We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Rock Inn

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Tockholes Road, Darwen BB3 0LU, England
+44 1254 702733
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 117: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great pub. Friendly service. Amazing views. Delicious food. Very large portions. I wish pubs would start a lite bite option of the food. Beth our waitress was lovely. Worth a visit just for the views at this time of year.

Helpful?
Thank lappiloo
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Lovely food, nice fire roaring and great staff. The steak and ale pie is the best around. The Cajun chicken is very hot and delicious. All in all really good value and well worth a Sunday lunch trip......we saw the roast beef dinner being seved and that looked top notch.

Helpful?
Thank Nicola350
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Pre booked for 6 and was made welcome and shown to table's. Ordered drinks and food. exceptional beer. Food was all served all together , starters very good. Main meals various Cumberland sausages, black pudding, steaks, lasanga ,all plates empty and enjoyed! Sweet of lemon merange was disappointing.

Helpful?
Thank pyro2016
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2017

The second pub in our search for a venue for boxing day. The outside of the pub is welcoming. Inside you have a bar on your left with seating to the left and right and the main area to the rear up some steps. The pub is a traditional decorated country pub, clean and has a warm cosy feel to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ste H
Darwen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

After reading the last review I feel I have to comment. I have been coming to this pub for many years with family friends and even my dogs. The landlord and lady are nothing but hospitable and always very pleasant.

Helpful?
Thank kelly-riding
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

* DONT VISIT THIS PUB, KEEP TRAVELLING DOWN THE ROAD TO EXPERIENCE TRUE LANCASHIRE HOSPITALITY * The miserable bloke who runs it with the terrible attitude spoilt our visit to The Rock completely. After his barlady kindly gave our dogs some biscuits he delivered our food to the table and abruptly asked 'are you gonna tidy that up' at first... More 

Helpful?
Thank kaylz39
Norma G, Owner at The Rock Inn, responded to this review

Sorry you didn't enjoy your time at the Rock, due to the fact that the landlord had asked you to clean the mess you had made by crumbling up a dog biscuit for your dog to eat, which was scattered all over the carpet, no doubt your dog would of hoovered it up, but the fact is that it wasn't... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

We haven't visited The Rock Inn for many years even though we live less than a mile away. It was a last minute plan to eat out rather than our usual Sunday get together at home. When we arrived the car park was extremely full and realised that we should have booked. The landlady gave us a very friendly telling... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kerry W
united kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

This was our first visit early on a cold Friday evening. It's a cosy pub which was warm and welcoming. There are plenty of tables to eat which are a little removed from the main bar. The menu is very varied and there is a good specials board. We had the three course menu which was excellent value for money.... More 

Helpful?
Thank avonsong
Preston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Thanks to Jim & Norma for a lovely lunch yesterday 34 people from the Wednesday Walking Group were well looked after as usual. Your gluten-free Sausage & Mash is definitely recommended.

Helpful?
Thank geoffpr5
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Visited last week as a couple for tea. How lucky we are to have such a good traditional pub serving excellent food and so much choice. I had Chicken Diane which was beautiful and my husband had the battered fish. Service is excellent, prices reasonable and owners are so welcoming. Would definately recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Debbie W

Travellers who viewed The Rock Inn also viewed

Darwen, Lancashire
Darwen, Lancashire
 
Darwen, Lancashire
Darwen, Lancashire
 

Been to The Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Tockholes Road, Darwen BB3 0LU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Darwen
  • Phone Number: +44 1254 702733

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Rock Inn and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Clayton Le mooors
3 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Rock Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?