We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Three Chimneys Restaurant

Travellers' Choice award winner
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Colbost | Isle of Skye, Colbost IV55 8ZT, Scotland
+44 1470 511258
Website
Today
18:15 - 21:45
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 18:15 - 21:45
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,613 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,541: English reviews
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

One of the best meals I have ever eaten. The food was outstanding and the service was of the highest standard with very knowledgeable professional and friendly staff. We had the three course set menu. It was a taste sensation and we tried foods we had never eaten before. I would love to go back.

Helpful?
Thank Brenda F
Greater Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had the three course taster here and everything was going swimmingly until I had my main meal which was pheasant . I tried my best to saw through it and asked for a steak knife but it was tough flavourless and very disappointing. My husband gamely tried to eat a couple of pieces but I left most of it. All... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank scot-smiley
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had the Skye, Land and Sea Tasting Menu and the wine flight selected to match each course. The food was amazing and the wine was perfect. The staff were very helpful and knowledgable. We had a fantastic evening, and in an incredible location too. Thank you.

Helpful?
Thank Hannah M
Team3Cs, General Manager at The Three Chimneys Restaurant, responded to this review

Thankyou very much for making time to share this feedback, it is very encouraging for the whole team. More 

Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed one night and had one dinner here. It was lovely in every way. The room was extremely comfortable and beautifully appointed while perhaps lacking something in the way of cosiness. All of the staff were extremely friendly and the service was excellent overall. The food was as good as I expected. I had a monkfish and scallop ceviche starter... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RockinReebo
Team3Cs, General Manager at The Three Chimneys Restaurant, responded to this review

Truly delighted to hear you had such an outstanding time. More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was my first visit to this restaurant and the first time I had tried a taster menu. My partner had booked this meal as a surprise and I was initially hesitant because it is expensive. I'm a veggie and the Vegetarian Taster Menu contains a few dishes of egg. This was quickly substituted when I explained I don't really... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JB3195
Team3Cs, General Manager at The Three Chimneys Restaurant, responded to this review

Delighted to hear you had a good experience and you are welcome back anytime. More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The food here is lovely but there are a couple things I think they could do to improve the experience. We had the two night winter break package which included accommodation, dinner, breakfast and afternoon tea. Some of the experience of afternoon tea and amuse bouche and extra courses is the same on both nights which I understand but was... More 

Helpful?
Thank ggmthomson
Team3Cs, General Manager at The Three Chimneys Restaurant, responded to this review

Thankyou very much for making time to share your feedback. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've stayed and dined here about 10 times but we hadn't been back for about 6 years. I regret that we returned in October, we were very disappointed with the experience which did not live up to previous times. The food was good but not great, which it really should be at these prices. The wine list seemed more limited... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Peregrine44
Team3Cs, General Manager at The Three Chimneys Restaurant, responded to this review

Thankyou very much for sharing what is ofcourse disappointing feedback. But we discuss all comments as a team and the negative as well as positive responses are both helpful. More 

Midlands
Level Contributor
236 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Sunday lunch treat was a delight, the menu draws on local produce presented to make the most of the freshness and flavour. The cost was not excessive considering the quality of what was served.

Helpful?
Thank Dexx
Team3Cs, General Manager at The Three Chimneys Restaurant, responded to this review

Delighted to hear you had a really good time with us. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a very tasty meal last night. We chose the set menu for £65 which I think is good value as many extra small courses were added free of charge. The service was very good. My cod dish I felt was warm as opposed to hot , but nether the less , delicious. The only downside I felt was... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Team3Cs, General Manager at The Three Chimneys Restaurant, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking time to share your feedback. We discuss this as a team and all comments both positive and negative are very helpful. More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Like most people i have heard about the restaurant and wanted to check it on when we were on Skye. The lounge building was nice this is where they take you to wait and have a drink before dinner. Maybe its the time of year but if you are the only ones waiting to have dinner then it can lack... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Yummynut
Team3Cs, General Manager at The Three Chimneys Restaurant, responded to this review

Thankyou very much for sharing your feedback and I am glad to hear we managed to get you safely back home. More 

Travellers who viewed The Three Chimneys Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Three Chimneys Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 45 - US$ 115
Cuisine
European, British, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations
Good for
View, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
18:15 - 21:45
Monday
18:15 - 21:45
Tuesday
18:15 - 21:45
Wednesday
18:15 - 21:45
Thursday
18:15 - 21:45
Friday
18:15 - 21:45
Saturday
18:15 - 21:45
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Colbost | Isle of Skye, Colbost IV55 8ZT, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  The Hebrides  >  Isle of Skye  >  Colbost
  • Phone Number: +44 1470 511258
Description
The Three Chimneys Restaurant is one of Scotland's most iconic restaurants, set in a stunning location beside the sea in the north west corner of the Isle of Skye. Colbost is situated on the shores of Loch Dunvegan, a wide sea loch that opens into The Minch, the narrow stretch of sea between Skye and the Outer Hebrides. The views are stunning whatever the time of year. The Three Chimneys is famous for specialising in the freshest local produce including wonderful seafood from the immediate coastal waters. the restaurant has been owned by husband and wife, Eddie and Shirley Spear, for 30 years. The couple bought the traditional stone-walled croft house in 1984 and developed the business into what it is today, with an amazing worldwide reputation. The Three chimneys has won countless awards and accolades, not least a Michelin star in 2104. Head Chef, Scott Davies and his Brigade of young chefs are passionate about preparing and cooking the finest ingredients available. Innovative dishes and exciting taste combinations are served by a professional young crew front-of-house, who pride themselves in delivering skilful. but friendly and welcoming service at all times. there is an excellent Wine List and cocktails and other bar beverages, including a good range of malt whisky, are served in the Lounge in the evenings to both house guests and restaurant customers alike. Advance bookings are essential and accommodation can be provided in The House Over-By adjacent, or in a number of good quality B&Bs and self-catering accommodation in the neighbourhood.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Three Chimneys Restaurant and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question
Scotland, United Kingdom
8 months ago
Lanark, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Three Chimneys Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?