We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Willett Arms

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British,
2 Oakley Hill | Oakley, Wimborne BH21 1RN, England
+44 1202 883144
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good27%
  • Average15%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“scallops” (19 reviews)
“roast pork” (6 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2 Oakley Hill | Oakley, Wimborne BH21 1RN, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Visited early on a busy Friday night without a booking. Attentive staff looked after us and the menu looked varied and interesting..something for everyone. With main course prices £3.00 to £5.00 more than the average 'pub grub' type menu though, the general ambience of the...More

Thank johnsollis
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a very pleasant dinner with the family after school and it was lovely as always. Good menu, lots of choice, excellent soups in particular, nice spacious bright environment with the added bonus of 'Skinny Champagne'!! Whether it's a small or very large table, The...More

Thank Rochelle M
General Manager A, Manager at The Willett Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Rochelle M, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Willett Arms!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

For some reason the pub wouldn’t let my 17 yr old have a Shandy with Sunday lunch, despite this being entirely legal. Disappointing it decides to make its own rules.

Thank Andrew0508
General Manager A, Manager at The Willett Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are disappointed to hear that you did not have a more positive experience with us at The Willett Arms.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with family on a Wednesday evening to celebrate a family birthday Waitresses were very friendly and welcoming Orders taken quickly but unfortunately we then waited a very long time for the food to actually arrive even though at 6.30pm the restaurant wasn’t too busy...More

1  Thank Michelle C
General Manager A, Manager at The Willett Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Michelle C, thank you so much for your positive comments about The Willett Arms!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Met a friend for lunch. Very interesting menu, with some more imaginative dishes than your standard pub classics. I had the lobster and crab fish cakes which were very tasty with a very indulgent warm chocolate brownie and ice cream to follow. Prices slightly on...More

1  Thank Suzanne J
General Manager A, Manager at The Willett Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!

Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

Been here many times and food is always fantastic. However on this occasion i asked for food at 9.45pm and was told by the manager that the kitchen was closed. I did not know M&B changed their policy on last food orders as it was...More

Thank Phillip A
General Manager A, Manager at The Willett Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Phillip A, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will use your comments to refine our efforts to ensure this issue does not happen again.

Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Decided at 11:55 on a Sunday that we fancied a roast in a nice pub. Found the willett arms and thought we'd better phone to check they could sit us. A really helpful chap on the phone said they could fit us in so were...More

2  Thank twizzler26
General Manager A, Manager at The Willett Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We appreciate your positive review about your recent experience with us! We hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 7 April 2018

Tried this restaurant this week for an early lunch. Really friendly waitress (Sharne) however she was the only staff member on the floor as the manager was on a 'conference call' which seemed a bit daft as it was 12:15 and the start of the...More

Thank ValandBrian3589
General Manager A, Manager at The Willett Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Valandbrian3589, it's upsetting to hear that you did not receive the top-notch service we strive to provide.

Reviewed 3 April 2018

Early evening meal with two young children. Very quiet, seated by friendly waitress. Reasonable choice of food with good selection for kids. Good food, reasonable prices and very friendly waitresses. Good choice of beers.

1  Thank PhilnSheila
General Manager A, Manager at The Willett Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Philnsheila, thank you for your kind words and this wonderful review!

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Love coming here. We had a lovely lunch and Shannon S was very attentive looking after us. I’d just like to say I was impressed with how the staff remained calm when someone on another table took a turn and required an ambulance. They handled...More

3  Thank Sophie C
General Manager A, Manager at The Willett Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Sophie C, we're happy you found our staff to be so supportive during your experience here at The Willett Arms.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Wimborne Hotels
Les Bouviers Rooms
168 reviews
1.42 km away
Kings Head Hotel
721 reviews
1.69 km away
The Minster Arms
32 reviews
1.75 km away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
1,609 reviews
4.90 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Cloisters Restaurant
275 reviews
1.42 km away
La Vie En Rose
128 reviews
1.48 km away
The Thirsty Bird
27 reviews
1.47 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wimborne Minster
295 reviews
1.57 km away
The Priest's House Museum & Garden
83 reviews
1.58 km away
Wimborne Market
63 reviews
.80 km away
Affordable Studio Art
41 reviews
1.60 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Salli L
19 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from General Manager... A | Property representative |
Hi Salli Dogs are allowed in the bar area and outside only Hope this helps Regards James
1
Vote
Karen H
13 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from bonjgb1009 | Reviewed this property |
No I dont believe there is. Plus it is closing down for refurbishment on the 5th February.
2
Votes
Everyonelovescake
12 September 2016|
Answer
Response from General Manager... A | Property representative |
Hi We do allow guide dogs in the bar area, but not in the restaurant. And we can adapt the menu for gluten free and if there isn't anything on there we can use the main menu as we have a lot of options there too Hope... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 9 - US$ 34
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Validated Parking, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Oakley Hill | Oakley, Wimborne BH21 1RN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Wimborne
  • Phone Number: +44 1202 883144
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;