We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holmbush Inn

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British,
101 Holmbush Road, St Austell PL25 3LL, England
+44 1726 68691
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good35%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (44 reviews)
“mixed grill” (12 reviews)
“sunday roast” (10 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
101 Holmbush Road, St Austell PL25 3LL, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Absolute compliments to the chef and the staff. Tonight the entire experience was perfect. We had crayons and puzzles to keep the kids entertained, and very friendly converse. The food (Steak, Gammon and a small lasagna) were all fantastic. Beautifully cooked. To order a blue...More

Thank Christine L
StAustellManagement, Manager at Holmbush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for this review, we are so pleased that you all enjoyed your food, and your perfectly cooked steak, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Wifey and I have just had a very nice evening meal at the Holmbush Inn.The staff are very pleasant and efficient,the service prompt and the food really good,well worth a visit.

Thank Bob C
StAustellManagement, Manager at Holmbush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving this very kind review. We hope to see you again very soon!

Reviewed 9 November 2017

Very dissapointed. My wife and i chose rump steak which was very tough so sent mine back to be cooked more but on return was no different and i could not eat it, my wife also returned hers and they cooked her a fresh steak...More

Thank RICHARD W
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

My wife and I visited three times on our holiday and the staff never failed to disappoint. Our only disappointment was having to leave! If you go at lunch - go early. The car park gets full by 1215-1230. We were there just before 12....More

Thank David C
StAustellManagement, Manager at Holmbush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your lunch with us and we are sorry you had to leave us but that only means you have to return again so we look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Arranged to meet friends for dinner yesterday at the Holmbush Inn as it was convenient for us all to travel to. It was our first visit and it seemed fairly busy with families and couples. We ordered from the extensive menu and between us ordered...More

Thank Vanman498
StAustellManagement, Manager at Holmbush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you for you review, we are pleased your time with us was pleasant and all your meals were enjoyed. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Our second visit and just as good. We had the steak and it was cooked to perfection, onion rings are perfect too, my father in law enjoyed his birthday treat, plus he got apple pie and custard. The lemon meringue is delicious too. We highly...More

Thank Cornwallchloe
StAustellManagement, Manager at Holmbush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your farther in laws birthday celebration and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed 25 October 2017

Had a meal here whilst on holiday nearby. The staff were helpful and friendly, the pub was clean and bright and the food excellent. We had the steak pie - absolutely perfect. Just wish this place was nearer home!!!

Thank Lesley L
StAustellManagement, Manager at Holmbush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Many thanks for leaving this review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your recent visit and hope to see you back again!

Reviewed 21 October 2017

Excellent pub meals, the premises were very clean and spacious and the staff really willing to please the customer. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal here, good quality food cooked well, and served imaginatively.

Thank Goldeneye64
StAustellManagement, Manager at Holmbush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed meal with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 19 October 2017

Husband took me out for birthday tea, decided to try the pub after hearing good reviews . Our steaks were cooked to perfection, the whole meal was great, the food was hot and the staff very friendly . The pub was clean and tidy ,...More

Thank Vanessa h
StAustellManagement, Manager at Holmbush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thank you for your great review, we so pleased you enjoyed your steak. We look forward to welcoming you back for that Roast!

Reviewed 18 October 2017

food was lovely and resonable priced staff was helpful and friendly over all nice clean place, there is plenty of free parking to the rear

Thank Mich M
StAustellManagement, Manager at Holmbush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you Mich for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your food with us, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Old Kerrow Farm Park
5 reviews
.61 km away
The Longstore Steaks & Seafood
353 reviews
.90 km away
Charlie's Coffee House
283 reviews
.71 km away
Wreckers
1,323 reviews
.91 km away
Nearby Attractions
Roche Rock & Hermitage
30 reviews
.61 km away
Charlestown Shipwreck & Heritage Centre
1,109 reviews
.78 km away
Cornwall Football Golf
700 reviews
.94 km away
The Harbourside Inn
59 reviews
.93 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Dave G
16 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from StAustellManagement | Property representative |
Hello, They have 2 sitting for Sunday Lunch one at 12pm and the other at 1.30pm. We cannot guarantee there will be any roast free after the second sitting. it is advisable to book in advance. Contact them on 01726 68691 or... More
2
Votes
losgigs18
22 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from OsborneDavid | Reviewed this property |
Not 100% sure know in past we've eaten first so would suggest a quick call to check
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 7 - US$ 21
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 101 Holmbush Road, St Austell PL25 3LL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  St Austell
  • Phone Number: +44 1726 68691
  • E-mail
Description
The Holmbush is a lively and friendly pub, situated in St Austell. It is a family pub with a delightful beer garden and conservatory. Other facilities include an excellent pool area and wide screen TV's showing terrestrial sporting events. There is also a good sized car park on site. Peta and her team look forward to welcoming you to the Holmbush Inn!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing