We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mossbacks

₹₹ - ₹₹₹American, ,
371 Northwest Catawba Road, Put in Bay, OH
+1 419-285-8888
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good34%
  • Average10%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“late night” (2 reviews)
“walleye” (31 reviews)
“pierogies” (17 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
American, Bar, Pub
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
371 Northwest Catawba Road, Put in Bay, OH
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This place was recommended to us for a quiet spot away from all the drinking on the island. I'm glad we stopped here. The bartender was awesome. We orderes some finger food and everything was great. I will stop back next I visit the island.

Thank David S
MBFBGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Mossbacks, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are so glad you enjoyed your visit. Please come again soon!!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Love Mossbacks! Fantastic food, we have never had anything but a great meal here. Drinks are good as well. Staff is great. It can get busy at dinner time, but worth the wait. We usually eat here every time we are on the island (which...More

Thank southerncanuck
MBFBGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Mossbacks, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Southerncanuck, We really appreciate your kind words! We look forward to serving you again.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful staff! We came in for a quick bite. We weren't too hungry so had the pierogie appetizer and a piece of cake. The staff, especially our waiter made us feel welcome and took a special request from my husband without hesitation. Would definitely recommend.

Thank Susie10000
MBFBGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Mossbacks, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Susie, We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to our restaurant. We will pass your kind words on to our wait staff! Please come see us again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We've been here a number of Times over the years. The food is consistently decent. Guys had wings this time which they said will particularly good. I had a Caesar salad with perch. The perch was perfect and the salad was good but lots of...More

Thank skm4444
MBFBGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Mossbacks, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Skm4444, Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us, and your kind words. We will let Anthony know you paid him a great complement!!

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is usually our first stop for dinner on our trip to the islands! You can't go wrong with the cajun walleye bites!

Thank Tammi S
MBFBGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Mossbacks, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Tammi, Thanks so much for your kind words! Please visit again soon!!

Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

A must stop for the best perch on the island and they can cook it up in many different ways! The bartender makes his own drink of the day and it never disappoints. Even the locals will tell you this is the best place to...More

1  Thank OliverQueen11
MBFBGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Mossbacks, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

OliverQueen11, Thanks so much for sharing your kind words about Mossbacks! Please come see us again soon.

Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Food here is very good and the portions are pretty large as well. It is a bit pricey but many things are since it's an island. Still worth a visit at least for lunch or dinner

Thank Martinkfromcleveland
MBFBGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Mossbacks, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Hi there Martin! Thanks much for stopping in, we hope to see you again very soon!!

Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Went there for breakfast ordered a simple two over medium eggs bacon potatoes and toast. Service was slow, eggs were over cooked. Tap water had a metallic taste. Menu was limited for breakfast choices. Would recommend going somewhere else.More

Thank Normajean1937
MBFBGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Mossbacks, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Normajean, We are so sorry breakfast wasn't served the way you had hoped. We hope you are kind enough to stop in again to try our fabulous lunch and dinner menu. If by chance your order is not right, or if you are unhappy with...More

Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

I only eat shellfish and only try fish off someone else's plate but the walleye bites are fantastic!!! The are a must try if you come to the island!

Thank Foodexpert8652
MBFBGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Mossbacks, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

We are so glad you enjoyed them! I'm not going to lie, no matter how our chef prepares the walleye, it is simply fantastic. We hope you stop in and see us again soon, and thanks for your kind words.

Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

Had a wonderful much needed breakfast here after a very late night of celebrating our bachelorette. Pierogis and bratwurst if you'd like. Great service and delicious food!

Thank rndenise37
MBFBGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Mossbacks, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Mdenise37, Enjoy the rest of your time on the Island, and thanks for stopping in!!!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Pasquales Cafe
292 reviews
.18 km away
Old Forge Cafe and Creperie
231 reviews
.16 km away
The Boardwalk
352 reviews
.12 km away
Hooligans
254 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
Perry's Victory & International Peace Memorial
675 reviews
.70 km away
Put-in-Bay Winery
178 reviews
.12 km away
Butterfly House
174 reviews
1.09 km away
Heineman Winery
370 reviews
.97 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
tfrank9126
26 January 2015|
Answer
Response from MossbacksFishbowl |
We actually purchased those from a company who no longer makes them. We can tell you that is was fried asiago cheese and black olives. We hope that helps!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
American, Bar, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, View, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 22:00
Monday
10:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 22:00
Thursday
10:00 - 22:00
Friday
10:00 - 22:00
Saturday
10:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 371 Northwest Catawba Road, Put in Bay, OH
  • Location: United States  >  Ohio (OH)  >  Put in Bay
  • Phone Number: +1 419-285-8888
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing