We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Marchmont Arms

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British,
Piccotts End, Hemel Hempstead HP1 3AT, England
+44 1442 254320
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good28%
  • Average17%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“pork belly” (13 reviews)
“fish cakes” (10 reviews)
“scallops” (12 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Piccotts End, Hemel Hempstead HP1 3AT, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Our second visit with the family and just as good as the first time. Great service, delicious food and pleasant atmosphere. I booked online and the system works perfectly - even the high chair was provided as requested. The table was ready when we arrived...More

Thank James M
General manager A, Manager at The Marchmont Arms, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi James, Thank you for your comments. We are really happy that everything went to plan...from booking to leaving....and glad the small member of the family got their special chair. Your comments regarding the vegetables have been passed onto the kitchen team and should not...More

Reviewed 3 days ago

I've just visited this restaurant with my two daughters and my elderly mother and we had a very pleasant lunch; the food came quickly and was delicious and was served by a charming and attentive waitress called Nelli. I would thoroughly recommend this establishment.More

Thank Timothy R
General manager A, Manager at The Marchmont Arms, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Timothy, Thank you for your comments. We have passed on your lovely comments to Nelli, who was very happy to hear you had a good time. The chefs are also happy that you enjoyed the food and mentioned its timely manner. Thanks for the...More

Reviewed 3 days ago

Having never been to The Marchmont before, and with being local and fancying a change from eating Sunday lunch at home we ventured out last Sunday, and everything turned out quite well. Soup of the day was Celeriac and I could have dined on bowls...More

Thank jackthebiscuit010
General manager A, Manager at The Marchmont Arms, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your comments. We are really happy that you was happy with your food, especially the homemade soup (We agree, nothing better than a big bowl of soup with nice bread!) We are disappointed that your wife did not enjoy her...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Love the new refurbishment. Great prosecco and a new range of cocktails which are great. The restaurant is fantastic with a real good seasonal menu that does not disappoint!More

Thank joe c
General manager A, Manager at The Marchmont Arms, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Joe, Thank you for your comments. Prosecco is one of the all round favourites and with our new cocktails, we seem to have something for everyone. We are glad you like the new décor and happy that we achieved your expectations. Thank you once...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

Lovely evening meal on a Wednesday night, lovely food with fantastic service. Prices were mid range would definitely recommend.

Thank seagoddess054
General manager A, Manager at The Marchmont Arms, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Reviewer, Thank you for your comments. We're really glad that you enjoyed your midweek treat. Thank you for letting people know you would recommend us and we really hope to see you again soon. Many thanks The Marchmont Artms

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just had my 40th birthday party at this venue. The staff were beyond helpful ensuring the night went smoothly. We had 35 guests and their three course meal option. The food was great. They catered for gluten free guests also. We were 100% happy and...More

Thank The_Wilsons2411
General manager A, Manager at The Marchmont Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi The Wilsons, Thank you for your comments. We are very happy that you all had a great time and thank you for your recommendation. Really glad that the food, drink and team were up to your expectations. Thank you once again for you kind...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Took two relatives over from Canada out for a Saturday night meal. The noise was so bad we couldn't hear each other's speech. There was a party on that spilled over to the table next to us with children screaming out loudly, all I guess...More

Thank SV117
General manager A, Manager at The Marchmont Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your comments. As none of the above was brought to our attention on the night, we will investigate this fully. We do apologise for your recent experience and assure you that this is not the normal dining experience at the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Sunday lunch today was tasty A good meal in great surroundings, this is a lovely Georgian style building simply but beautifully decorated Plenty of parking and outdoor seating. The restaurant and bar were buzzing , but the whole place appeared to run like clockwork Staff...More

Thank Attia317
General manager A, Manager at The Marchmont Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your comments. Sounds like you had a great Sunday lunch with us and you was correct Sunday lunch is a busy time for us, however, as you noticed, the team do run like a well oiled machine. Your comments about...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in hoping for a quick lunch during a break from work on a weekday. Arrived 1205 and was back at work for 1300. Standard range of good bar snacks served in good time. Seating was comfortably and everything appeared clean and well organised. Hope...More

Thank Nick S
General manager A, Manager at The Marchmont Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Nick, Thank you for your comments. We are glad that we achieved your hopes of a quick lunch and would love for you to come and visit us again in the main restaurant.....or maybe just for some cocktails in the bar. Thanks again The...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a very nice gastropub with great service and great food. Was visiting with 14 other colleges and we were of sufficient number to get the big table down the stairs. Was like private dining and we were well looked after. There was something...More

Thank Stuart D
General manager A, Manager at The Marchmont Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Stuart, Thank you for your comments. We are really happy that you and your colleges thought that the service and food were great! Your comments have been passed onto the team and they are really happy with them. We are so sorry about the...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Chiang Mai Cottage
337 reviews
.68 km away
The Cochin
489 reviews
.78 km away
Moroccan Kasbah Restaurant
364 reviews
.77 km away
Nearby Attractions
Frithsden Vineyard
76 reviews
3.98 km away
Amaravati Buddhist Monastery
30 reviews
3.49 km away
St Mary's Church
23 reviews
.79 km away
The Three Horseshoes
27 reviews
2.88 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
beeswidow
13 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from hedleyk | Reviewed this property |
nearby? Hemel is a bit of a desert whem it comes to decent hotels. the nearest I can think of interms of good hotels is Pendley Manor. I have not stayed there but my daughter had her wedding there and said it was good. there... More
0
Votes
rayandhazel
22 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Gillingst | Reviewed this property |
Dogs are allowed outside just not inside
1
Vote
Roy M
9 March 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Tomasz K | Reviewed this property |
Yes. Have have separated gluten free guide (MENU)' we use different dishes, boards, knifes. We make sure there is no contact with allergens. Also with nut and other allergies.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Piccotts End, Hemel Hempstead HP1 3AT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Hemel Hempstead
  • Phone Number: +44 1442 254320
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing