We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Scottish, Bar, British, Grill, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
95
46
21
12
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
95
46
21
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak pie traditional pub food was freshly cooked nice meal piping hot homemade gravy wee
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 23 June 2021

Great service and great food. Been here many times, always a great welcome. Friendly staff, lovely pub restaurant. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 6 November 2020 via mobile

Had lunch today. Made to feel welcome and all PPR precautions in place. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Portions size was more than satisfactory and the food was freshly cooked and piping hot. The steak pie ..... is a must have. Sadly the place was...quiet due to current restrictions but please give the Black Bull a try - on our experience you won’t be disappointed.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?2  
thebullmaster, Owner at Black Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2021

Thanks for the lovely review. Hope to see you again soon in the Bull.

Reviewed 19 September 2020

Booked this Inn as we were staying nearby and I liked the reviews. We did not want to pay silly prices for overated hotel food where we were staying. The steak pie was fabulous, a great portion and I do not know how they did...it for the price, it was top quality. The pieces of beef had no fat and the gravy... oh the gravy... The food and service was faultless and I had a very nice portion of apple pie to finish. Good honest Food and one of our party of four had the Fish and Chips which was excellent.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?2  
thebullmaster, Owner at Black Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2021

Many thanks for your lovely review. We hope to see you again in the Bull soon.

Reviewed 9 September 2020 via mobile

I visited the black bull in September with my husband and everything was perfect. Covid 19 rules and sanitizers all in place. Great service and great food felt really comfortable about hygiene and the staff perfect. Everything was great 👍 and will certainly be back...again. Just great to feel safe and comfortable having a nice 👌 meal out. 10/10 for everything 😊More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
thebullmaster, Owner at Black Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2020

Thank you for your kind comments and lovely review. Hope to see you back in the Bull again soon.

Reviewed 24 August 2020

Set in a historic village in a beautiful building, serving many traditional Scottish dishes. A lot of my readers and followers say they want to visit a traditional pub when they visit Scotland- and the Black Bull Inn is the perfect I'd recommend. The menu...is well-priced and the food is delicious and hearty. Everything you need in a Scottish pub!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
thebullmaster, Owner at Black Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2020

Thank you for your lovely review. I hope your readers take your advice and pop in to see us sometime. Slàinte Mhath

Reviewed 27 January 2020

We go to the black bull on a regular basis. They serve the best fish and chips around. Fresh fish and generous portions at a great price.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?2  
thebullmaster, Owner at Black Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2020

Thanks for your lovely review. See you again soon.

Reviewed 2 December 2019 via mobile

We decided to go here for our Saturday meal. Thoroughly enjoyed it - good food & friendly staff. Will definitely be going back.

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
thebullmaster, Owner at Black Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2020

Many thanks for your kind review. Hope to see you again in the Bull soon.

Reviewed 28 November 2019

We go rather regular because the food is just like homemade only better and I don’t need to cook ...the staff are very friendly and it’s a lovely atmosphere...

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
thebullmaster, Owner at Black Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2020

Many thanks for your review. We are here to cook so you don't have to! Look forward to seeing you back in the Bull again soon.

Reviewed 6 November 2019 via mobile

Reserved a table for lunch . Friendly greeting upon arrival and shown to our table . Good prompt service for drinks and gave us time to look over menu Food was really nice mixed platter to share and had a special of the board chicken...tikka curry Would recommendMore

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?1  
thebullmaster, Owner at Black Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2019

Lovely to read your review and thanks for the recommendation. Hope to see you again in the Bull soon.

Reviewed 3 November 2019

Down in Livingston for a shopping trip and staying overnight nearby, we booked an evening meal at The Black Bull. The food was well prepared and very tasty. The staff were lovely, always smiling. We stayed on for the karaoke as I enjoy giving it...a go myself, a great bunch of customers attend, and good singers too! We were made welcome and enjoyed our night. So, if you're looking for good food in a pub with a really nice atmosphere, I have no hesitation in recommending The Black Bull.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
thebullmaster, Owner at Black Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2019

Thank you for your lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit with us here at the Bull and hopefully it won't be too long before we hear you again on the karaoke! ;)

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Mercure Livingston
751 reviews
1.56 km away
Travelodge Livingston
627 reviews
2.97 km away
Chain Runner by Marston's Inns
135 reviews
3.02 km away
Livingston Lodge Hotel
103 reviews
3.19 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
La Vita Viva
212 reviews
.18 km away
The Bay Tree Cafe
36 reviews
1.08 km away
Fork & Field
295 reviews
.08 km away
The Grapes Village Pub
15 reviews
1.30 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Livingston Designer Outlet
571 reviews
2.53 km away
Potter Around
18 reviews
3.59 km away
Howden Park Centre
45 reviews
2.33 km away
Aqua Hair & Beauty Studio
9 reviews
1.92 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
lorrainef228
24 January 2018|
Answer
Response from brusky12 | Reviewed this property |
60 for buffet or 40 for sit down Hope this helps
0
Votes
Tara M
26 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Barry M | Reviewed this property |
Three steps leading up to the double main door. Why not phone the Red Bull? They probably have an alternative entrance that may be wheelchair friendly and they are in the best place to advise you.
0
Votes
RetireeApril2015
21 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Barry M | Reviewed this property |
Open all day every day.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Black Bull Inn

Black Bull Inn is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5