We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Greyhound

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Chesham Road | Wigginton, Tring HP23 6EH, England
+44 1442 824631
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:00
Mon - Wed 12:00 - 23:00
Thu - Sat 12:00 - 23:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

432 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 431: English reviews
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Beautifully presented food from a menu with a good range of choices. Pleasant rooms although they are stopping doing breakfasts so Ridgeway walkers need to be aware of this.

Helpful?
Thank ECB173
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very busy. Excellent Sunday Lunch with big portions! Beef was actually rare, difficult to find many restaurants serving rare beef at 3pm in the afternoon so it was a very pleasant surprise. Staff were very friendly.

Helpful?
Thank harpers555
GreyhoundWigginton, Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us such a positive review. We are very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your roast beef on Sunday and look forward to seeing you very soon. Kind Regards Kerry More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We stopped here part way through our morning walk. We had a couple of lighter nights to share between us. The food was good however was a little overpriced for what it was. Service wasn't amazing, seemed annoyed that we weren't ready to order right away and then seemed put off that we ordered a few things to share stating... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lianne17
GreyhoundWigginton, Owner at The Greyhound, responded to this review

Dear Lianne17, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your food. We strive to serve all our customers in a timely manner as it would be very detrimental to other booked tables that are on time to make them wait as all our food is freshly prepared and cooked to... More 

Wendover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stumbled upon this pub and so glad we did! Lovely meal with great selection (including for veggies) and everything looked fresh, well presented and was really good value. Lovely hidden gem!

Helpful?
Thank ScarletB2013
GreyhoundWigginton, Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this review

To Scarlet, Thank you for your very kind review. We are really pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your visit to the Greyhound and hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Kerry More 

Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our first complaint was that the plates weren't big enough! Then when they had finished bringing the vegetables we thought that the table was not big enough!! This is not a venue for people with small appetites - even the children's portions were generous. But this is not a venue that relies only on size to impress. The meats were... More 

Helpful?
Thank bnrslater
GreyhoundWigginton, Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to hear how much you enjoyed your Sunday lunch. I am impressed that you managed all 3 courses (even after a walk!) and that you enjoyed each course so much. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Kerry More 

Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
170 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've been aware of The Greyhound for some time, having lived in and around the area for many years and following a number of recommendations, we decided to try it and we weren't disappointed. It doesn't look much from the outside, but inside, it's warm and welcoming and the food was very good. In fact, we were so full, we... More 

Helpful?
Thank UncleAlan471
GreyhoundWigginton, Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this review

To Alan, Thank you for your lovely review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Greyhound so much and that you were not disappointed. We hope to see you back again soon, hopefully for dessert as well! Kind Regards Kerry More 

Level Contributor
128 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I do so love coming here. Always a lovely warm welcome by all the staff. On arrival we were taken to our table. We had excellent table service as always. The food here is always exceptionally good and very generous portions. I can never quite make it to a pudding if I've had a starter so sometimes I will have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Grimsby247
GreyhoundWigginton, Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. You are very kind to say those things and it means a lot to us. We are also very pleased to hear how much your party enjoyed their meal and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Natalie, Andy, Kerry & the Greyhound Team More 

Level Contributor
68 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in here and having watched amazing food being given to other customers we opted to stay for Sunday lunch. What a great decision that was. Had delicious rare roast beef with all the trimmings including the best cauliflower cheese! The food was delicious and the Chateau Fayau Bordeaux was a delicious accompaniment. Give this restaurant a try as you... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank JES1253
GreyhoundWigginton, Owner at The Greyhound, responded to this review

Dear JES1253, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a fantastic review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your Sunday meal with us, I will pass all your lovely comments on to the staff and we hope to see you again, Kind Regards Natilee More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have been to the Greyhound on a number of occasions and have never been disappointed. Two occasions were with a large group and we dined in the restaurant. The food and service were top notch. The most recent visit was for a light lunch after a walk with our dogs. We ate in the bar area and again, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anne S
GreyhoundWigginton, Owner at The Greyhound, responded to this review

Dear Anne S, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review, it is a real pleasure to read how happy you were with the meal and service on all the occasions you have visited, the bar area is very popular for all guests and we love the fact we can also serve larger groups in... More 

Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We booked this place for Saturday lunch and what a lovely place it is. Very clean establishment with welcoming professional staff. The menu has a great variety and the specials were also very interesting which meant we were spoilt for choice really. The food portions were very good and well cooked. The kitchen certainly provides an excellent meal. The deserts... More 

Helpful?
Thank 2Nelsons
GreyhoundWigginton, Owner at The Greyhound, responded to this review

Thank you for such great comments, What a pleasure it is to read your review its fantastic to hear such positive feedback I am so pleased you enjoyed your meal including the desserts, we hope to see you again soon, Kind Regards Natilee More 

Travellers who viewed The Greyhound also viewed

Tring, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 
Tring, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Greyhound? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 6 - US$ 32
Cuisine
British, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:30
Friday
12:00 - 23:30
Saturday
12:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Chesham Road | Wigginton, Tring HP23 6EH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Tring
  • Phone Number: +44 1442 824631
Description
You will find the Greyhound in Wigginton in the heart of the village. Step in to discover a traditional pub of unique character with friendly and welcoming staff, well known for its wide range of real ales and fresh food cooked by our award winning Head Chef Andy Batchelor. Booking is strongly advised

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Greyhound staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?