We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Three Chimneys Restaurant

Travellers' Choice award winner
₹₹₹₹
European, British, Scottish
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Colbost | Isle of Skye, Colbost IV55 8ZT, Scotland
+44 1470 511258
Website
Today
18:15 - 21:45
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 18:15 - 21:45
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,617 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,545: English reviews
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The home itself is welcoming and cozy. The service is second to none. And the food was spectacular. I mentioned we were celebrating my wife's birthday when making the reservation online and they sent over dessert with "Happy Birthday" written on the plate. The only negative I can think of is that we only booked for one night. If I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas J
Godalming
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2016

The Three Chimneys is like visiting your own (complete fantasy) home. Cosy, inviting, relaxing, about as far from feeling like a hotel as you can possibly imagine, full of friends who just want to make you comfortable, bake for you, cook for you, give wine advice, serve you and advise you on how to get the best out of your... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank FionaGodalming
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

I stayed at The Three Chimmneys for a 3 night winter break and absolutely fell in love with the Isle of Skye and of course The Three Chimmeys! I was so impressed with how warm and welcoming all the staff were. I have been to many michelin star restaurants and this was by far the most friendly. Our waiter from... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank angelalina2016
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2016

One of the best meals I have ever eaten. The food was outstanding and the service was of the highest standard with very knowledgeable professional and friendly staff. We had the three course set menu. It was a taste sensation and we tried foods we had never eaten before. I would love to go back.

Helpful?
3 Thank Brenda F
Team3Cs, General Manager at The Three Chimneys Restaurant, responded to this review

Delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable time. More 

Greater Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

Had the three course taster here and everything was going swimmingly until I had my main meal which was pheasant . I tried my best to saw through it and asked for a steak knife but it was tough flavourless and very disappointing. My husband gamely tried to eat a couple of pieces but I left most of it. All... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank scot-smiley
Team3Cs, General Manager at The Three Chimneys Restaurant, responded to this review

Thankyou very much for sharing your feedback. More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

We had the Skye, Land and Sea Tasting Menu and the wine flight selected to match each course. The food was amazing and the wine was perfect. The staff were very helpful and knowledgable. We had a fantastic evening, and in an incredible location too. Thank you.

Helpful?
Thank Hannah M
Team3Cs, General Manager at The Three Chimneys Restaurant, responded to this review

Thankyou very much for making time to share this feedback, it is very encouraging for the whole team. More 

Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2016

Stayed one night and had one dinner here. It was lovely in every way. The room was extremely comfortable and beautifully appointed while perhaps lacking something in the way of cosiness. All of the staff were extremely friendly and the service was excellent overall. The food was as good as I expected. I had a monkfish and scallop ceviche starter... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RockinReebo
Team3Cs, General Manager at The Three Chimneys Restaurant, responded to this review

Truly delighted to hear you had such an outstanding time. More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

This was my first visit to this restaurant and the first time I had tried a taster menu. My partner had booked this meal as a surprise and I was initially hesitant because it is expensive. I'm a veggie and the Vegetarian Taster Menu contains a few dishes of egg. This was quickly substituted when I explained I don't really... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JB3195
Team3Cs, General Manager at The Three Chimneys Restaurant, responded to this review

Delighted to hear you had a good experience and you are welcome back anytime. More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

The food here is lovely but there are a couple things I think they could do to improve the experience. We had the two night winter break package which included accommodation, dinner, breakfast and afternoon tea. Some of the experience of afternoon tea and amuse bouche and extra courses is the same on both nights which I understand but was... More 

Helpful?
Thank ggmthomson
Team3Cs, General Manager at The Three Chimneys Restaurant, responded to this review

Thankyou very much for making time to share your feedback. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2016

We've stayed and dined here about 10 times but we hadn't been back for about 6 years. I regret that we returned in October, we were very disappointed with the experience which did not live up to previous times. The food was good but not great, which it really should be at these prices. The wine list seemed more limited... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank Peregrine44
Team3Cs, General Manager at The Three Chimneys Restaurant, responded to this review

Thankyou very much for sharing what is ofcourse disappointing feedback. But we discuss all comments as a team and the negative as well as positive responses are both helpful. More 

Travellers who viewed The Three Chimneys Restaurant also viewed

 
Kilmaluag, Isle of Skye
 

Been to The Three Chimneys Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 43 - US$ 111
Cuisine
European, British, Scottish
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations
Good for
View, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
18:15 - 21:45
Monday
18:15 - 21:45
Tuesday
18:15 - 21:45
Wednesday
18:15 - 21:45
Thursday
18:15 - 21:45
Friday
18:15 - 21:45
Saturday
18:15 - 21:45
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Colbost | Isle of Skye, Colbost IV55 8ZT, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  The Hebrides  >  Isle of Skye  >  Colbost
  • Phone Number: +44 1470 511258
Description
The Three Chimneys Restaurant is one of Scotland's most iconic restaurants, set in a stunning location beside the sea in the north west corner of the Isle of Skye. Colbost is situated on the shores of Loch Dunvegan, a wide sea loch that opens into The Minch, the narrow stretch of sea between Skye and the Outer Hebrides. The views are stunning whatever the time of year. The Three Chimneys is famous for specialising in the freshest local produce including wonderful seafood from the immediate coastal waters. the restaurant has been owned by husband and wife, Eddie and Shirley Spear, for 30 years. The couple bought the traditional stone-walled croft house in 1984 and developed the business into what it is today, with an amazing worldwide reputation. The Three chimneys has won countless awards and accolades, not least a Michelin star in 2104. Head Chef, Scott Davies and his Brigade of young chefs are passionate about preparing and cooking the finest ingredients available. Innovative dishes and exciting taste combinations are served by a professional young crew front-of-house, who pride themselves in delivering skilful. but friendly and welcoming service at all times. there is an excellent Wine List and cocktails and other bar beverages, including a good range of malt whisky, are served in the Lounge in the evenings to both house guests and restaurant customers alike. Advance bookings are essential and accommodation can be provided in The House Over-By adjacent, or in a number of good quality B&Bs and self-catering accommodation in the neighbourhood.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Three Chimneys Restaurant and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question
Scotland, United Kingdom
10 months ago
Lanark, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Three Chimneys Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?