We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
St. Austell Road, Par, St Austell PL24 2SL, England
+44 1726 812889
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

548 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 544: English reviews
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Excellent food. Drink prices the same as surrounding pubs. I'm looking at staying there later in the year.

Helpful?
Thank Chris M
BritanniaManagement, General Manager at The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Chris, We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit to the Britannia and we're very grateful for your lovely review. If you decide to stay with us later in the year, please feel free to contact us on 01726 812889 or info@britanniainn.com to make a reservation. Many thanks again. More 

St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely restaurant/bar, brilliant as it's a 5 minute walk from where I live, great food as well as helpful staff

Helpful?
Thank charlottehotham95
BritanniaManagement, General Manager at The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Charlotte, a lovely review to receive thank you. We look forward to seeing you at The Britannia again soon. More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Excellent service I left my iPhone charger and they kindly returned it via post the next day once I emailed them as to discovery. Further to that clean and smart, a pleasant place to stay

Helpful?
Thank Che R
BritanniaManagement, General Manager at The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Mrs Robinson. You are most welcome and thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us at The Britannia. Hope to see you again in the future, thanks once again. More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fantastic modern comfortable spacious rooms and excellent customer service throughout with a wide range of facilities for all the family excellent pub.

Helpful?
Thank Kersys
BritanniaManagement, General Manager at The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your great review! We hope you will choose to stay with us again at The Britannia in the future. More 

St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a really good early tea at The Britannia Inn. We had our meal before it became too noisy but it was cheerful and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Sandra F
BritanniaManagement, General Manager at The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review on he Britannia Inn. Lovely to hear you felt the food was good and that the atmosphere was cheerful and friendly. We very much hope that you will visit us again soon. More 

St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went here for a pre arranged birthday party, everyone ordered in advance, most guests were disappointed with the quality and quantity of the food. I had steak and chips, small steak, not enough chips and basically just not happy with what I had. Given it was arranged so far in advance would have expected better.

Helpful?
Thank 1karen8592
BritanniaManagement, General Manager at The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant, responded to this review

We are so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your meal. We have managed to contact the lady who arranged the evening, as we do not like customers to leave here having had a bad experience. She was most positive about the evening and thought the food was excellent. We do hope you will consider coming again yourself... More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped here for a roast dinner after visiting par market. Carvery was either small or large, small was a ridiculously small plate, for 8.95 it should have been bigger. Large was a standard size plate that most carveries do as normal. Staff well dressed but seemed to be a little unorganised. Would I go again? Yes, I probably would.

Helpful?
Thank Gayl M
BritanniaManagement, General Manager at The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Gayl, Thank you for providing us with your review and we have taken your constructive points on board also. We hope that you will choose to pop in again in the future. More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Give a miss if after a cosy Cornish inn. Part sports bar, part chain pub. Generous portions if you are hungry. Lads out to watch the footy on both sides of the bar.

Helpful?
Thank philipbennett25
BritanniaManagement, General Manager at The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Britannia Inn. We try very hard to appeal to various ages, from the young to the more mature. We do have our popular Lounge Bar, situated next to our main bar, which offers a more cosier feel, with two fires and traditional pub decor. It is great to hear you feel... More 

St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2017

I should have written this before sorry for leaving it so long. Friends and I went for a Christmas meal at waves, I had contacted the before hand as I have dietary problems. The meal I was offered was excellent, I usually have to settle for second best but this was no second best. In fact this was the best... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angela W
BritanniaManagement, General Manager at The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant, responded to this review

Such lovely comments to read, thank you for taking the time to review the Britannia Inn. We are so pleased you enjoyed your Christmas meal with us and that our staff looked after you well, we will make sure your comments are passed on. We do hope you will consider us this Christmas, if not before. More 

St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2017

We had a golden wedding celebration and we had Excellent food, top drawer service, nothing too much trouble. We have also eaten there by ourselves and had no complaints.

Helpful?
Thank Phyllis C
BritanniaManagement, General Manager at The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review of the Britannia Inn. It is lovely to hear that you had a wonderful evening here with us, and we thank you for choosing us as your venue for your special occasion. We hope to see you here again soon. More 

Travellers who viewed The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant also viewed

St Austell, Cornwall
St Austell, Cornwall
 

Been to The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 10 - US$ 32
Cuisine
Seafood, British, Pub, Grill, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: St. Austell Road, Par, St Austell PL24 2SL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  St Austell  >  Par
  • Phone Number: +44 1726 812889

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Plymouth, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?