We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
469 Luton Road, Harpenden AL5 3QE, England
+44 1582 713817
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 22:30
Mon - Fri 11:00 - 23:00
Sat 11:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

528 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 522: English reviews
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Located between harpenden and luton the fox is a lovely pub/restaurant and is well worth a visit. In winter the log fire is lovely. In summer the outside space is brilliant to while away an afternoon in. A meal there is also very tasty. Gastro pub.

Helpful?
Thank PSeathP
Michael R, General Manager at The Fox, responded to this review

Hi PSeathP, Many thanks for your kind review. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Fox over the coming months More 

Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Never fails to disappoint with its great food and service. Brilliant for all occasions. Staff are very attentive.

Helpful?
Thank cathyhalloran
Michael R, General Manager at The Fox, responded to this review

Hi Cathyhalloran, Many thanks for your very kind review. Its great to hear you have enjoyed your visits to the Fox. Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Went for lunch with two friends. Service impeccable and the crab and lobster fish cakes are not to be missed! Car park can be a bit muddy though, needs resurfacing. That was the only negative thing though. Great place to take a friend to lunch.

Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
Michael R, General Manager at The Fox, responded to this review

Hi Sandra H, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. I'm delighted that you were so happy with the service and food. Our new Lobster Fish cakes have really gone down well with all our guests. In regards to the car park, we are currently in the process of getting the whole thing resurfaced,... More 

Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We prebooked our table but on arrival had to wait to be seated. My daughter had the vegetarian pie which I do not like so the waiter suggested I would be able to an abundance of vegetables, but what I actually got was green cabbage, cauliflower cheese and some roast potatoes at a charge of £12.95, oh but not forgetting... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne F
Michael R, General Manager at The Fox, responded to this review

Hi Yvonne F, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent visit to the Fox. I'm extremely disappointed to hear that your visit was not up to the standards you have come to expect from us here at the Fox. In regards to the service, we are continually training and retraining our staff, as... More 

Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited this restaurant many times! Tonight ordered Chateau Briande..... awful! Manager was not in any way accommodating! £100 for rubbish meat. Bad move - "Fox -Harpenden'

Helpful?
1 Thank sj-60-Hank
Michael R, General Manager at The Fox, responded to this review

Hi sj-60-Hank, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent visit to us here at the Fox. I'm extremely disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy the quality of your Chateaubriand on this occasion. As said at the time, we will be certainly taking all the points you mentioned on board, and forwarding... More 

Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Well chosen menu, not your average pub food. High quality, fresh produce.. sitting area outside and very pleasant sitting area next to the fireplace

Helpful?
Thank Ana B
Michael R, General Manager at The Fox, responded to this review

Hi Ana B, Thank you very much for your very kind review. Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back very soon. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Fox gets better each time we go. Friendly staff, nice atmosphere not too packed and the food is good Calamari and steak are both hard to get just right and our sere perfect last night. 5 stars in ts category of good local pub at affordable price. Would like to see red wine at 15-16 rather than 'room' temperature... More 

Helpful?
Thank njandrews2016
Michael R, General Manager at The Fox, responded to this review

Hi njandrews2016, Its really great to hear that our regulars continue to enjoy and revisit the Fox. We do work very hard to create an inviting atmosphere for all our guests, with food and service to match. We are looking forward to inviting you back over the coming weeks and months. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just as a good gastro pub should be! Lovely food, lovely atmosphere and very helpful staff! Bit stingy with the chips...but then they were very tasty so I'm just being greedy ;)

Helpful?
Thank Madash90
Michael R, General Manager at The Fox, responded to this review

Hi Madash90, Many thanks for your very kind review. Its really good to hear that you enjoyed your visit, the kitchen and front of house team will get a real buzz from reading your comments. Looking forward to seeing you back at the Fox again soon.......I promise to look into those chip portions for you ;-) More 

Dunstable
Level Contributor
114 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited The Fox with a couple of friends on a very busy Tuesday evening. The staff were friendly and the service good and the food was tasty. My only criticism is the cost. £200 for starters, mains and a couple of drinks each seems a lot to me. I would think twice before returning.

Helpful?
1 Thank am231058
Michael R, General Manager at The Fox, responded to this review

Hi am231058, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Its great to hear you all thoroughly enjoyed your evening. We continually look at our price point to ensure that we are offering good value for money, and base a lot of our prices on the competition from the rest of Harpenden. Please be assured your comments... More 

france
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As a family with ages ranging from ten to seventy we dined here on a Saturday evening. It was very busy. However the staff were obliging and friendly. Although it was very busy we did not feel crowded in. It was warm and clean. Everyone was very happy with their meals and felt it was very good value for money.... More 

Helpful?
Thank kernow1
Michael R, General Manager at The Fox, responded to this review

Hi Kernow1, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent visit to the Fox. I'm really happy to hear that you were well looked after, and that you all enjoyed the food. The staff here really do work very hard, and reviews like this really make the job worthwhile. I will look into the... More 

Travellers who viewed The Fox also viewed

Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Fox? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 57 - US$ 57
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, International, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 469 Luton Road, Harpenden AL5 3QE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Harpenden
  • Phone Number: +44 1582 713817

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Fox and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Hertford, United Kingdom
3 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Fox staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?