We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn

) #2 of 2 Restaurants in Exford ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ , British,
Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7PY, England
+44 1643 831229
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good24%
  • Average16%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“venison” (16 reviews)
“baguette” (8 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7PY, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited here due to a recommendation but was frankly underwhelmed. Steak and Ale pie was tasty but I prefer my pie to actually be a pie, not stewed steak in a dish with a pastry top cooked separately. The peas were like bullets, the chips...More

Thank Kath M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was saddened with my experience here. Went with a small group of friends and both food and service were poor. Food was not really as described on the menu (pie does not mean stew with a lid!) and was badly executed. Service was awful with...More

Thank gothmog
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for your comments. As you can see from previous reviews, your experience of both service and food is definitely not the norm and we wish you had raised any issues whilst you were here, there is nothing we can now do to rectify...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just a quick note that my wife and I recently spent 5 nights here on the hotel deal under which I have given a much more detailed review. We really enjoyed the food, my highlight probably being the rack of lamb. Also the cooked breakfast...More

Thank davidneil
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the relevant departments. Our breakfast is that special start to the day that all our customers deserve and we pride ourselves on it. We really hope that you make a return visit soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a looong ride over the moor and wetting the whistle was paramount - we had long cool pints of local cider which slipped down nicely - it was lovely sitting right by the river and small bridge in the sunshine - cannot say...More

Thank kentcritique
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We offer extensive Bar and Restaurant Menus so we hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back for that "proper meal". We are so lucky to be situated in such a stunning location by the river, ideal for "winding down" after a busy day...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This has a wide variety of food with an excellent carved buffet always busy which is a good sign recommend you book in advance.Excellent cold meat platter as is the trout.

Thank 718SH
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks! And booking in advance is always a good idea to avoid disappointment on arrival. We hope to welcome you back again soon

Reviewed 17 June 2017

We ate in the restaurant twice whilst staying in Exford. the venison is the best we have ever tasted.

Thank Kris-h-2o13
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comment. Venison is one of Chef's specialties so we hope to be able to welcome you back to enjoy some more!

Reviewed 5 June 2017

i ate here twice. and will never eat there again. the first night i ordered sausage and chips with egg and the chips were re-fries. really oily and blatantly re-fried. the second night just got worse. i ordered a gammon steak with veg of the...More

2  Thank Dale F
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

For anyone reading this review you can rest assured that we do not buy our food from Tesco and we will happily provide the invoices to prove it. We NEVER refry or reheat food with all our food being cooked to order. And we actually...More

Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile

Visited a few times while in Exmoor. Popped in for a few ciders by the river in the sun! Also had food on one occasion and it's perfectly nice. My only criticism is that at certain times there was only one guy behind the bar...More

Thank PeterKent12
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you. And we will take onboard your comments about bar staff, although there are always back-up staff for him to call on but we do get exceptionally busy at certain times and we do appreciate peoples understanding and patience when this happens. We hope...More

Reviewed 2 June 2017

Visited 01 June 2017, ploughmans lunch, bar meal in the evening Location, superb! Bar Service excellent. Food average. Kitchen Service, Dreadful. This is a nice place for lunch, good ales, fresh salad, friendly people, bar service was excellent. But, portions of ham/ cheese are on...More

Thank Getaway247365
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are so sorry to read all your comments and you can be assured that they have all been passed on to the relevant departments concerned. As a previous visitor you obviously know that we place great importance on both the quality of the food...More

Reviewed 17 May 2017

Great location for visiting Exmoor. Stayed here for 2 nights and ate in the restaurant both evenings. Meal the first night was beautiful, home cooked and tasty. Second evening a different chef. Good but not the same quality as the previous evening. The first night...More

Thank Pauline V
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

We are so sorry about the mattress on your bed, it appears that when the mattress was recently replaced it was replaced with an incorrect size and we are now sorting this. There is no "protective plastic" sheeting on the bed but rather a brand...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Crown Hotel
79 reviews
.12 km away
Withypool Tea Rooms
105 reviews
2.99 km away
The Royal Oak
151 reviews
6.37 km away
The Rest and Be Thankful Inn
180 reviews
7.15 km away
Nearby Attractions
Exmoor Safari
27 reviews
.05 km away
Dunkery Beacon
137 reviews
5.03 km away
Snowdrop Valley
9 reviews
7.23 km away
Exmoor Barle Valley Wildlife Safari - Day Tours
63 reviews
6.45 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Harvey2319
31 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from PeterHendrie | Property representative |
Hi, Well behaved dogs on leads are always welcome in our Bar area, we area very dog friendly establishment, both in the Bar and Hotel. For Health and Hygeine reasons we cannot allow dogs in our restaurant but for any... More
1
Vote
Robert P
3 June 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from PeterHendrie | Property representative |
Hi, We offer an extensive Bar Food and Evening Restaurant Menu every day, with Carvery being served as an extra choice on Weds and Sunday evenings and Sunday lunchtimes
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7PY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Exmoor National Park  >  Exford
  • Phone Number: +44 1643 831229
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing