We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Steamer Oyster & Steakhouse

168 Sea Island Pkwy, Beaufort, SC 29907-1503
+1 843-522-0210
Call
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good27%
  • Average16%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible17%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (37 reviews)
“fried grouper” (5 reviews)
“crab legs” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
American, Seafood
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
168 Sea Island Pkwy, Beaufort, SC 29907-1503
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 50 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2016

Came in for my birthday with my family of 6. We were half way greeted at the door by Yazmine....she seated and asked for our drinks.. My mother-in-law requested milk and was told "No", she asked why and was told "We're out of it". We...More

Thank John B
Reviewed 9 August 2016

OK first we did not even get to try the food so this review is only on the service they provide. We arrive with our 5 year old grandson who does not eat seafood so we had stopped and got him a Happy Meal, nice...More

3  Thank stratos175
lisa k, General Manager at Steamer Oyster & Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2016

WE are a Restaurant not a food court. Every seat has a cost, such as water , air conditioning, the person that mops the floor, and cleans the tables.. As such our policy is no outside food is to be brought in. I offered to...More

Reviewed 7 August 2016

My family stopped here on our way out after a trip to Hunting Island. There was no wait and our waitress was friendly. The fried calamari appetizer was good. I ordered the fried shrimp and they were huge! Same goes for my wife's scallops. I...More

Thank JWH1984
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

The food was okay but it was not the same menu we found online. When I told our waitress we found them on TripAdvisor, she said, "On purpose?" Their service was terrible. Although they were not busy at all, we never had tea refilled. The...More

Thank David C
lisa k, General Manager at Steamer Oyster & Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2016

Unfortunately we do not have a menu online , so I am not sure what menu for what restaurant you were looking at. I apologize that you had an unfortunate experience

Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

Not knowing of it's notoriety, we happened upon Steamers as we arrived in town looking for LOCAL seafood for lunch. Rustic & comfortable, we were immediately greeted and seated by a very friendly employee. Our server came to the table almost immediately. He was extremely...More

1  Thank Linda K
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

Great place! Waitress was very attentive. Steamed shrimp was perfectly cooked, as was the fried grouper. Staff was friendly to all the tables, seemed like there were a lot of locals - always a good sign!

Thank Kristen A
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

Don't let the name of this place fool you. The steamed oysters were pathetic. 3 'oysters' didn't even fill one cracker. When we complained that the oysters were ridiculously small, we were brought just 3 more which were again, pathetic. Don't mind paying market price...More

1  Thank Julie S
lisa k, General Manager at Steamer Oyster & Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2016

We cannot control the oysters that are harvested and sent to the restaurant. Oysters are a natures commodity . Oysters during the summer months are difficult to come by and due to the heat wave in south carolina we have had difficulty in finding oysters

Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

Waitress was a nice enough lady.... Slow would be the best way to describe her..... Ordered a bud light and asked for a lime wedge to go along with it.... Was a little shocked when I was charged .50 cents for the lime wedges!!! Now...More

Thank Scott V
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

We were on a family vacation and stopped in to see what Steamers was all about! The food was fantastic and great price. The reason for the poor rating is because our waitress was rude and spoke to us like we were trash. She made...More

2  Thank Lyssa_108
Reviewed 26 July 2016

I took a friend for a birthday lunch. The server sarcastically complained about everything; I think it was meant to be cute but that was not the effect. The plastic mustard container had a cut in the side, resulting in mustard exploding out the side...More

Thank Teresa B
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Momma Lou's Gullah Cuisine
20 reviews
.80 km away
Brody's Bar and Grill
55 reviews
.36 km away
Dockside
428 reviews
1.13 km away
Beaufort Bread Company
124 reviews
.80 km away
Nearby Attractions
Henry C. Chambers Waterfront Park
892 reviews
2.92 km away
Bay Street
389 reviews
2.97 km away
Beaufort History Museum
73 reviews
3.02 km away
John Mark Verdier House
66 reviews
2.92 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
franji13
19 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Samsmom T | Reviewed this property |
Absolutely good for conversations. The tables are nicely spaced and while there is music, and maybe even some television playing in one area, my friend and I had no issues with noise levels or being able to hear one another.
2
Votes
Kay S
12 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Lorna P | Reviewed this property |
yes it is an appetizer but I had them as my dinner because I too love my crab steamed!
0
Votes
fsdchef
29 April 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Marsha L | Reviewed this property |
In season, yes. We have had them steamed and on the half shell.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 20
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 168 Sea Island Pkwy, Beaufort, SC 29907-1503
  • Location: United States  >  South Carolina (SC)  >  Coastal South Carolina  >  Beaufort
  • Phone Number: +1 843-522-0210
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing