We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Barn Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹₹₹
British, Contemporary
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
507 Lower Rainham Road | Lower Rainham, Rainham ME8 7TN, England
+44 1634 361363
Website
Today
18:30 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 14:00
Tue - Fri 18:30 - 21:00
Sat 18:30 - 21:15
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

322 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 321: English reviews
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I had a rare date night and decided to visit The Barn. We had visited before but having moved out of the area our last visit must have been a good 10 years previously. Upon arrival we were greeted superbly and instantly made to feel welcome. We were delighted to discover the option to have drinks upstairs... More 

Helpful?
Thank Knicnic
Barn R, Chef at The Barn Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to leave us such a lovely review. Me and the rest of The Barn team are glad that even after 10 years you still loved the experience! We have made changes to the way we do our food and service recently so to hear that you enjoyed it is great for us! We will... More 

Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A birthday table for two on a Saturday evening (late booking) brought us back to the barn and we were really impressed. The ambiance of the loungy upstairs bar while we selected our dishes set us in a relaxed mood, and the sensibly sized menu of five starters and six mains was varied enough to make our choice the right... More 

Helpful?
Thank BlahBlahBlaksheep
Barn R, Chef at The Barn Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review of The Barn. We are so glad you enjoyed your night! Me and the rest of the Kitchen team would like to thank you for the great comments on the food you had. We are trying very hard to give our customers traditional flavours while being adventurous too, but not too adventurous to... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My daughter arranged my 60th birthday dinner at the Barn - friends had come from Gibraltor and Scotland. It was a surprise for me - walking into 20 people singing happy birthday! The restaurant allowed my daughter to access the table early in the morning to decorate. They were some accommodating - a set menu was arranged at a very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susi W
Barn R, Chef at The Barn Restaurant, responded to this review

Susi thank you for taking your time to write your lovely review! We are very pleased to her you enjoyed your birthday celebration with us and that everything was up to the required standard! We hope too see you in the restaurant again very soon! More 

Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We love this restaurant so it was our natural choice as a place to go and celebrate our recent engagement together. The staff are great especially the chefs. They use local seasonal produce to compile fresh menu choices that hit the mark each time. Fine dining in my home town. Love it.

Helpful?
Thank NatalieP1985
Barn R, Chef at The Barn Restaurant, responded to this review

Natalie thank you so much for your great review and great pictures of your trip to see us this weekend! Me and the rest of the Kitchen team would like to thank you for your great comments and would like to again congratulate you and your partner on your recent engagement! We hope to see you again soon! More 

Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had booked a table for six. As this was a special dinner for my wife and family. The food was very good. The only problem the restaurant was freezing cold, we asked the waiter if they could turn the heat up. We were told the heating was on full. Very disappointed for the money we paid.

Helpful?
Thank DaveB1978
Barn R, Manager at The Barn Restaurant, responded to this review

Dave thank you for taking your time to write a review of The Barn Restaurant. Firstly I would like to thank you for your comments on the food, we are glad you felt the food was very good. We would like to apologise that you felt the restaurant was very cold, this is a problem which we are looking into.... More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

We travelled from norfolk to join family at the barn and it was a great disappointment!!We were with a party of 12 people and found the food very tasteless and overpriced,when we had all been served our food not one member of staff asked if our meal was ok and if we needed anything,the meals were either very 'dry' and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
Barn R, Manager at The Barn Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Sarah, Firstly apologies for what you felt was not a good experience at The Barn. With regards to the complaints you have made our Front of House team do not recall you complaining on the night you dined, so we find it strange you have decided to complain on tripadvisor, as if you had complained on the night we... More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

The food was really nice the portions sizes are small to the fact we was all still hungry and felt wat we paid could not be warrented , we all over the place in upper class restuarnts like reeves and the who'd of thought it but felt this really let us down 😢 we paid over £200 for 4 of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank katie d
Barn R, Manager at The Barn Restaurant, responded to this review

Katie; Thank you for taking time to write a review of The Barn. Firstly thank you for commenting on how nice the food was although apologies if you felt the portions were too small. We pay a premium price for our ingredients so in order for us to make a good GP on the dish and keep the food at... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2016

Second time here Food is excellent Well presented with inspired pairings Place Can be a little cold but really worth a visit

Helpful?
Thank mary a
Barn R, Manager at The Barn Restaurant, responded to this review

Mary, thank you for your lovely review. Apologies for the restaurant maybe being a little cold. We hope to see you again soon! More 

Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2016

went here with 8 of my family for my birthday. Relatively quiet night, service was good not rushed as half the table was early, order was taken no probs at all, all was correct. Was served warm complimentary bread before starters which we wasn't expecting, And all food was nice, I had the pigeon for starters served with chocolate! not... More 

Helpful?
Thank SteveP82
Barn R, Manager at The Barn Restaurant, responded to this review

Steve, thanks for your great review of The Barn! We will take all your constructive comments into account. Hope to see you at the restaurant again soon. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2016

I visited the restaurant on Friday the 4th of November for my dads 70th birthday a table of 12 at 7.30pm. I just wanted to say how disappointed I was at the service, the food as usual was fantastic but the service was appalling, I had to go and ask for the menus after being seated for half an hour... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine H
Barn R, Manager at The Barn Restaurant, responded to this review

Catherine First off I would like to apologise for what you felt was poor service during your visit. This is not something we come to expect from ourselves. We were extremely busy that night, with 80% of our orders and customers coming in almost at once and unfortunately sometimes that can cause slight errors, which is something we are working... More 

Travellers who viewed The Barn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Barn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 19 - US$ 68
Cuisine
British, Contemporary
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Validated Parking
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 14:00
Tuesday
18:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
18:30 - 21:00
Thursday
18:30 - 21:00
Friday
18:30 - 21:00
Saturday
18:30 - 21:15
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 507 Lower Rainham Road | Lower Rainham, Rainham ME8 7TN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Rainham
  • Phone Number: +44 1634 361363

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Barn Restaurant and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Gillingham, United Kingdom
11 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Barn Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?