We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Coffee Tavern

34 Market Place, Oundle PE8 4BE, England
+44 1832 272524
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good32%
  • Average11%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“cheesy chips” (2 reviews)
“poached eggs” (3 reviews)
“baguette” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
34 Market Place, Oundle PE8 4BE, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If ever you need a toasted bacon sandwich, look no further. They are the best for miles around. Heartly recommended.

1  Thank Jan P
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

Friendly and efficient service as always. This cafe is one to try if you’re passing through Oundle and need a cuppa.

1  Thank MrWinstonWolf
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Two to walk in on a miserable cold morning as we detoured through Oundle to see what’s here. This coffee house looked friendly, and has 5 for hygiene. I care about those green stickers! Friendly service, coffee arrived super quickly. Excellent presentation with real sausages....More

1  Thank thewhiteheadfamily
Reviewed 5 March 2018

On 2 floors there is plenty of seating and different size tables (we were a group of 6). Food is ordered at the counter and arrived quickly. This was breakfast and the eggs arrived runny. Good bacon and sausages and soft floury baps.

Thank Alex N
Reviewed 28 November 2017

9am . The room was very cold. All the customers wore coats, scarves and gloves as it was that chilly. Can't they put the heating on sooner? Poached eggs were fine but the toast was too soggy. Coffee was good. There are better cafes in...More

Thank jcs12
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

Popped in Saturday morning the staff were friendly and helpful, I ordered a large latte and breakfast my wife had tea and a bacon omelette. The coffee was nice and mellow and the food arrived which was freshly cooked and locally sourced. There are no...More

1  Thank waggers100
Reviewed 1 November 2017

Can someone explain to me, as to what policy determines, that this coffee shop, is not allowed to melt cheese on jacket potatoes or even cheesy chips, cannot say that would like cold cheese on my chips.More

1  Thank Dante W
Beata R, Owner at The Coffee Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Hi Dante, I did reply to your question regarding "cheese policy" on our facebook page as you requested. But I do not mind doing it again. At The Coffee Tavern JP is served with nice fresh salad and cheese is served on the side of...More

Reviewed 30 October 2017

Nice place regularly go, never again, accused of not paying bill, when said I had, was told again I hadn't as the Bill was still in a stack of unpaid bills. I insist that I had paid to again be told I had not I...More

Thank dbickerstaff01
Beata R, Owner at The Coffee Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

I am very sorry to hear about your recent experience at The Coffee Tavern. You had been served by waitress with over 20 years of experience. Our policy is to only keep bills open at lunch time whilst providing waitress service. You arrived after lunch...More

Reviewed 27 October 2017

What a great place to eat and chat. The staff were so very helpful and the food was brilliant. Hot and fresh delivered to the table in no time at all. The cakes looked really good and the Flapjack is so tasty. The price is...More

1  Thank jean d
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

The coffee tavern has a delightful lunch menu with quite a bit of variety, ranging from sandwiches, jacket potatoes, burgers and full English breakfasts. The staff lack personality however service always has a smile.

1  Thank unigal98
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Oundle Hotels
Talbot Hotel
1,291 reviews
.15 km away
Bridge Hotel
291 reviews
10.60 km away
Travelodge Kettering Thrapston
91 reviews
10.71 km away
Sibson Inn Hotel
366 reviews
10.85 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Brew Babu
221 reviews
.11 km away
The Chequered Skipper
326 reviews
1.44 km away
Dexters Mediterranean Bar & Kitchen
316 reviews
.06 km away
Tap and Kitchen
599 reviews
.70 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lyveden
269 reviews
6.43 km away
Apethorpe Palace
8 reviews
7.58 km away
Barnwell Country Park
44 reviews
.94 km away
Nene Valley Brewery
16 reviews
.62 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Coffee Tavern staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Reservations
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Monday
8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 34 Market Place, Oundle PE8 4BE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northamptonshire  >  Oundle
  • Phone Number: +44 1832 272524
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing