We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castle Inn Criccieth

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

About
Family run Restaurant serving Great Home-cooked Food. Gluten Free and Vegan Options available. Dogs Welcome and Children Welcome until 7pm
PRICE RANGE
US$ 13 - US$ 18
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Dinner
CUISINES
Steakhouse, Seafood, British, Healthy
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (1,041)
Filter reviews
1,026 results
Traveller rating
766
186
36
17
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
766
186
36
17
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak and ale pie onion rings pudding chicken welsh lamb salad fish and chips curry railway station the pub portions are huge vegan menu home cooked excellent food warm welcome an evening meal gluten free
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,026 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed eating here a number of times over the years , nice food , good atmosphere , friendly ,jovial landlord . Would recommend!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Hugh W
Reviewed 26 October 2018

A pretty standard hotel, with friendly staff and excellent breakfasts. A good selection of gins at the bar too!. The room was clean and a reasonable size, over looking a live band at the pub opposite - great 60s music! Even the coach of rail...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Jackie D
Reviewed 16 October 2018 via mobile

Typical pub menu, food adequate, price average, portion on the small side.Pub landlady friendly and the pub a good old fashioned boozer.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank tmr45
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

This was our first visit to Wales and so our first visit to Criccieth and although the weather wasn’t kind to us we managed to get a table at the Castle Inn. Well we weren’t disappointed,the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming,the choice of beers...More

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Simon C
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

Lovely meal as always today, the garlic bread was lovely, the minted lamb steak was delisious and the Welsh beef burger was the best around 😍. I can't recommend The Castle enough! The staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Thomas H
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

Wanted somewhere to grab a few drinks, but only allowed in if your eating. Have to order outside, bit of a pain as can’t see what selection there is! But if it rains you can come in!!!!!! Good pint through. Should be called the castle...More

Date of visit: August 2018
2  Thank johnbO2540JV
CastleInnCriccieth, Owner at Castle Inn Criccieth, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2018

We operate as a restaurant so it really shouldn't need spelling out that we are unable to accommodate drinkers. It's pretty obvious.. This is the second time you have left this exact review, and I can see this is still on the only ever review...More

Reviewed 20 September 2018

Couldn't believe our luck in finding this traditional inn but with a great vegetarian section to the menu. I had jackfruit wrap, really substantial. The staff were great, with the chef coming out of the kitchen to say hello. This pub/restaurant is leading the way...More

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank donnamw2018
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Lovely little pub with a great choice of food- well cooked and we’ll presented. The Stilton burger was fantastic and the Stilton chicken also great. Good sized portions at reasonable prices. Lovely staff. You will not be disappointed.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank BaildonBoy
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

The waitress was far from being friendly, having eaten in many pubs and restaurants in my time I have not once been refused a little sample taste of a craft ale. How can you expect to sell these local craft ales if nobody is allowed...More

Date of visit: September 2018
3  Thank 68peterp65
Castle I, Manager at Castle Inn Criccieth, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Gosh, where do I start with this. You were so so rude to all members of staff you came into contact with - in fact, by the time it came to clear your table, the 4 members of staff were all pulling straws, to see...More

Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

This place is amazing and probably one of the best restaurants I’ve ever visited for Vegan and Vegetarian dishes. Lovely cosy atmosphere, the staff are friendly and willing to have a chat, the food was absolute perfection in taste, presentation and massive portions, even some...More

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank helenjenner4
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 nearby hotels
George IV Hotel
292 reviews
.16 km away
SeaBanks B&B
52 reviews
.35 km away
The Moelwyn
124 reviews
.46 km away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
352 reviews
.53 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 33 nearby restaurants
No. 46 Coffee Shop
207 reviews
.28 km away
Tir a Mor
398 reviews
.40 km away
Poachers Restaurant
589 reviews
.41 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 14 nearby attractions
Criccieth Beach
267 reviews
.58 km away
Criccieth Castle
697 reviews
.41 km away
Criccieth Lifeboat Station
55 reviews
.48 km away
Castle Gallery
32 reviews
.36 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
_catherinebassett
1 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from CastleInnCriccieth | Property representative |
WE have one room which dogs can go into, and a large garden area at the front of the restaurant where dogs can go on if the weather is good!
1
Vote
gar14121984
20 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 12 answers
Response from 100monet | Reviewed this property |
I am sure there were people drinking in the bar when we visited.
1
Vote
rphmjh
16 May 2017|
Answer
Response from travelaround6565 | Reviewed this property |
Just turn up!
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing