We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Piece Of Cake Tea Rooms

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Flat 28 Strand Street, Sandwich CT13 9DS, England
441304612525
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 80: English reviews
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Over from F'stone each day for three days on the trott and Piece of Cake never disappoints. A delight, freshly cooked and pleasant staff are always attentive. The Eggs Florentine is just superb and Eggs B. with proper ham too at a bargain £5.25 (incl coffee and OJ). Our friends (and wee girl of 9yrs) on day 2 joined us... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul r
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went into this sandwich-shop the menu said sandwiches to take away served with salad and chips ( still waiting on the salad and chips) and was charged £ 30 for 4 sandwiches which were nothing special . Went to speak to the man sitting in the shop reading the newspaper with our complaint , was told hope you can find... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mallan06
ToulouseLaPlot, Owner at Piece Of Cake Tea Rooms, responded to this review

Your two boys came in to order 4 sandwiches. They ordered the 4 most expensive sandwiches on the menu and had 4 cokes while they were waiting. The prices are clearly shown both outside and on the menus. They were given the 10% discount that takeaways attract. Sometime later the entire family arrived and were extremely aggressive to the waitress.... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

The prices of the meals were reasonable and we weren't expecting extremely high quality food, but when it arrived the meat was dry and overcooked and the vegetables barely cooked at all. The wait was an hour longer than we were told to expect!

Helpful?
Thank dunkanbicycle
ToulouseLaPlot, Owner at Piece Of Cake Tea Rooms, responded to this review

The cafe was extremely busy and you were told you would have to wait. You chose to do so and you happened to choose two dishes which take a long time to cook. I know you complained at the time and were given a substantial discount even though I don't believe there was anything wrong with the meat. Have you... More 

Birchington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Terrible service. Asked for milky coffee and got stewed filter coffee, cold and tasteless. Also asked for filter coffee that came cold and tasteless. Ordered two breakfasts with tomatoes and no beans. Beans were served and no tomatoes,eggs rock hard, toast came when we had eaten our breakfast and only toasted one side. All food cold and we had waited... More 

Helpful?
Thank Malinda S
ToulouseLaPlot, Owner at Piece Of Cake Tea Rooms, responded to this review

I am truly shocked by your review. Are you sure you were in this cafe? I have no recollection of this happening at all and if you had complained at the time I would have acted on it. I simply can not believe that you would have had to wait if we weren't busy. Toast, juice and coffee always goes... More 

Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

Absolutely terrible. I went in there with my family to start a birthday day out! We ordered 3 breakfasts and waiting over an hour for our food. After asking a number of times where our food is we were told it will only be 5 minutes! The toast they gave us had gone cold and was almost like cardboard. The... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank M335
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Worth the drive over from manic F'stone in the heat today, just to chill away from the crowds. Piece of Cake never disappoints and its become our first port of call when visiting the town. Retro 50's messages help amuse if a slight wait (see pic 1 of 10) but todays Eggs B. With orange juice and Latte at 5.25... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul r
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2016

Visited on a lovely hot sunny day, sat in courtyard, nice coffee and cake. Worth a visit, whilst in sandwich.

Helpful?
Thank SW14461
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2016

A lovely cafe with seating inside and outside. Food - excellent selection from cakes and snacks to full meals. Very friendly and helpful staff. We had sandwiches and milk shakes. Both superb. Most importantly they were very very dog friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Aileen F
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2016

Popped in for lunch with my husband and adult son after a boat trip. My husband and I both had a light breakfast - sausage, rasher of bacon, scrambled egg, baked beans, toast and tea - which I thought was good value; definitely cheaper than the sandwiches, which is one reason I ordered it. I did order grilled tomatoes rather... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hilary S
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

Stale cake and adequate coffee, along with staff who dont seem to bother. Fills a gap but wouldnt go back.

Helpful?
1 Thank kevw222

Travellers who viewed Piece Of Cake Tea Rooms also viewed

 

Been to Piece Of Cake Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Cafe, British
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Good for
Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Flat 28 Strand Street, Sandwich CT13 9DS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Sandwich
  • Phone Number: 441304612525

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Piece Of Cake Tea Rooms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?