We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan

₹₹ - ₹₹₹British
17 High Street, Thornbury BS35 2A4, England
+44 1454 413062
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good20%
  • Average16%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible18%
8 Aug 2017
“short break”
27 Jun 2017
“Nice setting, very average food.”
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
British
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
17 High Street, Thornbury BS35 2A4, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2017

We always go to the Swan for lunch when attending one of our shows at Thornbury. Always made to feel welcome, and i've said it before, its a pub that welcome's people of all age groups, and abilities. It was great to hear the "friendly...More

Thank Jane D
Sandra D, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the review I am pleased that we are still giving you the service which you deserve as being a customer. We look forward to seeing you when you come back again soon. Thanks Sand

Reviewed 9 August 2017

Called in whilst on a short break. Only stayed for one drink we felt very unwelcome there were regulars sat at the bar that you had to struggle through and climb over their legs to even get served. Not very friendly.More

Thank Marie M
Sandra D, Owner at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Firstly may I apologise for the reception you had and the way in which you were left feeling. I am totally gutted that you feel this way as this is not the normal practice at The Swan and we always try and make everyone feel...More

Reviewed 27 June 2017

Its a sprawling place the Swan hotel with nice homily decor in the front bar area. Menu is very extensive and there was a specials board as well. We opted for the bacon cheeseburger and chips and a pork roast. The roast was plentiful with...More

Thank decbres
Sandra D, Owner at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

Thank you for your comments I will speak to the staff concerned on that day as this is certainly not the normal standard that we normally offer. I was working that day and should you have not been happy I would have appreciated your opinions...More

Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

We had a great stay in the swan inn. We were looked after very well. The food was amazing. Sandra and carl couldnt have been more helpful. I found the place always clean. The town and locals very pleasant. Would definitely stay again.

Thank Helen F
Sandra D, Owner at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Thank you for your kind review we are always grateful for all our reviews and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Reviewed 24 September 2016

Good pub grub type food. Nice at lunchtime. Dogs allowed. But...on Saturdays dint expect to get food as they stop early to allow a band to set up. Our order was forgotten so we had to eat whilst the instruments were set up around us....More

Thank parrotperson1
Sandra D, Owner at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Thank you for your review we always appreciate reviews I am sorry that your order was forgotten however I am surprised at this as I was not made aware of this at the time, unfortunately I am unable to speak to the staff concerned as...More

Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Very uninspiring ploughman's which didn't even come with a bread roll as standard. Had to pay £1 extra for some equally unimpressive cheap bread. Won't be back in a hurry! Bar staff were pleasant though.More

Thank ACE-foodies123
Sandra D, Owner at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

Thank you for your trip advisor review, I am so sorry for the ploughman's if you would like to contact me direct I will certainly rectify the problem and I would like to know when you came so I can speak to the staff who...More

Reviewed 13 September 2016

We had a three course set meal for Mum & Dads 60thWedding Anniversary. This is the 2nd celebration we have had at The Swan this year, and once again Sandra made the arranging so easy. The room was decorated beautifully, all of the staff were...More

1  Thank sandratrave
Sandra D, Owner at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2016

Thank you for your kind review once again and we are pleased to hear that once again you were very happy with what we did for you on this very special occasion , we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future with...More

Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

We popped in here for lunch we had slow cooked belly pork it was scrumptious. All veg was fresh and tasty had mash with mine.red cabbage also.the flavours were lovely and meal so reasonably priced around 9 pounds. We also had a coffee each which...More

Thank Maria B
Sandra D, Owner at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

Thank you for your review we appreciate all the review which are left by our customers we will look forward to hopefully being able to welcome you back again in the future.

Reviewed 29 May 2016

Stopped here for a quick bite to eat, we ordered two roast dinners, one pork and one beef along with two lime and soda's. Bill came to almost £23 and as I sat down i thought that was dear. The two roasts were £7.95 each...More

Thank teejaybeeBristolUK
Sandra D, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2016

Thank you for the trip adviser I take on board the error that was made on the bill and can only apologise for this, we did have a new person on the bar on Sunday and it was his first shift I can only apologise...More

Reviewed 12 May 2016 via mobile

Superb - pub food at its best! A friendly welcome combined with prompt efficient service makes this a pub worth visiting.

Thank Keith F
Sandra D, Owner at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2016

Thank you for your kind review we are continuously striving to ensure that our customers are enjoying their time with us and coming up with new ideas and polishing up on the existing ones is often hard but we strive to do our best.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Ronnies
486 reviews
.08 km away
La Piazza
490 reviews
.08 km away
Hawkes House
390 reviews
.11 km away
Thai Basil
178 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
6 O'Clock Gin Distillery
22 reviews
.81 km away
Paintpotts
16 reviews
.10 km away
Thornbury Castle
130 reviews
.70 km away
Thornbury Golf Centre
62 reviews
1.18 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Swan staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 3 - US$ 20
Cuisine
Meals
Brunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Television, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Buffet, Seating, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Monday
9:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Friday
9:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 17 High Street, Thornbury BS35 2A4, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Gloucestershire  >  Thornbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1454 413062
  • E-mail
Description
The Swan is a traditional local pub based on a high street which is situated in an old market town. The Swan is the oldest building in Thornbury and is grade 1 listed. The Swan offers a warm and friendly atmosphere that is Cask Marque listed for its excellant beers and the food is second to none cooked to order and all the meat is sourced locally and daily for the local butcher. The Swan has a self contained fnction room which is ideal for private and corporate functions as well as a beer garden and skittle alley. The Swan is very well liked with people visiting from overseas as it is a traditional local pub which has a lot of history attatched to it which th staff will always be hapy to tell you more about. Food is served 7 days a week from 9 am - 8.30pm Sunday to Friday and opens at 9.00am on Saturday.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing