We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Garden City House Of Pancakes

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
2908 S Highway 17, Garden City Beach, SC 29576-7623
+1 843-651-2200
Today
07:00 - 14:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 07:00 - 14:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 90: English reviews
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I hadn't been here in a couple of years and was pleasantly surprised that it hasn't changed. It was solid then and is solid now. One of the issues I always have to deal with is that unless the usual squashy white Southern bread is toasted well, it is awful. They do it right here, and the waitress even checked... More 

Helpful?
Thank westysc
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

We walked in and the first thing that hit our nose was musty, dirty carpet smell. It wrecked my appetite. Our waitress was prompt and really sweet. The breakfast was so so, we ate everything but we're not thrilled and won't go back until this place gets cleaned and renovated! Hope the owner reads this, because a little bit of... More 

Helpful?
Thank kgeles
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2016

This is a very nice looking restaurant. The atmosphere was good although a little loud due to being so open. The server was very good. They do offer a good price for their breakfast special. The eggs were very good and the bacon was excellent. However the pancakes were not very good. They were like frozen pancakes. Good coffee too.

Helpful?
1 Thank waynemcb
Bill V, Owner at Garden City House Of Pancakes, responded to this review

Thank you so much for coming in and for your feedback! I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your pancakes, we'd love another chance to get them right for you! More 

Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2016

dirty restaurant...bad management/owners/food not worth the price ....will not return.... go to ny diner or eggs r up.......

Helpful?
Thank SHIRLEYMAE811
Bill V, Owner at Garden City House Of Pancakes, responded to this review

I apologize for your bad experience. I would love for you to elaborate on your issues with management. We offer breakfast dishes for under $10 which is hard to find and pride ourselves on our cleanliness. We'd love for you to give us another chance! Thank you for your feedback! More 

Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

We waited for our food for over an hour and the waitress only checked in with us once in that time frame. We had to stop another waitress for a refill. The food arrived to our table cold and did not taste good. No air conditioning either. We also witnessed the staff fussing about things happening in the restaurant and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lindsey U
Bill V, Owner at Garden City House Of Pancakes, responded to this review

I apologize for any inconvenience. In regards to your time frame, it is off season and the only reason breakfast would take this long would be if there were a larger party. I hope you alerted your server about your issues and that she was able to fix those problems for you. We have alerted our staff of this review... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Today we walked in to the restaurant and as we were being seated our waitress followed us to our table and asked for our drink order before we were able to even sit down so we were not able to look at the menu to know of prices or what beverages they had! Our waitress came back with our drinks... More 

Helpful?
Thank Drew B
Bill V, Owner at Garden City House Of Pancakes, responded to this review

I apologize for your dissatisfaction. I'm sure our waitress was only trying to provide you with quick, efficient service. Unfortunately some of our plates are specials and do not allow for substitutions so that would have been out of her control. We are more than happy to work with food allergies, but sometimes that requires us to ring them up... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed a great Sunday morning breakfast with friends. Good coffee, eggs, corn beef hash, etc were very tasty. Gloria's service was superb!

Helpful?
Thank GWRohrer
Bill V, Owner at Garden City House Of Pancakes, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and for coming in to see us! We'd love to see you again soon! More 

North Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

This is a great place for breakfast before going to the beach, to play golf or a day of shopping. Service (by Tam) is fast and with a great smile and a sweet morning attitude. The restaurant is clean, lots of parking and easy to get in and out with a nearby stop light.

Helpful?
Thank Linda C
Bill V, Owner at Garden City House Of Pancakes, responded to this review

Thank you so much for coming in and for the sweet review! We'd love to see you again soon! More 

Mt. Airy
Level Contributor
100 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2016

This was not the breakfast we were looking for as we were heading home. Everything and employees looked worn and tired. Food was brought out cold. Asked for items that should have been brought out with the food. Needs new interior.

Helpful?
Thank Dwayne C
Bill V, Owner at Garden City House Of Pancakes, responded to this review

We apologize for your dissatisfaction. I hope you informed your waitress of your issues and that she was able to fix them for you! In regards to our decor, we want to offer a homey, welcoming feel that is comfortable for all to enjoy. We'd love for you to give us another chance and appreciate your feedback! More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2016

The pancakes were tasteless and dry. The scrambled eggs were not good at all either. There is just no care of flavor here. The food seem low quality. I can honestly say you'd be much better off finding a Waffle or Huddle house than to go here. It was surely a disappointment when we were excited about a good breakfast.... More 

Helpful?
Thank bambam166
Bill V, Owner at Garden City House Of Pancakes, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear this; all of our food is cooked to order and held to a high standard. We'd love for you to give us another chance and we are grateful for your feedback. More 

Travellers who viewed Garden City House Of Pancakes also viewed

Garden City Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Garden City Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Garden City Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Garden City Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Garden City House Of Pancakes? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 10
Cuisine
American
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Reservations
Good for
Groups, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
07:00 - 14:00
Monday
07:00 - 14:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 14:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 14:00
Thursday
07:00 - 14:00
Friday
07:00 - 14:00
Saturday
07:00 - 14:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2908 S Highway 17, Garden City Beach, SC 29576-7623
  • Location: United States  >  South Carolina (SC)  >  Coastal South Carolina  >  Garden City Beach
  • Phone Number: +1 843-651-2200
Description
We are a family owned and operated restaurant and have been at the beach for over 28 years! We serve breakfast all day but also offer a great lunch menu as well. We are working on creating some unique specials so please come in and check us out!

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Garden City House Of Pancakes staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?