We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Tavern Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
American, Bar
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
220 E College Ave, State College, PA 16801-4713
+1 814-238-6116
Today
11:30 - 15:00
17:00 - 22:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:30 - 15:00
17:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

341 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 336: English reviews
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After years of passing by, we finally went in for dinner because we had a gift card. What a pleasant surprise! The food felt so homemade. I wouldn't say it was the greatest, but it was offered and delivered so nicely that I swear it made it taste better. We had steak and pasta, nothing unique but delicious and prepared... More 

Helpful?
Thank spj999
Dawn D, Manager at The Tavern Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for giving us a try! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit to The Tavern Restaurant. and we hope that you and your family will get another chance to stop by again. Be sure to try something new during your next visit - your taste buds will thank you! More 

Effort, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Once was enough for me. I think our reviewers got it wrong this time. Not the least bit impressed. Waiter made it seem like he was doing me a favor. The reason it is darkly lit, is because the place is in dire need of a makeover.

Helpful?
Thank silvertongue10147
Dawn D, Manager at The Tavern Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Although we're happy you gave us a try, we are disappointed to hear that you do not share the same enthusiasm our regulars have. We always welcome suggestions so we know where to make improvements, such as the renovations we have been working on as of late. We do apologize if you found your service... More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016

I have been to this restaurant on several occasions and the welcome has always been friendly. The menu is extensive and the food should please even the fussiest of people. I have tried most of the dishes and have never been disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank RoyGrant
Dawn D, Manager at The Tavern Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us this glowing review! We are flattered by your kind words and it would be our pleasure to serve you more delicious dishes in the near future. Thank again and we hope to see you dine at The Tavern Restaurant soon. Take care. More 

Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016

I often imagine that a restaurant's best food may be in its appetizers, so I usually order more than one starter at a new place. The service in this restaurant was good, but the appetizers leave much to be desired. First, the good. Escargot was very well done, very tender, and not rubbery at all. Then, the clams - it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Family_of_4PGH
Dawn D, Manager at The Tavern Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello, We greatly appreciate you stopping by and giving our menu a try. While we are happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and that you enjoyed the Escargot, we are quite disappointed that the rest of your meal was not to your liking and our high standards. We welcome you to give us another try... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

First time but once is enough. We were lucky to have gotten there at the right time. When leaving probably 50 people waiting with at least 8-10 tables sitting empty. Food was good but not worth the price or a wait

Helpful?
Thank Susan G
Dawn D, Manager at The Tavern Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello Susan and thank you for the feedback. Our team always welcomes feedback from our guests as it's a great way to gain unbiased insight to our establishment. We are sorry to hear that you do not find worth in our dishes, although they are quite delicious. We can assure you that we use nothing but the finest and freshest... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
171 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016

Went with two business partners for dinner, following a full day of recruiting at the University. Although a large place, we were surprised to only see a handful of tables taken. My biggest surprise was the "all you can eat" sides. I had the Hawaiian Pork Loin w Grits. Fantastic, but on the smaller portion size. Our server, seemed to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matt H
Dawn D, Manager at The Tavern Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello Matt, We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for stopping by and leaving us your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us, though we sincerely apologize for the lackluster service you experienced - this is certainly out of our norm and appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Our team... More 

Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016

I worked at The Tavern when I was a student at Penn State over 25 years ago, so I have a place in my heart for this place. The waiters are Penn State students so that is always part of the charm. In a world of chain restaurants trying to be all things to all people, The Tavern stands the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tim E
Dawn D, Manager at The Tavern Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello Tim and thank you so much for leaving us this glowing review. We absolutely love seeing old friends as much as making new ones. Please continue to visit us for years to come as we will always take pleasure in serving you wonderful dishes by our friendly team Thanks again for stopping by and take care. More 

Shillington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016

We arrived late on Friday afternoon. Within 30 minutes, the place was 90% full. Our server, Derrick treated us like we were the only ones he was serving. The food was excellent. They offer unlimited side dishes at no additional cost. We were seated near the front window so we could do a lot of people watching as the restaurant... More 

Helpful?
Thank AdventuresomeCouple
Dawn D, Manager at The Tavern Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for joining us! We are pleased to hear that you had a chance to dine with us at The Tavern Restaurant. Our team is highly dedicated in providing all of our guests with a memorable dining experience and we hope you decide to stop by again. Take care and enjoy the rest of your week. More 

State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2016

Typically have had good food there but the last visit was a bit dissapointing. The side dishes of vegtables were not warm. Service was a little on the slow side too.

Helpful?
Thank Art L
Dawn D, Manager at The Tavern Restaurant, responded to this review

Hey there Art, Thank you for the feedback. We are sorry to hear that you found your recent visit with us to be disappointing and we would like to learn more from your experience. If you could reach out to Pat or Dawn at (814) 238-6116, we would greatly appreciate it. Thanks so much and take care. More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

The Tavern has always been a favorite of ours, we have greatly enjoyed a number of meals there. Unfortunately, last night was a great disappointment. It was not very busy, but took a tremendous amount of time for our food to come. When the food did arrive the salmon I ordered was supposed to be maple glazed, but was not.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sophie P
Dawn D, Manager at The Tavern Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello Sophie, We appreciate you taking the time to leave us feedback. While we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your past visits with us, we are disappointed that you did not find your recent dining experience to be as consistent as before. We always welcome our guests to let their server know of any concerns while they... More 

Travellers who viewed The Tavern Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Tavern Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 15 - US$ 25
Cuisine
American, Bar
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 15:00
17:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:30 - 15:00
17:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 15:00
17:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 15:00
17:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:30 - 15:00
17:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:30 - 15:00
17:00 - 22:00
Saturday
11:30 - 15:00
17:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 220 E College Ave, State College, PA 16801-4713
  • Location: United States  >  Pennsylvania (PA)  >  State College
  • Phone Number: +1 814-238-6116

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Tavern Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Tavern Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?