We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crab & Winkle Restaurant

Whitstable Harbour | South Quay, Whitstable CT5 1AB, England
+44 1227 779377
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good32%
  • Average15%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“crab” (144 reviews)
“seafood” (87 reviews)
“bouillabaisse” (28 reviews)
Open Now
European, Gluten Free Options
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Whitstable Harbour | South Quay, Whitstable CT5 1AB, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (903)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 885 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent service and food this is our favourite in Whitstable. Good choice of fish try the chilli prawns starter excellent flavoured prawns the chilli sauce is lovely.The skate is lovely presentation is good.Lovely young lady always serves us with a smile We would like to...More

1  Thank carolbu67
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just booked to again this weekend. Still one of our favourite restaurants in Whitstable! Don’t be deceived by the outside, inside is a lovely decorated restaurant with amazing views of the sunset if you go at the right time and manage to get a table...More

1  Thank sueyone
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We called in for late lunch as our usual fish and chip place was closed and we were all looking forward to fish chips and mushy peas. The restaurant is bright clean and friendly with quick service.The food was exactly what we wanted presented well...More

Thank Val R
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I wrote a review about our lunch at this restaurant but mistakenly named it the Lobster Shack which is a wonderful restaurant, great food & service & good value. So now I have corrected the mistake. The Crab & Winkle is right on the Quayside,...More

1  Thank Colin H
Peter B, Owner at Crab & Winkle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

“Wrong Restaurant Again” We only serve Whole Brown Cornish Crabs. We never dress or remove any meat, claws are cracked, dead men,s fingers removed, served on boards, with salad and home made bread, ready for you to pick.Been doing it for 20 years. We are...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had the skate wings and they were great. Others had Dover sole and lemon sole. Everything was very good. We had a standoffish waiter at first, but the food was wonderful. Not a cheap eats place, but very good.

1  Thank MargoSpencer
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well , with what used to be a lovely high quality restaurant..it has become a shambles! Food quality was poor and after how I was spoken to by the female manager I walked out . I do not understand how she gets away with speaking...More

3  Thank lola_review_you
Peter B, General Manager at Crab & Winkle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Firstly the manager of our restaurant is a Gentleman, and has been for the last 3 years. If you are going to trash any business, make sure you get the right location. In the daily Mail earlier this week commented one in 3 are False....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Good range of fish and seafood dishes, so many wonderful options. Stunning views of harbour and sky, we were there at sunset. Roomy and modern restaurant. Friendly and helpful staff. Very calm and relaxing ambiance.

1  Thank 60Ev
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A table of seven for a Saturday lunch. Very welcoming and friendly host, who made the experience very enjoyable. Service was exceptional throughout. Food was very tasty with fantastic quality throughout. We ordered a variety of dishes, starters and mains, all cooked perfectly with great...More

1  Thank Robert A
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

Have been for my birthday. Everything was perfect, foid, wine and staff and view . I’ll definitely return

1  Thank Raquel M
Reviewed 14 September 2018

Situated over the Witstable fish market we received a warm welcome We were quickly seated with the table having a good view over the harbour. The wall at the rear of the restaurant are covered with large mirrors making the room light and bright. It...More

1  Thank Derek M
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Whitstable
Hotel Continental
546 reviews
.44 km away
Marine Hotel
999 reviews
1.18 km away
Premier Inn Whitstable Hotel
815 reviews
2.44 km away
Crescent Turner Hotel
487 reviews
3.08 km away
Nearby Restaurants
823 reviews
.25 km away
Harbour Street Tapas
174 reviews
.22 km away
The Forge
315 reviews
.14 km away
Elliott's at No 1 Harbour Street
459 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
Crab & Winkle Way
66 reviews
.05 km away
Harbour Market Whitstable
22 reviews
.13 km away
Greta Thames Sailing Barge - Private Trips
44 reviews
.05 km away
The Quayside
15 reviews
.10 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jim H
24 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Simon F | Reviewed this property |
It's a small restaurant, worth booking to avoid disappointment. Parking can be a bit of a nightmare in whitstsble so allow plenty of time.
Malaga M
28 August 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from IreneSuffolk | Reviewed this property |
We didn't have the platter either but what we did have was good and the service was excellent
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$ 34 - US$ 52
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Child-friendly, View, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Whitstable Harbour | South Quay, Whitstable CT5 1AB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Whitstable
  • Phone Number: +44 1227 779377
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing