We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wheatsheaf

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British,
19 West Street, Farnham GU9 7DR, England
+44 1252 717135
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good28%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“burger” (26 reviews)
“fish and chips” (16 reviews)
“sunday roast” (13 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
19 West Street, Farnham GU9 7DR, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

I come in for a meal with my family and food was really really good! And was fantastic customer service! Felt very welcomed!

Thank Jessica D
Reviewed 4 days ago

Went for dinner on Friday and was extremely disappointed with the food. The confit duck was so hard it could have broken through brick. It was replaced with the duck breast special which was ok, but the peppercorn sauce was exactly the same as the...More

Thank DianaMcR
Joe S, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi DianaMcR, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, I'am very disappointed to read that our usual standard of quality fresh food which you have experienced several times before were not met on this occasion. We always try to fix any...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We came for a family lunch with our 22months old son amazing costumer service and very tasty food! My husband loved bacon , brie, canberry sandwich it was absolutly awesome! He said he never ever eat better! The staff was very kind and helpful. I...More

Thank Janka M
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Called in for lunch on a cold day, fires were lit and it was lovely and warm. We were greated by a lovely member of staff who sat us next to the fire. I had the bacon and brie sandwich it was delicious one of...More

1  Thank Alison W
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Came in for a belated valentines meal, started with G&T’s in the heated garden and we had the special Duck and special Cod. Excellent atmosphere with ‘candle’ lit tables, great selection of drinks and friendly staff

Thank Josh W
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went there for lunch. The bread for the sandwiches /soup was dry and about an 1” thick. Bacon, Brie and cranberry was cold - had never been heated. Pudding was good. Waitress service poor and it was freezing in there!! Will not be returning.More

Thank JANE B
Joe S, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi JANE B, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review after your last visit. I am very sorry to to hear about your experience and I would very much like to talk to you regarding the issues you had.Please could you...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I like the Wheatsheaf which sits in a niche between outright pub dining and something more formal. Great, pleasant and polite staff, good food and plentiful portions. All at a reasonable price.

Thank markms0
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well it was OK. Unless you are a vegetarian. Why make your veggie starters with either camembert or goat's cheese (baked goat's cheese, mezze board with warmed goat's cheese, baked camembert) and then offer veggie main courses with, er, brie or goat's cheese (brie quiche,...More

Thank HilsD
Joe S, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi HilsD, thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback from your previous visit. I am very sorry to hear we were unbale to cater for your needs on this occasion. I will certainly be taking your feedback into consideration come our...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

bad beer, not very good service and pricey with it. No atmosphere, my brother and I went there for my birthday, we got our beer and went outside to drink as it was a hot summers evening. We both drank about a third and left...More

Thank phards907
Joe S, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Phards907, I’m very sorry to hear about your experience at the Wheatsheaf. We pride ourselves on a friendly, efficient service with exceptional beers and feel our pricing is in line with competitors for our unique offering of different beers. We are regularly complimented on...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great food, central location and best of all is the service - second to none! great team that shine! Keep up the good work.

1  Thank Exploratoration
PreviousNext
12345652
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Farnham
The Bishops Table
118 reviews
.08 km away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
684 reviews
.31 km away
Premier Inn Farnham
222 reviews
1.43 km away
Farnham House Hotel
301 reviews
2.62 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Cote Brasserie - Farnham
959 reviews
.11 km away
Cafe Piccolo
340 reviews
.17 km away
The Queens Head
249 reviews
.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
Farnham Castle
255 reviews
.36 km away
Farnham Park
111 reviews
.28 km away
Waverley Abbey
109 reviews
1.20 km away
Farnham Maltings
113 reviews
.36 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
AnnaRJones
22 March 2015|
Answer
Response from Amy C | Property representative |
Hi Anna, Thank you for getting in touch. This is common practise in all of our pubs, it is a redeemable deposit that we ask to secure large parties. This is firstly to protect the booking but also a safety measure, for... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 7 - US$ 28
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 19 West Street, Farnham GU9 7DR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Farnham
  • Phone Number: +44 1252 717135
Description
Under new management and now serving fresh, seasonal dishes cooked by passionate chefs. Food is locally sourced wherever possible and served in a welcoming and friendly environment.We serve a great pint of local ale too!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing