We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rose in Bloom

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British,
69 Joy Lane, Whitstable CT5 4DD, England
+44 1227 276502
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good26%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
69 Joy Lane, Whitstable CT5 4DD, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

I have used he rose and bloom for years. It’s and independently owned / pub restaurant. The menu choice is extensive the service is always good and backed with a frat location makes it an ideal place to eat and drink. It should be noted...More

Thank chillxxxx
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We came here as a group of 3 all from the local area and the food was fine nothing to rave about though. Very disappointed in the tasteless small amount of roast potatoes, meat was cooked lovely though. Staff were a bit clueless and unhelpful....More

Thank 27bubbles27
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a nice family meal here. The bar area is quite modern and clean. The style is quite fresh. We sat in the conservatory to eat, which is need of a bit of TLC. The tables were all sticky. We had the Sunday lunch,...More

Thank Claire J
steverosewhitstable, Owner at The Rose in Bloom, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Claire ..new tables are now in the restaurant..they took longer than they said to be supplied .. And all toilet issues sorted .. really sorry and hope you give us another try ...

Reviewed 10 September 2018

We called into The Rose in Bloom by chance as we had been to Seasalter and were journeying home. As soon as we entered the pub we were warmly greeted by the bar staff and the chef. We ordered a drink and sandwiches and were...More

Thank ginamckay
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

Yet another fantastic afternoon/evening at the Rose in bloom, defo no karaoke only excellent djs or live singers ie kenny Tomas a must if you like good music and a relaxed atmosphere. Come and see for yourself 🎤

1  Thank Nicholl E
Reviewed 26 August 2018

A friend booked his for the two of us for an evening meal, must admit I wasn't impressed we had to sit outside which was fine , though the tables didn't look very clean and the whole outside area is shabby could do so much...More

1  Thank lillyKent
Reviewed 19 August 2018

Reply from owner regarding complaints just shows how downhill this place has come.thinks he is funny instead of sheer arrogance. Must be the worst place in whitstable for Sunday lunch. Ate the food here at 3.00pm and still feel nauseous now at 10.30 pm, Being...More

1  Thank Edward O
steverosewhitstable, Owner at The Rose in Bloom, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Hi Edward..you sent me a message through tripadvisor out of the blue asking me if I Worked at this crap restaurant !!!! I merely replied that I owned it and did the cooking there...i was merely stating what my position is ...to your question...to which...More

Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

Booked a table for 3pm - only time we could get. Arrived 5 mins early and were left waiting for 10 minutes only to find we could not get into restaurant and had to sit in bar area - live football and loud shouting. First...More

1  Thank Janet O
steverosewhitstable, Owner at The Rose in Bloom, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Hi Janet ...thank you for your constructive review ...I’m sorry we ran out of beef...I will make sure this won’t happen again in the future ...I’m puzzled why your partner who has left a review also Oliver..he sent me a question out of the blue...More

Reviewed 16 August 2018

As we were passing we thought what a nice looking pub so decided to stop for a drink. The bar and restaurant area looked nice and bright and clean. We sat in the garden on a lovely decked area which looked quite new and had...More

Thank Michael M
steverosewhitstable, Owner at The Rose in Bloom, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

I’m sorry for your encounter with the so called village idiot ... What makes you think he’s a local as it’s holiday season and like yourselves he might be passing by ... As regulars here would vouch ...this something that is not tolerated... Once again...More

Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

Having looked at some of the reviews written on here (negative) I have to say they must have gone to a different place. We arrived on a Saturday evening without making any prior booking, the restaurant was very busy and fully booked, without hesitation the...More

1  Thank Bob C
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Whitstable
Premier Inn Whitstable Hotel
812 reviews
1.15 km away
Crescent Turner Hotel
485 reviews
1.51 km away
Hotel Continental
545 reviews
2.21 km away
Marine Hotel
996 reviews
2.79 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Revival
108 reviews
1.15 km away
Alimo Restaurant
551 reviews
1.16 km away
The Rock Lodge
122 reviews
1.20 km away
Potato Tomato - The Eatery
76 reviews
1.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
Whitstable Town Centre
776 reviews
1.16 km away
Whitstable Museum and Gallery
55 reviews
1.23 km away
Gallery 64a
14 reviews
1.13 km away
Chappell Contemporary
17 reviews
1.15 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Mavis P
2 October 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from mnixon10 | Reviewed this property |
no, sorry . contact pub.
0
Votes
53posyrosie
8 March 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from pagan43 | Reviewed this property |
The menus are not published beforehand as they change from day to day, depending on what is available locally. There is always a good selection of meat and fish dishes plus salads. There is always at least one vegetarian... More
0
Votes
53posyrosie
8 March 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Suzanne H | Reviewed this property |
The staff are more than willing to tell you over the phone what is available and accommodating with any requirements
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 69 Joy Lane, Whitstable CT5 4DD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Whitstable
  • Phone Number: +44 1227 276502
  • E-mail
Description
English public house with fabulous sea views, serving simple traditional pub food.. the restaurant is closed Monday nights ...and Sunday nights ...
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing