We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

General Tarleton Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Boroughbridge Road | Knaresborough Near Harrogate, Ferrensby HG5 0PZ, England
441423340284
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

342 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 341: English reviews
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
317 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It is 2013 since my last visit here as after a poor experience and so many good places to eat we have given it a wide berth. Last night we tried again and although it was much better, it is still not without issues. The starters (fish soup £8.75) and crab lasagne (£10.95) were first rate - but at those... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank XRXM
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Long established Restaurant which we have visited a dozen times or more because of the past high standard and quality of service and , of course, the food . This time it fell well short of all expectations . Unwelcoming atmosphere , scant service , overpriced and generally dull . Why ? No idea , but there is a lot... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BlueNeptune
Claire T, Owner at General Tarleton Restaurant, responded to this review

I'm really sorry to hear that your recent visit did not match your previous experiences with us. Unfortunately you don't mention when you dined which would have helped me investigate why the atmosphere and service didn't live up to our usual standard. I can only apologise sincerely and hope it won't deter you from trying us again and in the... More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here with my husband for a Birthday stop over and what a gem we found. Arrived well before check in and spoke to a lovely lady on reception who was very helpful and said we could check into our room early. The room we stayed in was lovely and very homely including home made biscuits on the tea tray... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen M
Claire T, Owner at General Tarleton Restaurant, responded to this review

What a great review you have given us, thank you very much for taking the time to share it. Thank you too for recommending us and we look forward to seeing you when you are next in the area. More 

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very friendly staff made us most welcome and looked after us throughout our stay. The food was delicious and well presented can't wait for our next visit.

Helpful?
Thank viwendy
Claire T, Owner at General Tarleton Restaurant, responded to this review

It's great to hear your lovely comments about our team and also how much you enjoyed the food, thank you for passing on your feedback. More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We recently visited for a special Family birthday and were completely impressed. To start with a great range of drinks and a lovely area to chill in reception before going to our table for dinner. We had asked for a nice table in advance and were not disappointed, as were given a table called 'snake', which was a lovely spot.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Graham B
Claire T, Owner at General Tarleton Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for posting such a great review on Tripadvisor and I'm really pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your evening. I hope we will see you again soon. More 

Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We went to stay the night with friends that live over the road and rave about this place.It has now become their local.We were greeted at the door and quickly shown our table.This was in the conservatory which I thought was out of the way and cold. We chose a bottle of Rose and a bottle of red. The owner... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dale P
Claire T, Owner at General Tarleton Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Dale thank you for your review and for the "Great Food " heading. I remember your table with your friends and am mortified that you found me a bit straight to the point, my apologies for that, it certainly was never my intention and I can only attribute it to being busy - I have not been accused of... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Inn because of a special offer we received and it was a really lovely meal. We had their seafood menu which was their current special and the choice was so good. We would recommend dining there and the rooms were comfy too which was a great bonus.

Helpful?
Thank Anne B
Claire T, Owner at General Tarleton Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review and I am really pleased that you enjoyed your meal and stay with us. The Seafood Festival is always popular and we work hard to make it a special celebration of seafood. Thank you for recommending us and I hope we will see you again. More 

HETTON LE HOLE
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016

We stayed here quite recently. Accommodation was first class and food was superb. Could not fault the service either, lovely people, nothing too much trouble

Helpful?
Thank LMTE
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

So disappointed seafood evening Starter scallops on special was nothing outstanding then lobsters they We're a disaster asked for termador and got butter /garlic lobster then covered with sauce they were horrible What's happened been disappointing for the last 3 or 4 visits

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Claire T, Owner at General Tarleton Restaurant, responded to this review

I'm really sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent visit. I hope you gave us the opportunity to replace the meal you were not happy with as we do not want anyone to feel disappointed. If you would like to contact me by email with your name and date of booking, I can investigate what happened. More 

Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2016

Just back from a 2 night stay, loved every minute. The food was spot on, staff very very pleasant and helpful. The whole place has a lovely relaxed and welcoming feel to it. Will certainly be booking again.

Helpful?
Thank Andy D
Claire T, Owner at General Tarleton Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Andy, thanks for posting such a great review and I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us so much. I hope we can welcome you back soon. More 

Travellers who viewed General Tarleton Restaurant also viewed

Boroughbridge, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
 

Been to General Tarleton Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 86
Cuisine
European, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Highchairs Available
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Boroughbridge Road | Knaresborough Near Harrogate, Ferrensby HG5 0PZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Ferrensby
  • Phone Number: 441423340284

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of General Tarleton Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from General Tarleton Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?