We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Horse at Ampfield

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British,
Romsey SO51 9BQ, England
+44 1794 368356
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good31%
  • Average10%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“fish pie” (4 reviews)
“lamb shank” (4 reviews)
“sunday roast” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Romsey SO51 9BQ, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

I have eaten at the White Horse on many occasions as I am local to Ampfield. On this visit I wasn't impressed by the quality of the food, or indeed the chef who I'm guessing is the land lord. The starters we ok. My wife...More

1  Thank pnicholls0403
whitehorseampfield, Owner at The White Horse at Ampfield, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Dear Mr Nicholls Hello from Basil Fawlty at the White Horse at Ampfield. Firstly can I say that all the recent comments on our pies are justified. I have spoken to the gentleman who sells us this product and have severed our connection, there was...More

Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

Had dinner here on Saturday night. Food was lovely. However bar man on duty was incredibly rude. All in all was a nice restaurant

1  Thank kathrynl1993
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Ordered steak and ale pie for myself and my wife. Normally the food is very good but on this occasion my wife's pie was full of gristle. We mentioned this to the staff and were told that they were prepared off site and sometimes a...More

Thank Paul B
whitehorseampfield, Owner at The White Horse at Ampfield, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Paul I am very sorry to hear you and your wife did not enjoy your meal and that it was poorly dealt with by a member of my staff. As I was on holiday at the time of your visit I would really appreciate...More

Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

We decided to try White Horse after driving past it for years. I’m so glad we did. The fire in the lounge area is a lovely addition. The staff are very friendly & welcoming. Menu has an excellent choice & the food quality seemed excellent....More

Thank enzo812
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Any place that serves Clam Chowder deserves to be visited in my opinion, and what they offered was top notch. We were over here on a weekend away and this place was just down the road from where were staying. It's a busy place considering...More

Thank Campagnolo39-53
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Good pub, with excellent food, especially liked the specials fish board, we had turbot and brill, both of which were delicious. Very friendly people, good service.

Thank mandy r
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Having worked in the hospitality industry, the overall service was rude and impolite. As this is a pub/restaurant they should expect walk ins of all sizes and maintain a good standard of service for all of their customers and not just the people who have...More

Thank Bradley M
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Last Saturday 4 of us had the fresh fish blackboard menu-Brill, Plaice & Turbot! Superb, and incredibly good value! Wonderfully friendly service. Faultless! Went again last night, just as good, we will be going there a lot. Sensibly priced wine list too!

1  Thank Graham C
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

The service was awful. Waited over an hour for food with no explanation of why. The staff were very unhelpful and very close to being rude. Some of the food was left under a heat lamp for far too long. It would of been nice...More

Thank Jacqueline J
whitehorseampfield, Owner at The White Horse at Ampfield, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

One has to accept in this business that you will sometimes deal with people who can be both agressive and downright rude. They will use tripadvisor as a weapon of choice instead of discussing things at the time, this is their right, but please can...More

Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

I advise everybody aviod this venue as the service was terrible the food eas much to be desired not A place to enjoy food

1  Thank anthonywoodford
whitehorseampfield, Owner at The White Horse at Ampfield, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

please see above response, by the way Sloppy has 2 p's

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Romsey Hotels
The Potters Heron
522 reviews
1.14 km away
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
1,464 reviews
4.61 km away
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
617 reviews
5.21 km away
The Abbey Hotel Romsey
20 reviews
5.23 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Keats Restaurant
238 reviews
.04 km away
Restaurant 54
37 reviews
.04 km away
The Potters Heron Hotel
194 reviews
1.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
For Life Experiences (FLE)
12 reviews
1.65 km away
The Otter
42 reviews
5.41 km away
Sir Harold Hillier Gardens
483 reviews
2.05 km away
Chandler's Ford Library
10 reviews
4.66 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
jeannieht
1 December 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Pruneface | Reviewed this property |
Their website is very helpful unfortunately I cannot include it on here but The White Horse, Ampfield will find it ... And their food times are..... Food Service Hours Mon – Sat Lunch: 12pm – 2.30pm Mon – Sat Evening: 6pm... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 17 - US$ 22
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Validated Parking
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Romsey SO51 9BQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Romsey
  • Phone Number: +44 1794 368356
  • E-mail
Description
Parts of the ancient building of the White Horse date back to the 16th century, and the two large Inglenook open fires bear testament to their heritage with their smoking chambers and their priest hole. These fires which are always alight during the winter months throw their heat into the various bar areas.The locals bar, with its dart board, and cosy village atmosphere retains the typical English pub image. Roaring log fire, the slap of cards on the table during a crib match and the thump of darts in the board, echo quietly in this bar. No background music can be heard, just the agitated discussions of the village elders who frequent this oasis of good beer & conversation.The lounge bar, with its equally large Inglenook can accommodate up to 40 people sitting and many more standing. Used by many people as a dining area, it still retains its “Olde World Charm”. A comfortable Chesterfield and deep farmhouse chairs merely add to the pleasant ambience of this lovely area.The restaurant has been built in a new area that extends towards the lovely pub garden. Seating 90 customers it makes a perfect place to enjoy the excellent food that is always available.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing