We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Taj Tandoori Indian Restaurant

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Upstairs 30 Donald St | 30 Donald Street, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
+61 2 4981 5521
Website
Today
17:30 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 17:30 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 94: English reviews
Nelson Bay, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Food was lovely and service was absolutely brilliant. Best Indian in the Bay, never disappoints would highly recommend to anyone.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Kim Q
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked a table for two at 7.45 wanting a lovely night out and wanted to go out dancing after. Because of late booking was not that busy, but .... got menus after awhile, then had to go to counter to ask to take our order at the table please. (This may have been why we were ignored for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bernie T
Harvinder S, Owner at Taj Tandoori Indian Restaurant, responded to this review

hello bernie, Really sorry for the bad service you received at the restaurant. We were not expecting a busy night on that day but we got busy around 7pm. We got 20-25 people in 15 minutes and we had one waitstaff short on that night. As such there was a little delay in serving the food on time. As for... More 

Level Contributor
156 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The food was average quality, nothing to rave about. The garlic naan was great, rogan josh and beef korma both nice. Tandoori chicken a bit dry, ask for extra sauce. They are happy for you to BYO and the service was efficient and friendly. Warning that it is upstairs, so maybe difficult to access for those with mobility problems. Aircon... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robyn P
Harvinder S, Owner at Taj Tandoori Indian Restaurant, responded to this review

thanks for the review. We will take extra care to ensure Tandoori chicken is not dry as you mentioned. Hope to see u soon again. bye More 

Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good food service excellent waiting time is bit takes time but not there problem its just opened they r getting well now one adive for u guys plse put some flags near the road so people can know tat u are in tahunauai best wishes george from nelson.just one advice plse give some compliments as pappodoms wen waiting for order... More 

Helpful?
Thank n0mad1234
Harvinder S, Owner at Taj Tandoori Indian Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much. We will certainly consider your opinion. Sorry for the little wait you experienced. See u soon. More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

When we went on to Taj Tandoori we reserved a table which I recommend you do if you plan to eat there. It started to become busy and it didn't help that they had a few waiters. There must have been only one chef because we waited for our dinner for an hour and a half. The dinner was good... More 

Helpful?
Thank PoppitBunny
Harvinder S, Owner at Taj Tandoori Indian Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi we appreciate your feedback. We try our best to serve as fast as possible during busy times. But we have our limits. We have two chefs but they are not enough when there is a mad rush at the peak time. Also getting good waitstaff is really hard and getting good service out of them is more harder. You... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2016

They serve authentic Indian food.. which very less Indian restaurants do in AU. Not only food, the service was awesome, very kind people. It was late afternoon 3.15pm, they were supposed to close but were waiting one table. We popped in, the lady said we can do takeaway. We ordered take away but the lady was kind enough to say,... More 

Helpful?
Thank SunayanaVivek
Harvinder S, Owner at Taj Tandoori Indian Restaurant, responded to this review

thanks for the review. see u soon bye More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2016

The curry tasted average, nothing special in terms of indian experiences, and yet at 18 $ for a small silver bowl, the value was not the best.

Helpful?
Thank Samuel P
Harvinder S, Manager at Taj Tandoori Indian Restaurant, responded to this review

hi everything is expensive here compared to metro cities. Also our serving size is bigger compared to any other indian restaurants. bye More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Thanks The best Indian food around:) Would certainly recommend if you want some authentic Indian food.

Helpful?
Thank 2005preet
Harvinder S, Owner at Taj Tandoori Indian Restaurant, responded to this review

thanks see u soon again More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,155 reviews
869 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 366 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

Been here a fair few times over the past 10 years. And after visiting a few others this is still what we feel is the best. Tonight we actually had the beef and vegetable curry. Sounds boring but was really tasty. All other dishes always done well. Service can be a tad on the slower side but most places are... More 

Helpful?
Thank szkut
Harvinder S, Owner at Taj Tandoori Indian Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback. Service is not 5 star we know but we try to give our best . we will try to give more training to waitstaff and hopefully it will improve. See u soon. bye More 

Nelson Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2016

This was a takeaway meal for 5 people. Each starter and each main meal was lacking in taste, which for an Indian restaurant is quite an achievement. I hope they took a photograph of the money we wasted on this meal because they will never see any more from us.

Helpful?
Thank Gerry S

Travellers who viewed Taj Tandoori Indian Restaurant also viewed

 
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 

Been to Taj Tandoori Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 11 - US$ 17
Cuisine
Indian, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
17:30 - 22:00
Monday
17:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
17:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
17:30 - 22:00
Thursday
17:30 - 22:00
Friday
17:30 - 22:00
Saturday
17:30 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Upstairs 30 Donald St | 30 Donald Street, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Greater Newcastle  >  Port Stephens  >  Nelson Bay
  • Phone Number: +61 2 4981 5521

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Taj Tandoori Indian Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Corlette, Australia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Taj Tandoori Indian Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?