We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Slug and Lettuce

) #59 of 61 Restaurants in Harpenden ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ , British
9 High Street, Harpenden AL5 2RT, England
+44 1582 764624
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent14%
  • Very good28%
  • Average19%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible23%
Travellers talk about
“prawns” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
9 High Street, Harpenden AL5 2RT, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

I stopped off with a friend for a coffee and sat outside. It wasn't until I asked another customer that I realised servers no longer take orders. That aside, our coffee's arrived promptly and where what we expected. I use an electric wheelchair and found...More

Thank mars-or-bust
Slug and Lettuc... H, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Thank you for your kind review and your feedback regarding the Tanqueray trolley. I'm so sorry that this got in your way, we will make sure that this is moved so as not to be in the way in future. Kind Regards Heather

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited for cocktails with friends in the late afternoon. The pub smelt strongly of mint sauce, our table was dirty & even more unsettling was the dust & dirt on the floor. We finished our cocktails, of which 1 was not what we ordered &...More

Thank Picklefifi
Slug and Lettuc... H, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We would like to look into the issues you stated in the comment above. could you please email us at slugandlettuce.Harpenden@stonegatepubs.com and state the date and time of your visit and the cocktails...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It was pretty empty at 2pm for lunch on Saturday 22 but no one came to take our order. We went to the man standing doing nothing at the cash register. Food was quick to arrive. Oddly my sausages and mash were served in a...More

Thank Antipodean351
Slug and Lettuc... H, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, We are sorry you did not enjoy your last visit to us on the 22nd July. I would like to apologies for the poor customer service you revived and for the quality of food. We train our team frequently on customer service skills and...More

Reviewed 7 May 2017

visited last night, young lady serving was lovely and great cocktails!however the floor needs a good clean our shoes were sticking to the floor 😳😳😳😳More

Thank Rosalynne M
Slug and Lettuc... H, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Hi Rosalynne, We are glad you enjoyed your cocktails and the service you received. We have rectified the problem with the floor and have a new cleaner in place. The floor will no longer be sticky. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind...More

Reviewed 4 May 2017

We used to enjoy coming to the slug and lettuce for breakfast quite regularly, but it has recently gone downhill very quickly. The vegetarian full english has been recently removed from the menu which is really disappointing. As a result I ordered the avocado on...More

Thank Lucy H
Slug and Lettuc... H, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Hi Lucy, We are sorry you did not enjoy your last visit to us at the Slug and Lettuce, Harpenden. Would you kindly email us at slugandlettuce.Harpenden@stonegatepubs.com and provide us with details of the date and time of your visit. With this information we can...More

Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile

8 of us visited for brunch last Sunday. One of the worst restaurant experiences- slow slow service and terrible food. The breakfasts were stone cold, the poached eggs were more like boiled eggs, the toast wasn't even toasted! Just lightly grilled. Drinks took ages to...More

Thank SofiaIqbal
Slug and Lettuc... H, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2017

Hi Sofia, Thank you very much for your feedback, as always we appreciate any feedback from our customers. Could you please email us on slugandlettuce.Harpenden@stonegatepubs.com so we can investigate the matter further. Kind regards Micah Taffurelli Deputy Manager

Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Visited the slug for the first time since it's been done up. Place inside looks nice but the service was so slow! It took us over half and hour to get a drink at the bar and I got there I was told I couldn't...More

Thank WhiteS95
Slug and Lettuc... H, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2017

Hi, We are sorry you did not enjoy your last visit to us. To be able to investigate this matter further could you please contact us on slugandlettuce.Harpenden@stonegatepubs.com with the date and time you visited, Also state what drink you were trying to order. Kind...More

Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

What an total waste of a refurb. We waited for bloody ages to be served and was ignored persistently by a staff member putting glasses away. This left one staff member hurriedly trying to serve everyone - She deserves 5* for Trying her best in...More

Thank James D
Slug and Lettuc... H, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Hi James, We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your recent visit to us. If you would please email us on slugandlettuce.Harpenden@stonegatepubs.com Informing us the date and time you last visited, I can go fourth and investigate in house and find out why...More

Reviewed 6 April 2017

I love the slug and lettuce in Harpenden, whether I'm going for a meal or just some drinks. I come here quite often. The food is always very good quality and the menu has a wide range of dishes. Attentive and speedy service. The cocktails...More

Thank geocxm
Slug and Lettuc... H, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Hi, Thank you very much for your fantastic feedback. We really do value all our feedback from customers and do all we can to keep this venue up to standard. We are glad you enjoy your visits to us and our cocktails. We look forward...More

Reviewed 27 March 2017

Popped into the Slug for a cuppa this morning nice catch with my niece home from uni and the smell seeping out around the toilet area was diabolical. Me thinking this isn't right I mean it's a scruffy old place at the best of times...More

Thank Gina S
Slug and Lettuc... H, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Hi Gina, We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with your last visit to us at The Slug and Lettuce, Harpenden. In regards to the smell, we have had contractors out to rectify the problem but unfortunately it is a drainage problem...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Lussmanns Harpenden
453 reviews
.09 km away
Bar Azita
629 reviews
.10 km away
The Vine Leaves
424 reviews
.06 km away
Silver Palate
245 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Big Space
85 reviews
.72 km away
Breathing Space Spa
37 reviews
.22 km away
Aldwickbury Park Golf Club
23 reviews
1.54 km away
Harpenden Farmers' Market
12 reviews
.22 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Slug and Lettuce staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 8 - US$ 19
Cuisine
Bar, British
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments
Good for
Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 23:00
Monday
09:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:00
Thursday
09:00 - 00:00
Friday
09:00 - 01:00
Saturday
09:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 9 High Street, Harpenden AL5 2RT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Harpenden
  • Phone Number: +44 1582 764624
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing