We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Neptune Fish Restaurant

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
3 Seafield Road, Seahouses NE68 7SJ, England
+44 1665 721310
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,015 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,013: English reviews
sheffield
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Called for lunch last Sunday. Visited several times before so we knew/hoped it would be as good as the last time. It was. Good quality fish and a good sized portion with chips and peas. Lovely. It is a cafe but it is very clean and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Looking forward to the next visit,

Helpful?
Thank SheffieldLainie
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We popped into the takeaway side for a poke of chips @ £1.60 each. The portion was very small and the chips barely warm. The young man serving us was very offhand and ignored me when I commented on the size of the portion. We've eaten in the restaurant before now and enjoyed our meals, but today's put us off... More 

Helpful?
Thank GrannieCath
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I visited Neptune Fish Restaurant on the 18th of March with a group of friends on a day trip to Seahouses from Springhill Caravan Park. The restaurant was busy, but that didn't affect the standard of service. As soon as we were served (you have to get up and order at the counter) the food was quick to arrive. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank reviewscet
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Called here today for fish and chips first time and Iast time... Should I say the mature lady who served me was not pleasant at all... I placed my order then was told to wait at the other side. I stood for at least 10 minutes for our food but that was not a problem as my fish was being... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dolly131
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We regularly visit North East England and without fail drive the coastal route to Seahouses to eat at Neptune. It has consistently and over many years been our favourite fish restaurant. The fish is large, as fresh as it gets and cooked to absolute perfection. The staff are friendly and efficient and we can get our 90 year old aunts... More 

Helpful?
Thank 458terencew
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just arrived in the area today. After a walk on the beach at Beadnell we fancied some fish and chips. Parking awkward in Seahouses and dig in tow meant a take out. Great fish , chips and mushy peas. Really enjoyed them.

Helpful?
Thank AJBwf4
Gavin G, Manager at Neptune Fish Restaurant, responded to this review

Many thanks, glad you enjoyed! More 

Northants
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were going to eat at Pinnacles but they were closed despite advertising they were open till​ 7pm, so we went across the road to Neptunes and had a lovely meal. Cod chips, mushy peas, curry sauce with bread and butter ...Yum!

Helpful?
Thank Sophietuft
Gavin G, Manager at Neptune Fish Restaurant, responded to this review

Glad we didn't disappoint, thanks! More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited as we were looking for somewhere to go for lunch. We ordered a take away so we could sit out side and it looked very popular. Queued up and ordered. We had to wait and the lady shouted so we thought it was ours. She then shouted back saying it wasn't ours, she knew what our order was and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
Gavin G, Manager at Neptune Fish Restaurant, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed the food but obviously disappointed your overall experience wasn't good. We are usually praised for the friendly nature of our staff so this is something I will look into and deal with as necessary. More 

Yardley Gobion, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very disappointed that the chips were not fresh cut! At the seaside, come on! The fish was greasy too. Wouldn't recommend & won't be returning. Owners: Please consider what you are dishing up here hey???

Helpful?
Thank MissMollyPippin
Gavin G, Manager at Neptune Fish Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments but I can assure you our chips are freshly prepared on a daily basis - at a loss how they could be mistaken as anything else. More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We called for a takeaway but then decided to treat ourselves and eat in the restaurant. We had a delicious meal of fish chips mushy peas and bread and butter. All washed down with a pot of tea. Staff were friendly, the food was lovely and we would definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank dianeb183
Gavin G, Manager at Neptune Fish Restaurant, responded to this review

Glad to have served you such a satisfying meal, many thanks. More 

Travellers who viewed Neptune Fish Restaurant also viewed

Seahouses, Northumberland
Seahouses, Northumberland
 
Seahouses, Northumberland
Seahouses, Northumberland
 

Been to Neptune Fish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Seafood, Fast food, British, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Cheap Eats, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3 Seafield Road, Seahouses NE68 7SJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Seahouses
  • Phone Number: +44 1665 721310

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Neptune Fish Restaurant and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
5 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Neptune Fish Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?