We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The French Horn

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
the butts, Alton GU34 1RT, England
+44 1420 83269
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

259 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 258: English reviews
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Met up with a friend for a light lunch. We both selected the Ciabatta. The Ciabattas were tasty and well prepared.

Helpful?
Thank Graham C
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

7 of us booked into the French Horn for a Valentines Meal, enticed by the special menu, and we were not disappointed. Fabulous meal and great service. Well done.

Helpful?
1 Thank Finnboy1
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with friends having been a year or so go in the evening. Apparently it has changed hands since then. The good news is that for Sunday lunch it is very very good. A good range and a good size of portion - very good quality food cooked well at reasonable prices. We ate in the restaurant area which is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve D
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Out for a Sunday drive and stopped off on spec for a bite to eat.... what a lovely surprise!!! Met by friendly and helpful staff and guided to their beautiful Roast Lamb.. to die for!!! Selection of Ales on tap made me wish I wasn't driving, but will make sure I return for a proper tasting session!! Hats off for... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank WillTi440
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was in the area check out where 2 eat on here and was very impressed with food great beers and the manger Stu was a real gem so friendly and nothing was 2 much for him 2 do for us... keep the great work up will be back for sure....

Helpful?
1 Thank David N
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2017

I've visited The French Horn many times over the last year and will continue to do so. The Manager, Stuart, and staff are always friendly and obliging. The restaurant is welcoming, clean and tidy and the food is always good.

Helpful?
1 Thank cholloway48
Romsey, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2016

An unpretentious pub that offers good food, reasonable prices, marvellous and friendly service with views of steam trains on the Watercress Line. What's not to like! Thank you French Horn for an enjoyable visit.

Helpful?
Thank gillmerriemoore
Dannyc073, Manager at The French Horn, responded to this review

Hi gillmerriemoore, Thank you for a lovely review, very kind! We love the views of the watercress line, so pretty especially in the winter when you can clearly see it through the (bear) trees! See you again soon, Danny More 

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

Table was booked and although we arrived early we received a friendly welcome . Food was hot and tasty . Portions a little on the small side . Two of our guests had the goats cheese parcel .... interesting terminology..... more of a roll and was slightly over cooked . The service was quite slow but we were in with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn N
Dannyc073, Manager at The French Horn, responded to this review

Hi Dawn N, Thank you for leaving us some feedback with your 5* review, it is very important we listen to all feedback and act accordingly. In terms of the parcel - I understand what you have said and glad you liked it, its a very popular dish! Sorry you found the smell musty, we have never had that feedback... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2016

Nice pub, friendly staff, good service, poor food. We ordered a roast, it came badly presented, barely warm and everything was overcooked and/or soggy.

Helpful?
4 Thank Deb B
Dannyc073, Manager at The French Horn, responded to this review

Hi Deb B, So sorry you felt this way and really sad you choose not to say anything to the team working, during the Christmas period we had nothing but empty plates and happy people so surprised to read this. If you did want to give me any specific feedback I would happily receive it on dan@innthehorn.co.uk Kind regards, Danny More 

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2016

On Tuesday evening our book club had our Christmas dinner at The French Horn. There were great choices on the menu which we had pre ordered via email. On the night the service and the delicious food were amazing. Our meals arrived all together, they were hot and looked apppetising. Everyone said it was one of the best Christmas dinners... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Julie B
Dannyc073, Manager at The French Horn, responded to this review

Hi Julie B, Ah the Mince pie rice pudding, must say that was stunning! Jake our head chef took time in creating the Christmas Menu and we all enjoyed it too!!!! Thank you very much for taking the time over this busy period to leave us a review, it was a pleasure to have you and we look forward to... More 

Travellers who viewed The French Horn also viewed

 
 

Been to The French Horn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: the butts, Alton GU34 1RT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Alton
  • Phone Number: +44 1420 83269

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The French Horn and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Fleet, United Kingdom
8 days ago
7 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The French Horn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?