We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Greyhound

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Chesham Road | Wigginton, Tring HP23 6EH, England
+44 1442 824631
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:00
Mon - Wed 12:00 - 23:00
Thu - Sat 12:00 - 23:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

424 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 423: English reviews
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have been to the Greyhound on a number of occasions and have never been disappointed. Two occasions were with a large group and we dined in the restaurant. The food and service were top notch. The most recent visit was for a light lunch after a walk with our dogs. We ate in the bar area and again, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anne S
GreyhoundWigginton, Owner at The Greyhound, responded to this review

Dear Anne S, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review, it is a real pleasure to read how happy you were with the meal and service on all the occasions you have visited, the bar area is very popular for all guests and we love the fact we can also serve larger groups in... More 

Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We booked this place for Saturday lunch and what a lovely place it is. Very clean establishment with welcoming professional staff. The menu has a great variety and the specials were also very interesting which meant we were spoilt for choice really. The food portions were very good and well cooked. The kitchen certainly provides an excellent meal. The deserts... More 

Helpful?
Thank 2Nelsons
GreyhoundWigginton, Owner at The Greyhound, responded to this review

Thank you for such great comments, What a pleasure it is to read your review its fantastic to hear such positive feedback I am so pleased you enjoyed your meal including the desserts, we hope to see you again soon, Kind Regards Natilee More 

St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Whenever my friends and relatives visit we make the journey from St Albans to The Greyhound. The food is excellent and the staff are welcoming and genuinely hospitable. The food is served to look appetising and the portions are large. A very good hidden gem.

Helpful?
Thank JohnDaniell
GreyhoundWigginton, Owner at The Greyhound, responded to this review

Dear JohnDaniell, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a great review, the staff take great pride in the food and service and I am so pleased at how much you enjoyed your meal with us.. We look forward to welcoming you again soon, Kind Regards Natilee More 

Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Friends were staying here for a wedding nearby. We visited on Good Friday hungry so really pleased they were serving food. We would have been happy with a sandwich or pie but really pleased with the menu. A good selection of quality food and an array of ales on offer. An excellent find!

Helpful?
Thank YorkshireTom
GreyhoundWigginton, Owner at The Greyhound, responded to this review

I am so pleased you enjoyed your meal on Good Friday, thank you for your lovely comments and we hope to see you soon, Kind Regards Natilee More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ate here after a 6 mile walk in the area hadn't booked and the restaurant was very busy but the staff were able to squeeze us into a table near the bar. Staff allowed me to try a few of the beers before choosing one - always a good sign. Food was ordered swiftly and arrived in no time -... More 

Helpful?
Thank grv89
GreyhoundWigginton, Owner at The Greyhound, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your Mexican pork burger and smoked salmon dish. We change our menu on a weekly basis to keep it interesting we hope you will return and try our other specials. Kind Regards Natilee More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stopped off for a spot of afternoon lunch at the Greyhound. As a family we have never been before but throughout out food I turned to my husband and remarked' Absolutely stunning food...Can't remember the last time I've thoroughly enjoyed eating out!' Staff so polite & helpful,couldn't do enough. Outstanding service & food. Lovely pub with garden Highly recommended for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janine R
GreyhoundWigginton, Owner at The Greyhound, responded to this review

Dear Janine R, I am so pleased you enjoyed your afternoon lunch with us, thank you for leaving us such a fantastic review, we look forward to seeing you again, Kind Regards Natilee More 

Potters Bar
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have eaten at the Greyhound before and never been disappointed. Last visit was yesterday 13th April. Food was very nice and the portions were big. Just what I like. Having eaten recently at a restaurant chain and when I left feeling hungry and that was after a main and a dessert!

Helpful?
Thank jkpotters
GreyhoundWigginton, Owner at The Greyhound, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your meal with us, we look forward to seeing you again, Kind Regards Natilee More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great food,really tasty,service was quicky and the staff were lovely.I would definitely recommend it

Helpful?
Thank Fiona P
GreyhoundWigginton, Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this review

To Fiona, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am very glad to hear how much you enjoyed your visit to the Greyhound and we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards Kerry More 

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Average to good only real problem was had to wait some time to be servered not enough staff on would visit again if I was that way

Helpful?
Thank stephenread77
GreyhoundWigginton, Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this review

To Stephen, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you felt like you waited too long to be served. Your review is not very specific so I'm not sure whether you were waiting to be served at the bar or waiting for food. Nor do you say how long you were waiting for. We always strive... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ate Sunday lunch at the Greyhound yesterday on recommendation and we will definitely be going back! We chose not to have any of the highly tempting starters which was probably just as well as the roasts for which we opted were huge portions. The pork was perfectly cooked and the crackling was probably the best I had ever tasted. My... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
GreyhoundWigginton, Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this review

To Barbara, Thank you for your lovely review. We are are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your Sunday lunch at The Greyhound so much. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Kerry More 

Travellers who viewed The Greyhound also viewed

Tring, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 
Tring, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 
Datchworth, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Greyhound? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 6 - US$ 32
Cuisine
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Kids, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:30
Friday
12:00 - 23:30
Saturday
12:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Chesham Road | Wigginton, Tring HP23 6EH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Tring
  • Phone Number: +44 1442 824631
Description
You will find the Greyhound in Wigginton in the heart of the village. Step in to discover a traditional pub of unique character with friendly and welcoming staff, well known for its wide range of real ales and fresh food cooked by our award winning Head Chef Andy Batchelor. Booking is strongly advised

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Greyhound staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?