We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Canbury Arms

₹₹ - ₹₹₹British, ,
49 Canbury Park Road, Kingston upon Thames KT2 6LQ, England
+44 20 8255 9129
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good31%
  • Average16%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“pie” (16 reviews)
“scotch egg” (14 reviews)
“haggis” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, Gastropub, Bar, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
49 Canbury Park Road, Kingston upon Thames KT2 6LQ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 296 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a wonderful luncheon here to celebrate my mother-in laws birthday. Food and service was exceptional. My only negative comment would be that atmosphere was slightly lacking - perhaps some music? However do not let this deter you from trying this place out. Definitely recommending...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Charlotte S, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your kind words. I'm so pleased you enjoyed the food and service. We have had a couple of suggestions for music recently and we are considering having music in the pub. We have many customers who prefer it without but...More

Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

The staff and food at this pretty pub are amazing. It is just lacking in atmosphere and we feel at the very least they desperately need to put on some background music, it would make a world of difference. We will be back for the...More

Thank BreeKing
Charlotte S, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks so much for your feedback and delighted you enjoyed our food and service. The music topic is like marmite! Love it or hate it. For 12 years we have had no music, we are almost known for it, the majority of our customers don't...More

Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

Simply amazing service and food quality ! Service very quick and efficient. Will be back for sure, do try the hummus !!!!

Thank Alexandra M
Charlotte S, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you Alexandra. It is a real pleasure to hear from a customer who is genuinely happy with their visit and has taken the trouble to write such kind words, many thanks. Hope to see you again soon. Charlotte & Michael

Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

Local pub with good service and lovely food, we had the roast! Lots of tables to choose from outside or in. Even my favourite still cider, will definitely be returning

Thank Kathy A
Charlotte S, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thanks for your review, thanks for your support, it's really appreciated. Is it the Flat Tyre cider with rhubarb you like? It's really popular and a great drink to sip outside on a sunny day. See you again soon. Charlotte and Michael

Reviewed 11 July 2017

This used to be a genuine gastropub now it is a mediocre pub, with very overpriced poor quality food. The owner really disinterested in getting polite feedback. Peas like bullets, old chips and very poor service. Will definitely not visit despite living in the neighbourhoodMore

Thank cindyhQ1065QA
Charlotte S, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Thanks for your feedback and to contextualise your review, you arrived at our pub at 5pm when our kitchen was closed and I spoke to you in person and made certain you were aware of this. Your food order was put through to the kitchen...More

Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

Came for a drink before dinner here this week and was shocked at the price of one large glass of Sauvignon - over £9!! The meal was good, though, with attentive service, giving me time to get over their extortionate prices for wine (in the...More

Thank Ros S
Charlotte S, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

We're delighted you enjoyed your meal with us, but sorry that you were surprised by the price of the wine. As you can imagine the cost covers not only the price of the wine but everything else that contributes to bringing that glass to your...More

Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

Dined here a long time ago and was tempted back via a leaflet drop with an offer. The service was friendly, welcoming, attentive and efficient. The food was really very good. I had the fish & chips, the fish was so well cooked and the...More

Thank Mmm_Spicy
Charlotte S, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

It is great to read your review, your appreciation is a wonderful thing! We sent out the leaflet offer so we could reach out to past, present and new customers. It has been successful and rewarding to get feedback from our postcard and it's just...More

Reviewed 26 June 2017

I have excellent memories of meals at the Canbury Arms in its glory days six or seven years ago. I remember especially the scallops with black pudding and the slow-roasted pork belly: things of beauty, both of them. So I was particularly disappointed when we...More

Thank Secondbass
Charlotte S, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Thank you for your feedback. Having been at the Canbury for 12 years we have served many meals and drinks to many people. Even in the days when you came to us we had some customers complaining about prices, ie the scallops around £10 as...More

Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile

We booked a Friday night table based on the pictures on trip Advisor and the reviews. If there weren't also pictures of the place itself I'd be convinced we had actually gone to the wrong place. The service was appalling, we waited 15 mins for...More

Thank pompeyjo
Charlotte S, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Thanks for your review. I am truly sorry to note the disappointment in your review. It is a such a shame you had to wait so long for your drink to arrive, there was a queue at the bar and it was one of the...More

Reviewed 14 June 2017

Great menu with tasty food and great snacks too... good service and location... welcoming and good atmosphere... all recommended ..been many times

1  Thank 1953nigel
Charlotte S, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Your review is delightful. It is so warming to read that you continue to enjoy our place so much. We are basically a back street pub trying to do a great job, thank you for supporting us, it means so much. Charlotte and Michael

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Cappadocia
650 reviews
.33 km away
Obon Sushi & Udon
140 reviews
.29 km away
The Grey Horse - Smok'd Restaurant
130 reviews
.29 km away
Prezzo - Kingston-upon-Thames
202 reviews
.29 km away
Nearby Attractions
"Out of Order" by David Mach
224 reviews
.37 km away
Rose Theatre Kingston
182 reviews
.91 km away
Riverside Walk
40 reviews
.85 km away
All Saints Church
78 reviews
.74 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
mgt09
19 August 2017|
Answer
Response from Charlotte S | Property representative |
Hi Apologies if this is a late reply I'm on holiday at present. We have a ramp which can be used as needed, unfortunately we don't have a dedicated disabled toilet. Our staff are more than willing to help make your visit as... More
1
Vote

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Kingston upon Thames

Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 7 - US$ 28
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
09:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:00
Thursday
09:00 - 23:00
Friday
09:00 - 23:00
Saturday
09:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 49 Canbury Park Road, Kingston upon Thames KT2 6LQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater London  >  Kingston upon Thames
  • Phone Number: +44 20 8255 9129
  • E-mail
Description
We are a Gastropub serving great homemade food, outstanding wines and superb real ales, service is second to none. Our style is relaxed but professional, we are independent and proud, committed to our community and embracing of all our cutomers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing