We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Toby Carvery

Hamilton Road | Strathclyde Country Park, Motherwell ML1 3RB, Scotland
+44 1698 854715
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good31%
  • Average17%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“sunday roast” (5 reviews)
“yorkshire pud” (5 reviews)
“ice cream” (7 reviews)
Open Now
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
International, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Hamilton Road | Strathclyde Country Park, Motherwell ML1 3RB, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

This has to be the best value for money in the area, great family atmosphere, The carvery is very simple the chef cuts the meat (4 choices) and you help yourself to the vegetables and gravy. or you can dine a la carte. The serving...More

Thank John D
GeneralManagerA219, General Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi John D, Thank you very much for the kind feedback. We are continuously looking for ways to move our business forward and appreciate your time in helping us do this

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The restaurant decor could do with updating. Very tired looking and toilets were in need of a clean. The food portions of meat was very small, half a slice of meat each. When we questioned this to the lady chef she said "we are told...More

Thank LauraHill1983
GeneralManagerA219, General Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear LauraHill1983, I am disappointed to hear about your visit on the 2nd November. If you have time I would like more information regarding your visit so that I can discuss this with my kitchen team. If you have time I can be contacted on...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been to Toby carvery at hamilton road many times and found it great but on this occasion 30/10/2018 a big disappointment this lady who looked in charge. had a terrible attitude everything was take it or leave it she doesn't do this or...More

Thank jsphf
GeneralManagerA219, General Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hello jsphf, I am sorry to hear about the visit that you had on the 30th October. If you have the time I would like to hear more about your visit if you could contact me on 01698854715; it wpould be much appreciated

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited with family, table of 6 for the carvery. Chef on service very grumpy, did not offer two Yorkshire puddings with the large plates so paid more for the same as the ordinary cavery. Meats were nice but roast potatoes soggy, mash was runny and...More

Thank MFife
GeneralManagerA219, General Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear MFife, I am sorry that you felt that our food quality was not up to standard. I will be sharing this information with my kitchen team to help them move their food quality on so this does not happen again. Many thanks

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Service we encountered was pleasant enough, but when the chef's come out to the breakfast buffet we saw two customers get really unhelpful customer service. The breakfast is dearer than shown on their website, bit overpriced by the time you add in a drink especially...More

Thank allisonkerr1983
GeneralManagerA219, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hello allisonkerr1983, I am disappointed to hear about your visit. I will be sharing your review with the rest of my team and the kitchen and this feedback will be used to move the restaurant forward. Again I am sorry that the visit was not...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My mother and myself stopped here at lunchtime on 23rd October a few tables were full but still very quiet as there was no Q's at the serving counter, well we were not disappointed the selection of meats on offer were lovely and fresh along...More

Thank Tom B
GeneralManagerA219, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Tom many thanks for your kind words which i will pass along to our team, these comments help us drive the team forward. we would be delighted to see you again. the toby team.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had my first ever experience in Toby Carvery after much hype from friends and family, but was severely disappointed. It was that poor that I would never return. The food was of poor quality and displayed with no care. It is just slopped on the...More

Thank EuanWalker
GeneralManagerA219, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Mr Walker firstly i am sorry your visit wasnt what you expected and will take all your comments to help build us stronger, we serve nothing but top quality meat within our restuarant so i am surprised you didnt rate it at all. please...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My grandson and I came in late for the breakfast, I explained that I was only visiting and didn't have a cooker to cook food for him, they were so kind to give us something to eat and drink and it was very nice, cosy...More

Thank Angela T
GeneralManagerA219, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Angela thank you from the whole team for your kind comments as we strive on excellent customer feedback, we look forward to your next visit and hope its real soon. the management team

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I have been here before and know what to expect. On this visit however we were not expecting it to be so busy and certainly not expecting to see a member sitting at a table capable of seating 6 or 8 people,...More

Thank Katznduncs
GeneralManagerA219, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Katznduncs firstly thank you for you recent review and for also bringing your concerns to the management team and i can confirm this will be dealt with internally. we have also raised your concerns with the kitchen manager, i hope this will not deter...More

Reviewed 7 October 2018

We arrived after a long day's walk and decided to book a room. The barmaid was really helpful and extremely friendly. The room was clean and well appointed and exceptionally good value. We ate dinner in the bar; we had the carvery. The food was...More

Thank Corinne D
GeneralManagerA219, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Corinne firstly we are delighted that our hotel meet all your needs , we are also delighted you enjoyed some parts of the restaurant experience and have taken on board ypour concerns. we hope to see you again the toby team !!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 8 hotels in Motherwell
Innkeepers Lodge Glasgow, Strathclyde Park
251 reviews
.03 km away
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
426 reviews
.06 km away
The Alona Hotel
514 reviews
.60 km away
Bothwell Bridge Hotel
724 reviews
1.21 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Plato
157 reviews
1.01 km away
Riva
400 reviews
.95 km away
The Cricklewood
613 reviews
.89 km away
Rosso
156 reviews
1.01 km away
Nearby Attractions
The David Livingstone Centre
151 reviews
2.02 km away
Bothwell Castle Golf Club
34 reviews
2.15 km away
Bothwell Castle
133 reviews
2.79 km away
Strathclyde Country Park
358 reviews
2.83 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
fairbairnjohn
22 November 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from GeneralManagerA219 | Property representative |
Hi there. We do offer a take away option for our carvery, but not for breakfast. Just ask when you come in for a takeaway!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hamilton Road | Strathclyde Country Park, Motherwell ML1 3RB, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  North Lanarkshire  >  Motherwell
  • Phone Number: +44 1698 854715
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing