We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Plough

) #56 of 288 Restaurants in Chelmsford , British,
28 Duke Street, Chelmsford CM1 1HY, England
+44 1245 250145
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good31%
  • Average13%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“burger” (10 reviews)
“gammon” (2 reviews)
“mixed grill” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
28 Duke Street, Chelmsford CM1 1HY, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

The pub seems a little dark inside, but appeared clean, and the tables were cleared quickly. We had two meals for £9.50, crazy price, very well cooked and quick service. There is a seating area out the back too for us smokers. The toilets were...More

1  Thank essexrainman
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hello, thank you; we appreciate your feedback! Please don't hesitate to reach out if there's anything additional we can do for you.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Is Very good restaurant with a very good fish and chips.. is very tasty and also the price is good...

1  Thank Vivian M
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks Vivian for your great review we really appreciate you taking the time to leave this and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

The Plough is my favourite place. The small yard on the back is very beautiful with tables that you may drink your beer and smoke. The best fish and chips !!!!!!

1  Thank Peny59
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Peny, thank you so much for the positive review! It's always great to receive such great feedback and will pass on your comments to my team. Hope to see you very soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I love this pub its friendly clean and serves good food at normal prices and pours a really good pint of Guinness. I had the Italian chicken with sweet potato fries and it was absolutely delicious.

1  Thank Talia B
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Talia , we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Plough! Thanks for leaving us such a great review see you soon

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A nice pub with good value food. Main side has many TVs for sports fans. The reason for the poor rating is the poor service I received the other week here. Got off my train after day at work in London and fancied a beer...More

1  Thank crath121
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. I am disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one. I have looked into this matter and have fully briefed my team as to practises with regards...More

Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

To start food was good,there was four of us and food came out together,then met up with some work collegues was having a lovely time then a couple of other friends turned up so myself and hubby sat with them,now heres the strange bit the...More

1  Thank Sarah B
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Sarah, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. I am looking into this and it would be great if you could provide me with some more info. Could you please call me on 01245 250145 many thanks Suzanne Manager

Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

Went here last night for dinner and had a really nice dinner! It was great value for money and the food was really nice. We had the nachos grande with BBQ pulled pork, which could have done with a bit more cheese but was really...More

2  Thank Jessica S
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Jessica, thank you so much for your positive comments about The Plough! , We appreciate you taking the time to leave us this feedback. The skillets have returned recently on our new menu and are extremely popular so it is great to hear you...More

Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

Went around lunchtime wasn't too packed clean tidy... Staff were nice enough... Had highchairs food was lovely really enjoyed it

1  Thank gennywenny
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Thank you so much for your high rating! We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Reviewed 2 May 2017

Quite often use the Plough as they have a good selection of ales. Normally go in after the theatre when getting served is not a problem. This time however, 7pm on a Friday night, there were only two behind the bar and we waited over...More

1  Thank invisible2016
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Invisible2016, we pride ourselves on providing exceptional service, so we are disappointed to hear that your visit with us was anything less than satisfactory. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will use your comments to refine our efforts to ensure this issue...More

Reviewed 24 April 2017 via mobile

Lovely pub, friendly, nice atmosphere, no hostility, nothing flash. Food is popular here especially at lunchtime. Major sport is shown and most big football fixtures but it's not a sports bar and the rest of the time there is background music. I've been coming here...More

1  Thank Ryan K
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Ryan K, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Plough!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Gurkha Restaurant
790 reviews
.19 km away
Il Palazzo
133 reviews
.12 km away
Crystal Palace
239 reviews
.17 km away
Zorba the Greek Taverna
332 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
Chelmsford Cathedral
186 reviews
.37 km away
Civic Theatre
38 reviews
.13 km away
High Chelmer Shopping Centre
25 reviews
.44 km away
Central Park, Bell Meadow and Sky Blue Pasture
18 reviews
.70 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Plough staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 13
Meals
Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Takeout, Reservations
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 28 Duke Street, Chelmsford CM1 1HY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Chelmsford
  • Phone Number: +44 1245 250145
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing