We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Saxon Shore - J D Wetherspoon

78-80 Central Parade, Herne Bay CT6 5JQ, England
+44 1227 370316
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent20%
  • Very good29%
  • Average20%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible18%
Travellers talk about
“quick service” (8 reviews)
“sea front” (11 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
78-80 Central Parade, Herne Bay CT6 5JQ, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

As I hopped into The Saxon Shore after my childish sleighing accident I was desperate just to sit down, the nearest table needed a quick clean which was done immediately without asking. Food was prompt and were happy to swap my son's chips for tomatoes....More

Thank Sarah G
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We popped in for lunch on Saturday, the first thing that annoyed me was that you were charging £2.50 for a bottle of coke, as you don't service coke from the pump, outrageous, sugar tax, I don't think so, just an excuse to rip off...More

Thank Legs1955
Save your favourites!Keep track of your top restaurant finds.
Save now
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I have to say it's filthy in this Spoons, the whole place needs a complete refurbishment.. please spend some money on it...

Thank Jane H
Reviewed 3 February 2018

Had a meal with friends before going to the theatre; so fairly early at 5.45 and it was excellent value, delicious, served quickly and the beer and wine were great

Thank theoloyla
Reviewed 28 January 2018

Having visited a few months ago and reported the disgusting state of the panneling and old pictures of Herne Bay we revisited today and found that nothing has been done to rectify this problem. It makes you wonder what state the kitchen is in ?

2  Thank gvtsmith
Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

Waited 35 minutes for one of the most horrible pub meals we had ever had. Poor young staff can’t cope and it’s not the bar staffs fault. The kitchen staff however taking that long to to serve such horrid food when so quiet. Shameful.

Thank Katie S
Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

We ordered 2 burgers from the christmas menu that supposedly came with cranberry sauce. It wasn't until we started eating and thought they were pretty dry we realised and having seen nothing from any staff had to go up to the counter and ask for...More

1  Thank Paddy t
The Saxon Shore M, Manager at The Saxon Shore - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Thank you for your review, sorry you were disappointed on your visit this time. We hope that your next trip will be more pleasing.

Reviewed 16 November 2017

I was taken out to lunch today and we ended up in Herne Bay, where I've visited many times. Unfortunately the fish and chip restaurant we'd been hoping to visit was closed. So by chance we tried the above. The restaurant it self is pleasant...More

Thank Anne-Marie H
The Saxon Shore M, Manager at The Saxon Shore - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

We apologize that you were not pleased with your visit. We hope that your next visit will be more satisfying. We really value your feedback and will take it on board.

Reviewed 4 November 2017

Went in late morning for a pint and a breakfast. Food was fine, good choice of ales and staff were friendly and helpful.

Thank N B
The Saxon Shore M, Manager at The Saxon Shore - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

We are glad you were pleased with your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Popped in here while exploring the Kent coast, thanks to the weatherspoon app I simply ordered what I needed without going to the bar. My food and drink was brought to me by a very friendly member of staff. The pub was cosy and seemed...More

Thank MarkTees
The Saxon Shore M, Manager at The Saxon Shore - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

We are glad you enjoyed your visit and will look forward to seeing you again.

Nearby HotelsSee all Herne Bay Hotels
Premier Inn Herne Bay Hotel
607 reviews
1.85 km away
Marine Hotel
941 reviews
5.81 km away
Hotel Continental
489 reviews
6.57 km away
Premier Inn Whitstable Hotel
758 reviews
8.16 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Wine Bar
273 reviews
.18 km away
The Vintage Empire
336 reviews
.16 km away
Shad Restaurant
434 reviews
.18 km away
Very Vintage
69 reviews
.15 km away
Nearby Attractions
Herne Bay Central Beach
178 reviews
.02 km away
Central Bandstand
101 reviews
.05 km away
Waltrop Gardens
50 reviews
.09 km away
The Seaside Museum Herne Bay
63 reviews
.18 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Saxon Shore - J D Wetherspoon staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 78-80 Central Parade, Herne Bay CT6 5JQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Herne Bay
  • Phone Number: +44 1227 370316
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing