We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Plough

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Plough Leverstock Green Road, Hemel Hempstead HP3 8PR, England
+44 1442 732132
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 22:30
Mon - Wed 12:00 - 23:00
Thu - Fri 11:00 - 23:00
Sat 11:00 - 23:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

281 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 280: English reviews
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

Had a meal with friends in the bar.Lovely selection of food, good service. I have also eaten in the restaurant, always had a lovely meal and the carvery is excellent.

Helpful?
Thank seagoddess054
Kings Langley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Welcomed at the Plough although we were early. Good service. Food was first class. Hot looked inviting and tasted even better. Although the resturant became very busy quickly we were served very well and not rushed. We will return for sure

Helpful?
Thank Lucy Anne B
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I like to think I am true on every review, never hasty or unfair just honest. I have visited the Plough on a few occasions and I must say tonight was once again extremely good, I tried the carvery and with the generous helpings of perfectly cooked meats with tasty cooked self served sides was delightful, my partner had the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Matt E
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Excellent carvery in very pleasant, light and airy surroundings. Good value for money. Yvonne, our waitress was friendly, helpful and attentive. If you make a visit be aware that Leverstock Green Road is divided in two by the dual carriageway. Take the one on the Leverstock Green side of the carriageway and you will find The Plough ahead of you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elinormary39
Luiza D, General Manager at The Plough, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your visit and for taking the time to write such a positive review. We show all reviews to our team and they were thrilled with your review.We look forward to your next visit and the challenge of making it another memorable experience. Warm regards, Ana More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Spent a very pleasant evening Pre - Christmas meal with friends. Food & service was excellent. The manager & his staff were very attentive & helpful. The Plough has certainly improved immensely. Look forward to returning.

Helpful?
Thank Jan B
Luiza D, General Manager at The Plough, responded to this review

Dear Jan, We were thrilled when we saw your positive review - we certainly do strive to ensure our service, friendliness and food are all classed as excellent!. Thank you for visiting us at the Plough and we look forward to giving you another warm welcome soon. Ana More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Menu choice large and loads to choose from but carvery choice was excellent and great value for money

Helpful?
Thank lewy558
Luiza D, General Manager at The Plough, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us at The Plough and for taking the time to write a kind review. Every single review we receive is discussed with our team and they were thrilled with your positive comments. We look forward to your next visit! Warm regards, Ana More 

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Usual pub grub menu & prices but with a bit more class. 3 of us went at lunchtime on Friday and we hadn't booked but were seated quickly. Service was good. Food was excellent. The place became quite full in a short time. There is also a bar area for those not wanting a formal sit down meal. Large car... More 

Helpful?
Thank travellingzebra
Luiza D, General Manager at The Plough, responded to this review

Dear guest, We have passed your comments to our kitchen team who are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit. Our Head Chef Danny has certainly stamped his signature in our kitchen. Happy kitchens make happy customers! We are glad you enjoyed the attentive service and chilled atmosphere and look forward to welcoming you again at the Plough soon. Ana More 

Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I visited whilst staying at the travel lodge, we were served by Yvonne who was very friendly. We had the carvery which was possibly the best we've had. We will definitely return whenever we are in the area.

Helpful?
1 Thank leslie631217
Luiza D, General Manager at The Plough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Plough. It was a pleasure to serve you and I am really pleased that you have enjoyed it so much. At the Plough we are committed to provide the best quality service and food. I will share your positive review with the team and we look forward to seeing you again... More 

Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The food here was a bit disappointing. The pastry on a steak and ale pie wasn't very well cooked, my battered fish had a hard bit in the middle. Two of our party were less than impressed with their dessert and the other meals were very average. The ser vice was OK.

Helpful?
1 Thank knebrakanesa
Luiza D, General Manager at The Plough, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. I am very sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit to the Plough. It is a great disappointment to me that you didn't share your feelings with any of us at the time, had you done, we would have been pleased to fix what needed to... More 

Watford England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After a busy morning Christmas shopping in Hemel Hempstead we decided to pay The Plough a visit after hearing about it on Facebook. On first impressions from the outside it looked warm and welcoming but the real jewel in the crown was the inside with it's warren of seating areas all furnished to a very high standard. The atmosphere was... More 

Helpful?
Thank edenderry
Luiza D, General Manager at The Plough, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for such a positive review. The old adage " happy kitchens and happy staff make for happy customers" is so true. Our team follows our reviews and takes the comments very seriously. They were thrilled to read your review and feel that their efforts are paying a return. We all do try to improve... More 

Travellers who viewed The Plough also viewed

Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Plough? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, International, British, Pub
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Plough Leverstock Green Road, Hemel Hempstead HP3 8PR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Hemel Hempstead
  • Phone Number: +44 1442 732132

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Plough and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Hertfordshire
over a year ago
Hertfordshire

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Plough staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?