We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Spread Eagle

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, , British
Church Road | Burton on Trent, Rolleston-on-Dove DE13 9BE, England
+44 1283 813004
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good29%
  • Average16%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“pudding” (21 reviews)
“sunday roast” (5 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Gastropub, Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Church Road | Burton on Trent, Rolleston-on-Dove DE13 9BE, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Had a meal here while staying at Dovecliff hall. It’s about 35 min walk from the hall. Had a good quality meal. Nothing was too much trouble. Staff helpful and very friendly. Would definitely go again.

Thank Glutenfreebob
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

popped to the spread on lovely sunny evening £8.70 for two pints of draught cider ... we both ordered fish and chips came with 10 chips each cold mushy peas and zero Tatar sauce ....extremely underwhelming also fish tasteless flat and looked froze....love the location...More

1  Thank lynneh110
Reviewed 6 days ago

Booked a table at the Spread Eagle for a meal after a family wedding. Service at the bar was efficient, and we needed to add 1 to our party which was not a problem for them. Waiter gave us enough time to choose our mains,...More

1  Thank Mollieowls
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went for a late Sunday lunch, we had scallops to start and roast dinners for mains. The scallops starter, well I think they used one scallop per serving, I have never seen such thin scallops before...what was there was tasty but it was three really...More

1  Thank rpops
General Manager A, Manager at The Spread Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are disappointed to learn of your experience here at The Spread Eagle, but will take this opportunity to improve.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We popped over around 3pm on 12th may just for a bit to eat with our 2 children. My parnter had the steak and mushroom pie which was cold and the mash had a skin on top. Set it back wait a bit for it....More

1  Thank Jessica C
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Spread is a regular haunt for us. Tonight was our first visit since the makeover. The place feels brighter, not as gloomy. Very busy, most tables were full, food was the usual standard, well cooked and decent portions and the staff were well presented...More

Thank Dave H
General Manager A, Manager at The Spread Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dave H, thank you so much for the positive review!

Reviewed 1 week ago

On way to the Peak District we had to change our route as the M1 was closed and were again redirected following an accident on the A511. As the traffic was quite heavy we decided to stop for an early lunch at The Spread Eagle...More

Thank Ellie H
General Manager A, Manager at The Spread Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We appreciate your positive review about your recent experience with us!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went for a family meal at the spread a week ago, the atmosphere was thriving and the food was amazing. The service was very good even though it was busy so we expected a bit of a wait but was updated with all the times...More

Thank alice p
General Manager A, Manager at The Spread Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We appreciate your positive review about your recent experience with us!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Spent a nice afternoon with friends in the lovely garden at The Spread having booked an early evening table for dinner. Unfortunately the main meals and puddings were really poor. Very bland over cooked burgers, dry ham with over cooked eggs. When we asked for...More

Thank Gillian C
General Manager A, Manager at The Spread Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Gillian C, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We popped into the Spread Eagle to see what it was like as we are looking to move to the village. We only had drinks-no food- but service was friendly and the pub was busy. They are closing for a refurb anytime soon so it...More

1  Thank AnnieM452
General Manager A, Manager at The Spread Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We appreciate your positive review about your recent experience with us!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Rolleston-on-Dove Hotels
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
455 reviews
2.22 km away
Ye Olde Dog & Partridge
265 reviews
2.65 km away
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Central Hotel
294 reviews
4.09 km away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
474 reviews
4.69 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Gorkha Palace
33 reviews
2.65 km away
The Kings Head
35 reviews
3.00 km away
The Jinnie
214 reviews
.92 km away
Nearby Attractions
Tutbury Castle
252 reviews
2.87 km away
Claymills Victorian Pumping Station
220 reviews
3.21 km away
Mimi spa
5 reviews
5.00 km away
Chatterbox Ceramic Cafe
21 reviews
2.65 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Pauline S
15 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from davidlear681928 | Reviewed this property |
Don't know sorry
0
Votes
Tourist4753
14 April 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from barcelona504150 | Reviewed this property |
not sure 3 of us went bedfore Xmas thought it was expensive for a pub. nearly 80 pounds 1 bottle of wine. Christina
0
Votes
bryanC5
8 September 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from MJI_9 | Reviewed this property |
I didn't know I had said that in the review...
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 9 - US$ 34
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Highchairs Available, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Church Road | Burton on Trent, Rolleston-on-Dove DE13 9BE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Staffordshire  >  Rolleston-on-Dove
  • Phone Number: +44 1283 813004
Description
The Spread Eagle is a beautiful pub, set in the chocolate box village of Rolleston on Dove. The building is a piece of living history. Established in 1651 it is one of the oldest buildings in Rolleston. By coming to The Spread Eagle you'll be experiencing a piece of British history and culture as well being able to enjoy our delicious menu and wide selection of cask ales, lagers, ciders, spirits and wines. During the winter, the warmth from our open fires will keep you warm and create an atmosphere which can not be recreated, and in the summer you can sit in our fantastic beer garden. Enjoying a late afternoon drink or an Al fresco meal whilst listening to the river dove trickle by. During weeknights we have our evening set menu which is 2 courses for £11.95, From 5pm. Every Wednesday is also Pie Day at The Spread Eagle, each week we offer a selection of 6 tasty pies served with a medley of vegetables and your choice of potatoes or chips. On Saturday you can treat yourself with our brilliant Steak and Supper menu, a 3 course fillet steak meal for just £25. We also have a children's menu for the little ones in your party as well providing superb Sunday roasts, every Sunday. We're looking forward to seeing you, from everyone at The Spread Eagle.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;