We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Canbury Arms

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
British, Gastropub, Bar, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
49 Canbury Park Road, Kingston upon Thames KT2 6LQ, England
+44 20 8255 9129
Website
Today
09:00 - 23:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 09:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

260 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 257: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went after a local school event for a bite to eat and some food. Service at the Bar was attentive and also at the table. Not a vast selection of Beer, but a good mix all the same and well kept. Asked for a taster before buying and there was no hesitation. The Burger though was the highlight of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stuart H
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have been going to this dog friendly pub restaurant for the past 5years.last night the service was non existent and the meal was very disappointing so salty barely edible certainly a new chef/owners as they have also stopped Saturday breakfast which is a loss

Helpful?
1 Thank cindyhQ1065QA
CSKingston, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this review

I'm so sorry to hear about your dissatisfying visit. The pub was full on Friday night with a good solid team on duty. The chef Michael Mannion is fairly new to us, is an amazing chef and we've heard nothing but praise for his cooking. We always check back on our customers to ask if everything was ok and on... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Disappointing, not fresh.... reheating curry from yesterday or day before it Only £6 but seriously should not be serving this:(

Helpful?
3 Thank Alan L
CSKingston, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this review

Sorry you didn't like the curry. £6 is a fair price for a lentil, pumpkin and green bean curry with basmati rice, 2 poddadums and home made mango chutney. We start cooking at 10 in the morning so all food is fresh it just may be reheated at the time it is served, curry for example is not cooked fresh... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2016

A little pretentious maybe? nice enough place, but keeping out the hoi polloi with elevated prices. Strangest 'Classic Scotch egg' that's ever troubled my palate as although nicely put together was suffused with overpowering chilli hit- not a classic addition to any scotch egg that I've ever had before. £13.50 for a burger and skinny fries, no matter how much... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nigel E
CSKingston, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Unfortunately our beer comes through Enterprise Inns who we are tied to as they own the building, they massively inflate their prices to us, as an independent we absorb as much as we can without passing it on to the customer. Kind regards Charlotte More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2016

fantastic pub. great food, great service and nice ambience. No loud music!!!! Best for miles around. Come here often! Miss the maths student who was a real asset to the establishment. However, all staff great.

Helpful?
Thank ldjones186338
CSKingston, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this review

Wonderful, thanks so much! All our staff are great and we had to say farewell to Jaz after 5 years part time with us which in our business is exceptional, she'll be back as a customer no doubt! See you again soon. Charlotte More 

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016

Fantastic pub with a great food (especially the burger) and very friendly staff, I will be returning! I strongly recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank burgerboy2016
CSKingston, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this review

Well thank you for such lovely feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back again. Charlotte More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2016

My wife and I held our wedding reception in this pub last sunday,Laura and her team catered for our 16 guests admireably and no one was neglected,even with a pub full of sunday diners.We were given excellent hot food good choice,exceptional service,the tables were prepared just as my wife wanted...... to a high standard and all the nick nacks included!!... More 

Helpful?
Thank mick h
CSKingston, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this review

Thanks for your super feedback. Laura and the team had a great time looking after you and luckily the cake episode was not a disaster, we try to go above and beyond. We look forward to seeing you again soon, we hope married life is bliss. Team Canbury x More 

Kingston upon thames,, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

The lunchtime menu is expensive. The portions are tiny. The food was very bland as well. The atmosphere is dead. Couldn't wait to get out of there. Won't be rushing to go back. Lots of better places in kingston.

Helpful?
Thank Lisa O
CSKingston, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this review

I am sorry you were disappointed with you recent visit. I hope you find somewhere that fits the bill for you, clearly the Canbury Arms isn't that place, sorry! Best wishes Charlotte and Michael More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

We liked the food here so much, we went back a week later and it was just as good. Menu had changed but the standard was still high and we were spoilt for choice. This is quality food at a reasonable price.

Helpful?
Thank caroconti
CSKingston, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review. We are keen to keep the menu fresh, some our customers come so regularly they like variety but with the constant inclusion of our core classics as the burger or fish and chips. See you again soon. Charlotte More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2016

My wife, my daughter and I had lunch here on Sunday last, as it was convenient for Richmond Park. We started with hummus, deep-fried squid and olives followed by 3 roast beef dinners. We were impressed by the quality of the food, especially the beef sirloin. Our only minor complaint was that the service was a little hit and miss,... More 

Helpful?
Thank gerard g
CSKingston, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your positive and informative review. We're glad you enjoyed our hospitality but sorry your service wasn't quite up to scratch. We will pass on your feedback to the team on Sunday and review where we can make improvements, we have had a couple of new members of staff join us recently so possibly that may have... More 

Travellers who viewed The Canbury Arms also viewed

Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
 
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
 
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
 

Been to The Canbury Arms? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 6 - US$ 27
Cuisine
British, Gastropub, Bar, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Business meetings, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
09:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:00
Thursday
09:00 - 23:00
Friday
09:00 - 23:00
Saturday
09:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 49 Canbury Park Road, Kingston upon Thames KT2 6LQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater London  >  Kingston upon Thames
  • Phone Number: +44 20 8255 9129
Description
We are a Gastropub serving great homemade food, outstanding wines and superb real ales, service is second to none. Our style is relaxed but professional, we are independent and proud, committed to our community and embracing of all our cutomers.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Canbury Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?