We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Spinners at Cowling

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
77-79 Cowling Road | Chorley, Chorley PR6 9EA, England
+44 1257 241622
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

966 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 965: English reviews
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

on walking in the staff engaged us straight away , explained they will be a table later , we were asked to go and have a drink at the bar, which again we were engaged by the young bar tender Ben. he chatted and served us , we were happily talking to the locals by the log fire the feeling... More 

Helpful?
Thank ian n
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Lack of communication from the staff about obvious problems led to a disastrous and disappointing visit. Waited an hour and a half for mediocre starters and we were continually told lies that it wouldn't be long. We later found out that a large party had arrived an hour early which I appreciate is a tough spot for an establishment to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alex P
glen h, Owner at The Spinners at Cowling, responded to this review

Thank you for your review . We have extremely high standards and how we conduct ourselves is one of the reasons we have a reputation you have " heard about " and the reason you opted to dine at our restaurant . When and very rarely we have a problem we deal with them straight away , staff change in... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Visited twice now, great food, excellent staff, will definitely go again. The owner makes you feel welcome.

Helpful?
Thank Debra W
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Three of us visited on Saturday night and expected it to be busy so we booked. It certainly was very busy but our table was ready and we were seated right away. We ordered drinks and they took one reminder and a few minutes to arrive, along with sincere apologies. Our order was taken and starters arrived shortly after -... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mands60
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Came in for a small bite to eat mid afternoon. Although the restaurant is small (unless im missing something) and they were really busy, they were more than helpful in getting us seated. The food came out really quickly and was of really good quality and at a very good price. We will be coming again for an evening meal... More 

Helpful?
Thank Samuel C
Brindle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Called in today with our grandson at lunch time. It was really busy, however, we were seated and made to feel welcome by the very friendly professional young girls who couldn't do enough for us, made a fuss of our grandson which was lovely. A real family/child friendly venue. Food was beautiful, Sunday roast for all of us. Really good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jane H
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

A very busy Spinners last night. I appreciate that you had a large group of people who turned up an hour early which made your life difficult. The food as usual was superb and the staff hard working and polite. We will be back. Norma

Helpful?
Thank normagrady
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Says more about us than the Spinners at Cowling, why has it taken us so long to go? Certainly a worthwhile visit. An extensive menu, attentive staff, great wine choice supplied locally by T.Wright of Horwich and a small selection of craft beer. The quality of the for was excellent and the service equal to it. We will be back.

Helpful?
Thank John H
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

After waiting over 45 minutes to be seated then a further 45 minutes for starters to arrive this takes disgraceful service to a whole new level. Felt sorry for the overstretched front of house team. However, considerable training is required in how to apologise for the greed of the management who allow the establishment to become so overstretched to a... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Barry P
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We went here for a meal for my husband's birthday, It was really nice, food presented very well and really tasty, Staff very welcoming , and the chef was fab explain a question I asked him. Would highly recommend .

Helpful?
Thank catandpat2016

Travellers who viewed The Spinners at Cowling also viewed

Charnock Richard, Chorley
 
Charnock Richard, Chorley
 
Charnock Richard, Chorley
Chorley, Lancashire
 

Been to The Spinners at Cowling? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 20
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Cheap Eats, View, Romantic, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 77-79 Cowling Road | Chorley, Chorley PR6 9EA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Chorley
  • Phone Number: +44 1257 241622
Description
The spinners at cowling is a Friendly country pub with panoramic views over looking the Leeds to Liverpool canal. We have a wide range of home cooked meals prepared from the freshest and finest locally sourced produce. The inside has a warm and cosy country feel with a few modern twists and a fantastic snug area with a multi fuel stove which is so warm and homely .The owners Glen and Emma plus their Excecutive chef Steven Miller and his team including second chef Jason Wilkinson and a very hard working team of waiting on and bar staff that are always friendly and helpful and extremely knowledgeable look to bring your experience at The spinners at cowling a very memorable one. There is an exceptionally large choice on the bar including 2 premium beers two lager's three cask ales, Guinness, cider, and a smooth flow bitter. The back shelf provides a fine single malt whiskey selection plus plenty of fine Cognacs, Vodkas and Rums from all over the world. With a lovely decking area outside and seating across the front the spinners at cowling is lovely day sun trap. The spinners at cowling also caters for outside catering events for parties , weddings funerals christenings and birthdays ask inside for details . Glen & Emma will look after your every need.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Spinners at Cowling and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Spinners at Cowling staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?