We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Toby Carvery

Ninth Avenue, Burton upon Trent DE14 3JZ, England
+44 1283 561732
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good25%
  • Average19%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“stuffing” (8 reviews)
“sunday roast” (8 reviews)
“pudding” (22 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Ninth Avenue, Burton upon Trent DE14 3JZ, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

The order of service at the Toby breakfast is that you go to the payment desk, order your drinks then pay for your drinks and your breakfast up front. I think it is about £4.50 for an all you can eat hot breakfast. Sausages, back...More

Thank joy l
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked a table for 6.15 pm and arrived just before and made welcome at the door and taken to table. For a Wednesday night at this time was busy. The only small complaint was Pork and beef joints down to small end bits, but did...More

Thank davestretton
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Reviews like this give us motivation and help us ensure we provide high-quality care. we shall ensure we pass all our lovely comments onto our team. We hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards Toby Carvery Burton

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ok food is what it is, it was nice, filling and did the job, a quick roast dinner on the way home from a family day out. I don’t like to leave bad reviews but, and to me this is a rather large but.... we...More

Thank amanda b
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Amanda b thank you for your feedback about your recent visit to toby carvery Burton. we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed by your visit with regards to the refill machine. we shall ensure instances like this do not happen again but thank...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Arrive around 5pm and only about 15 customers there. Service at the table was fine but the carvery itself was disappointing. All the food was very dry and it was clear that it had been under the heat lamp for some time. The mash potatoes...More

1  Thank Paul H
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Paul H, Thank you for your recent visit to us at Tony Carvery Burton. we are sorry to hear that your visit was not that of a positive one. We are disappointed to hear that the food was not up to our usual standards and...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My second less than satisfactory visit. It used to be fine, never great, but what one expected from a carvery chain.. Now, service is grudging and food is poor. Quality of meat has deteriorated. No real interest in customer feedback. Avoid.

Thank David A
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

David. we are sorry to hear your visit was not a positive one. having read your comments all issues have been raised for improvements. Kind regards Toby Carvery Burton

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After a long flight after half term, landed at Brum airport and on way up the A38 our kids were hungry so we decided to stop off here. Our local Toby is decent, so took a chance and stopped here for much needed food. On...More

Thank Andy N
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Andy N, thank your feedback. we are disappointed to hear that your visit was a negative one. we have read and are retraining staff members in question with the points you have raised. We are sorry to hear you were not satisfied with the meat...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Loved the food and loved the way they gave you the crackling from the pork. The choice of vegetables was very good as were the gravy and other sauces. Staff were pleasant and not invasive. Always with this type of restaurant the food is not...More

Thank Turbohub4
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your high star rating. we are so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Toby Carvery Burton

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I think this is one of the best locations I've visited so far, it however was not very busy when we visited around 5pm on a Thursday I can't imagine why though all the food was piping hot and the staff very friendly and attentive...More

Thank statesidesignman
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your recent feedback. We are so glad to hear your visit was a positive one and you thoroughly enjoyed it. thank you for all your kind comments I shall ensure these are passed onto all the team. We hope to...More

Reviewed 6 November 2017

I have never had a bad carvery meal here. For £6.49 you can have a roast meal with as many vegetables and potatoes as you can eat. The beef is always always super tender and their gravy is delicious. The staff are pleasant and are...More

2  Thank joy l
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Joy, thank you so much for all your lovely comments. we are so glad to hear that thoroughly enjoyed your visit. I shall ensure all your comments are passed onto our team. Again thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback and...More

Reviewed 27 October 2017

Staying at the Premier Inn nearby, we had dinner here on a busy(ish) Wednesday night. Good choice of meat (4) and veg was tasty and fresh. Under £50 for 4 of us including puddings and drinks. Great value.More

Thank Cymro-in-Reading
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at Toby Carvery Burton. We're happy we could meet your expectations! Again thank you again for taking the time to leave us this review W hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Pascal at The Old Vicarage
752 reviews
.46 km away
The Bridge Inn Branston
240 reviews
.68 km away
The Pavilion at Branston Golf & Country Club
57 reviews
.98 km away
The Blacksmiths Arms
76 reviews
.42 km away
Nearby Attractions
National Forest Adventure Farm
699 reviews
2.34 km away
Mimi spa
5 reviews
3.07 km away
The National Brewery Centre
493 reviews
3.11 km away
Whiteswan Walton
56 reviews
3.50 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Del-&-Mags
9 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from ginantonic | Reviewed this property |
Yes mate And traffic lights
1
Vote
sarahgertie
23 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Smithdryfus | Reviewed this property |
I honestly don't know but wouldn't of thought so, maybe call before you go x
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 8 - US$ 16
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Ninth Avenue, Burton upon Trent DE14 3JZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Staffordshire  >  Burton upon Trent
  • Phone Number: +44 1283 561732
  • E-mail
Description
Welcome to the Toby Carvery Burton. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings - including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Burton's favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing