We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Smugglers

The Dock, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4SJ, England
+44 1947 880099
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good18%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“surf and turf” (57 reviews)
“mussels” (72 reviews)
“seafood” (49 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, British, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
DETAILS
The Dock, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4SJ, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
Reviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 461 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Recommend the dressed crab and to follow mussels with prawns in a garlic sauce perfect. Having lived in Briitany famous for its mussels these were just as good . A wonderful taste of the sea

1  Thank Robin R
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Visited Friday evening - booked a table in advance (advisable) The place is everything expected and more! Food brilliant and staff superb! We will definitely be back. Thank you for a great evening!

1  Thank Miniviv1
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Very helpful staff. Small and quaint venue. Locally sourced food , beautifully cooked and presented. My only complaint could have been that it was a little chilly with the door open but it did not spoil our meal.

1  Thank suicre
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I have begun to be regular visitors to the smugglers . Everything is fresh and yes I can definatly say that the fish is fresh as I have seen first hand the fish being delivered. The food is delicious and we have...More

2  Thank drajab
Reviewed 1 week ago

Rude owner, cold food, outside looking? Yes it's true. Overpriced small portions. Frozen seafood, not fresh. Heard staff swearing about owner and calling customers names. We asked for a reduction but didn't get one. Think it will shut down soonMore

1  Thank Woolyman16
lisa W, Owner at Smugglers, responded to this review

A very confused reviewer! We don't sell frozen seafood, (I should know as I have to get up at the crack of dawn to let the fish man in with fresh fish!) my staff never swear, (during working hours!) and guess what ?......were not shutting...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I can't believe what reviews I am reading below with all the negativity! If you visiting Robin Hoods Bay you have to try this beautiful restaurant. We booked in advance as Robin Hoods Bay is small with only a few restaurants ,you know they are...More

1  Thank Farrar-Bone
lisa W, Owner at Smugglers, responded to this review

Thank you for you warm honest review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit and the Rubarb Gin . I look forward to your return. ( if you can't get the gin give me a call I have details of s retail supplier) Hope...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While visiting North Yorkshire, we called in at this establishment to book a table, only to be told that it was fully booked for that night. When we asked for the following evening we were told that Saturday was also booked and was for the...More

4  Thank Steve B
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked to go for a candlelit meal for two when staying in the Bay. I don't mind paying for nice food and (importantly) good service. We both ordered their 'speciality' dish - Surf and Turf and a bottle of house red; £20 a bottle. Food...More

3  Thank C G
lisa W, Owner at Smugglers, responded to this review

tut tut tut shame you can't be honest. Or maybe you were having such a wonderful time you lost track of time?! I new you would do this having received your email last week demanding compensation by way of a voucher or you would put...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped here for lunch after a 7 mile walk. I had the dressed crab and my husband had the cold meat platter. Both meals were delicious and beautifully presented.

1  Thank 111Ruth61
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I wanted to treat my family for my wife's birthday and this place looked a nice restaurant. When I enquired on Friday around 5pm I was told it was fully booked and fully booked for most of the year and including next. Is this correct...More

4  Thank steveandnupi
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Wayfarer Bistro
711 reviews
.46 km away
Fylingdales Inn
479 reviews
.92 km away
Tea,Toast and Post
205 reviews
.04 km away
The Coffee Shack
124 reviews
.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
Robin Hoods Bay Beach
234 reviews
.05 km away
The Robin Hood's Bay Ghost Walk
93 reviews
.15 km away
Coastguard Station
86 reviews
.03 km away
Muir Lea Stores
19 reviews
.08 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
andrewtayloruk
Is the venue dog friendly? Thanks Andrew
12 April 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from lisa W | Property representative |
Hello we don't take dogs into the bistro Bar whilst serving food. Hope that helps
0
Votes
prubrown
We are coming for Halloween to the Victoria and would love to come for my husbands birthday on oct. 31st for a meal. are you open and decked up and deccorated as last year? and could you send me a menu. Or send me a menu of your steaks with prices and then may we book? We would like to know quickly, then we can book our room at the Victoria.
15 October 2016|
What is your answer?
Posting guidelines
Submit
julie B
Do you allow children in your restasurant
14 July 2016|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Geoffrey1 | Reviewed this property |
Yes
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 13 - US$ 45
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Reservations, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Dock, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4SJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  North York Moors National Park  >  Robin Hood's Bay
  • Phone Number: +44 1947 880099
  • E-mail
Description
Smugglers Bistro and Bar is a candle-lit Bistro and bar. Situated just meters from the dock the smuggling history of the bay is brought to life in our wonderfully romantic restaurant. Specialising in fresh seafood and locally sourced meats we offer a range of dishes. Our cosy Bistro and wine bar offers a range on Gins and fine wines in an adult only area.