We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Skye Restaurant

) #1 of 9 Restaurants in Broadford ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ Seafood, British,
The Old Schoolhouse | The Old Schoolhouse, Broadford IV42 8PY, Scotland
+44 1471 822180
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent75%
  • Very good18%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“venison” (63 reviews)
“cullen skink” (31 reviews)
“langoustines” (36 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 22:00All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, British, Scottish, International, Soups, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Old Schoolhouse | The Old Schoolhouse, Broadford IV42 8PY, Scotland
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
Reviews (851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 851 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We enjoyed our meal so much on our first night that we went back again. It isn't pretentious in any way but is nicely designed and furnished. There is plenty of choice on the menu and the chef is good at his job. The customer...More

Thank Humphrey C
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

I heard good things about this restaurant and had popped in for lunch but is cash only and with no nearby bank machine meant a return later in our trip! We phone and booked a table for 7pm, they had A big party in so...More

2  Thank Jan W
Reviewed 4 days ago

We stopped in unexpectedly and it was a pleasant surprise. Food was great, service was great and it was a touch romantic and quaint. Very nice restaurant.

Thank sdelpilar43
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Such a nice and romantic place for celebrating birthday, despite of the bad weather. Thanks Red Sky, and special thanks to Ms MJ Jai for your arrangement!

Thank Natalie621
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

The food was really delicious. Not to mention the delicious local beer. Staff very friendly and funny on top of it :) We had a smashing evening over there!

Thank Kasia1410
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were on a road trip up to Uig and stopped in the red skye restaurant for dinner. Food was very nice; we had fresh prawns, fish & chips, and roast salmon. Only down side was their credit card machine was down so we couldn't...More

Thank ctboarder
Reviewed 1 week ago

Didn't start off well, as I had emailed the restaurant to book a table. When we didn't get a reply, we called in to see them. Their problem is a very unreliable broadband service, which also explains why they only take cash - the card...More

Thank Melfordgal
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were told that reservations were necessary, but our B&B hosts made one for us. We waited in a separate and very comfortable lounge until our tables were ready. The restaurant had charm as well as good food.

1  Thank Kathryn C
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had dinner here twice (first was so good we had to go back). The food was delicious with some unique dishes. The menu changes regularly, specials board had daily treats! The service was excellent. Highly recommend, might be worth booking, can get busy.

Thank QueenIzzy999
Reviewed 1 week ago

Chose this place from good reviews on TA. Not a bad choice, but perhaps not as good as expected. The food was fine and the service good.

Thank ShesNotHere
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Restaurant at Kinloch Lodge
375 reviews
7.67 km away
King Haakon
126 reviews
7.91 km away
Cafe Sia
968 reviews
4.24 km away
Nearby Attractions
Skye Jeep Tours
115 reviews
.78 km away
Skye Island Tours Day Tours
18 reviews
7.44 km away
Isle of Skye Candle Company
15 reviews
4.36 km away
Seaprobe Atlantis
161 reviews
.34 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Luke E
How is it misleading? My statement was £7.50 for a bowl of soup. Was the price £7.50....yes was it a bowl of soup......yes! Your food was average but then I am from Glasgow so competition is fierce therefore standards are high! You also have avoided my point about it being an opinion why are you asking to change an opinion it isn't fact?
29 September 2016|
Answer
Response from intruder1931 | Property representative |
as I said in my response, this was a veloute with homemade spice bhaji, truffle oil and isle of skye grown fresh herbs. a bowls of soup is tomato, lentil, leek and potatoe and all followed by the word SOUP. we clearly stated... More
0
Votes
Luke E
Management of this establishment clearly do not understand how Trip Advisor works. People review with their own opinion and management respond telling you to change your review. Why? It isn't fact which I am stating, it is my own opinion. You can only argue with fact. So therefore to ask me to change my review would be to change my opinion. Sorry Red Skye Management that can't happen. It's this kind of behaviour that won't see the place last! Look forward to hearing the managements reply to my question.
28 September 2016|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from gastronaut2010 | Reviewed this property |
I have been asked to respond to a statement by a trip advisor member called Luke E. I am not sure why but I will say I disagree with him. I think his comments about the restaurant not understanding how trip advisor works is... More
1
Vote
drmacdonald79
I would like to know why the management chose to lie in their response to my genuine review. They claim we were offered a free drink when we complained about our meal, which is entirely untrue. They also claim our bill was reduced to £12 for the course I complained about, and if this is true then we were never told. If we had been told, I would've accepted both of these as fair gestures and not left my review in the first place. I am doubly disappointed by the incredibly rude response received. I will certainly be suggesting friends and family in the area avoid this place in the future. And thanks for the suggestion - the chip shop will be a vast improvement on what we experienced earlier this month: I hear the management are most polite and the vegetarian selection is much better.
18 October 2015|
Answer Show all 6 answers
Response from MrsLShankland | Reviewed this property |
We must have caught them on a "bad night" too then .....The reason we chose this restaurant was based on the positive reviews. It was like we were at a different restaurant!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 10 - US$ 25
Meals
Dinner, Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Old Schoolhouse | The Old Schoolhouse, Broadford IV42 8PY, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  The Hebrides  >  Isle of Skye  >  Broadford
  • Phone Number: +44 1471 822180
  • E-mail
Description
Located in the Old Schoolhouse building in Breakish only 6 miles over the bridge in the beautiful Isle of Skye, Red Skye Restaurant aims to provide a wonderfully relaxed yet creative dining experience. Open 7 days all year round with excellent parking, we hope you can join us soon for a great night out...
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing