We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holmbush Inn

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British,
101 Holmbush Road, St Austell PL25 3LL, England
+44 1726 68691
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good35%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (45 reviews)
“mixed grill” (12 reviews)
“sunday roast” (11 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
101 Holmbush Road, St Austell PL25 3LL, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Have visited a few times and the food is good and reasonably priced, they also offer small plates which are around £5! The only issue we have had is with the parking! The car park isn't very big so if it's full there isn't really...More

Thank beckylou444
StAustellManagement, Manager at Holmbush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for writing this lovely review about us. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ate at the Holmbush as a family a few days before Christmas, with a party of 15, all preordered from the Christmas party menu, including one specifically without gravy, and one gluten free meal. Before we ate, we were told that the meal without...More

1  Thank Anise76
StAustellManagement, Manager at Holmbush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We would like to apologise that you felt your experience with us at The Holmbush Inn was not up to standard on this occasion. Thank you for bringing this to our attention as we do continue to use all feedback to improve our standards for...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

food is amazing , lovely friendly ber staff , food cooked to order clean and traditional fairly priced

Thank tracy k
StAustellManagement, Manager at Holmbush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Tracy for your kind words, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Totally amazing lunch with family today. Service and food was first class. Yes you pay extra today but this was most reasonable and great time had by all.

Thank McLaren12
StAustellManagement, Manager at Holmbush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are pleased you enjoyed your day with us, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Reviewed 18 November 2017

Absolute compliments to the chef and the staff. Tonight the entire experience was perfect. We had crayons and puzzles to keep the kids entertained, and very friendly converse. The food (Steak, Gammon and a small lasagna) were all fantastic. Beautifully cooked. To order a blue...More

Thank Christine L
StAustellManagement, Manager at Holmbush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Thank you for this review, we are so pleased that you all enjoyed your food, and your perfectly cooked steak, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

Wifey and I have just had a very nice evening meal at the Holmbush Inn.The staff are very pleasant and efficient,the service prompt and the food really good,well worth a visit.

Thank Bob C
StAustellManagement, Manager at Holmbush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Thank you for leaving this very kind review. We hope to see you again very soon!

Reviewed 9 November 2017

Very dissapointed. My wife and i chose rump steak which was very tough so sent mine back to be cooked more but on return was no different and i could not eat it, my wife also returned hers and they cooked her a fresh steak...More

Thank RICHARD W
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

My wife and I visited three times on our holiday and the staff never failed to disappoint. Our only disappointment was having to leave! If you go at lunch - go early. The car park gets full by 1215-1230. We were there just before 12....More

Thank David C
StAustellManagement, Manager at Holmbush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your lunch with us and we are sorry you had to leave us but that only means you have to return again so we look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Arranged to meet friends for dinner yesterday at the Holmbush Inn as it was convenient for us all to travel to. It was our first visit and it seemed fairly busy with families and couples. We ordered from the extensive menu and between us ordered...More

Thank Vanman498
StAustellManagement, Manager at Holmbush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you for you review, we are pleased your time with us was pleasant and all your meals were enjoyed. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Our second visit and just as good. We had the steak and it was cooked to perfection, onion rings are perfect too, my father in law enjoyed his birthday treat, plus he got apple pie and custard. The lemon meringue is delicious too. We highly...More

Thank Cornwallchloe
StAustellManagement, Manager at Holmbush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your farther in laws birthday celebration and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 9 hotels in St Austell
The Pier House Hotel
532 reviews
.96 km away
Porth Avallen Hotel
290 reviews
1.04 km away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
674 reviews
1.16 km away
The Carlyon Bay
1,630 reviews
1.37 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Old Kerrow Farm Park
5 reviews
.61 km away
Edie's Kitchen
19 reviews
.66 km away
The Longstore Steaks & Seafood
368 reviews
.90 km away
Charlie's Coffee House
287 reviews
.71 km away
Nearby Attractions
Roche Rock & Hermitage
30 reviews
.61 km away
Charlestown Shipwreck & Heritage Centre
1,110 reviews
.78 km away
Cornwall Football Golf
700 reviews
.94 km away
The Harbourside Inn
59 reviews
.93 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Stephanie W
15 January 2018|
Answer
Response from PeteGiles | Reviewed this property |
yes there....All dogs are welcome.....
0
Votes
Dave G
16 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from StAustellManagement | Property representative |
Hello, They have 2 sitting for Sunday Lunch one at 12pm and the other at 1.30pm. We cannot guarantee there will be any roast free after the second sitting. it is advisable to book in advance. Contact them on 01726 68691 or... More
2
Votes
losgigs18
22 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from OsborneDavid | Reviewed this property |
Not 100% sure know in past we've eaten first so would suggest a quick call to check
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 7 - US$ 22
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 101 Holmbush Road, St Austell PL25 3LL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  St Austell
  • Phone Number: +44 1726 68691
  • E-mail
Description
The Holmbush is a lively and friendly pub, situated in St Austell. It is a family pub with a delightful beer garden and conservatory. Other facilities include an excellent pool area and wide screen TV's showing terrestrial sporting events. There is also a good sized car park on site. Peta and her team look forward to welcoming you to the Holmbush Inn!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing