wednesday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Thursday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Friday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Saturday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Penmaenpool Bridge | Mawddach Estuary, Penmaenpool, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1YD, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  North Wales  >  Snowdonia National Park  >  Dolgellau  >  Penmaenpool
  • Phone Number: +44 1341 422525
  • E-mail
Description
The George III Hotel is an historic Inn set on the banks of the magnificent Mawddach Estuary. Originally built in 1650 the hotel now offers comfortable rooms and home cooked food to locals and guests alike who all come to enjoy great home cooked classics in a relaxed atmosphere with stunning views. All of our food is cooked on site and so during busy times there can be a delay. We use a wide range of local produce from award winning local suppliers to provide tasty, comforting classic dishes. We are proud to be in the 2017 Good Beer Guide and so you can always be confident of a cracking pint or real ale here. We are always happy to help so if you have any questions or would like to make a booking please do not hesitate to contact us.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;