We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Townhouse

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1 London Road, Bexhill-on-Sea TN39 3JR, England
+44 1424 211730
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 11:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 42: English reviews
Loughborough
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A fantastic lunch for the family with great food at even better prices. Everything youd want on the menu from a pub and all meals were lovely! Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank Kevinb2147
TownhouseTeam, Owner at The Townhouse, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind words, we do try our best and the team will be happy to hear your positive feedback. Thank You More 

Gibsons, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

Came in for lunch with friends. The waitress didn't clean our table when we sat down. It looked like it had been there a while. The food itself was good pub food and very reasonably priced. We did have to ask for cutlery too. Overall, we will return again!

Helpful?
Thank Rachie C
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2016

Visited for first time with my son Matthew and family. Very good service and food. Will hopefully be back for Sunday lunch tomorrow 👍

Helpful?
Thank 42Patsy38
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2016

Be careful. Price on menu is not necessarily price charged as 'stickers' may have been removed. Not the cost involved but the principal. When challenged the owner was very rude and had I not been with friends I would not have stayed. Although I work locally I will not go back. Not the first time we have come across this... More 

Helpful?
Thank guestling2016
TownhouseTeam, Owner at The Townhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your remarks. Unfortunately due to a printing error on the menus corrections have to be made after printing to reflect the actual prices. We are not trying to mislead anybody and the price difference in point was a pound. You were offered the choice to cancel your choice and make another selection by the owner, who was... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2016

Had the steak - it wasn't good. Medium-rare came out exactly the same as well done did, and both practically needed a hacksaw to cut up they were so tough. My jaw was aching afterwards! The staff were friendly though, so maybe some of the other food would be OK to soak up beer of an evening, but I wouldn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank burningmatt
TownhouseTeam, Owner at The Townhouse, responded to this review

What a shame......so disappointed you didn't bring this to our attention, we serve dozens of steaks weekly and usually don't have any problems, if and when we do, we are always happy to do it again or replace with something else or even refund your money. Sorry you feel the way you do but sometimes things happen, if you tell... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2016 via mobile

I have been going to Townhouse for a few years now... I sometimes go with others and at times alone... I normally go to watch footy and I find that there is also someone to have banter with and staff and customers are always pleasant... I have eaten here in previously and never really had an issue.. When I first... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bhav370
TownhouseTeam, Owner at The Townhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words......we try hard to get it right, we admit not always successfully but who's perfect? More 

Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2016

We stayed one night here at the end of Jan, for £40 a night including breakfast...and what a breakfast! The Townhouse is above Pissario's restaurant and the food coming out is of true restaurant standard, hubby had the full English I had the Eggs Florentine; poached egg on smoked salmon with hollandaise sauce in a huge brioche bun, plenty of... More 

Helpful?
Thank stmoritz1960
TownhouseTeam, Owner at The Townhouse, responded to this review

This is not for The Townhouse in Bexhill......wrong place. More 

Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2016

I came here today with a group of friends. We all were not aware of the fact that you had to be 21 and over to sit in the bar area. We were politely shown to our table, but then told to "get an adult to come and sit with us" in a rather condescending manner. We promptly left the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Katy G
TownhouseTeam, Owner at The Townhouse, responded to this review

Im not sure what you mean.........you don't have to be over 21 to sit in the bar, we don't show people to tables, we are a pub that does pub stuff. You have to be over 18 to purchase alcohol or be in the premises without an adult (that's just the law, not us) Quite honestly, I am completely miffed... More 

Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2016

I'm gutted to be writing this poor review. The staff were lovely and the decor is great however I was really disappointed with the food. I ordered the Thai curry off the specials board. It came out beautifully presented. The chicken was so watery I wasn't sure at first if it was cooked, it was just because it was some... More 

Helpful?
Thank littlemiz
TownhouseTeam, Owner at The Townhouse, responded to this review

Sorry to hear this, we try hard to get things right and will always change your food if you're not happy with something, such a shame you didn't bring this to our attention at the time, you only mentioned the popadom after your meal, said nothing about the curry, which sold well, then went home and penned your review. It... More 

Bexhill, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2016 via mobile

Always forget that this place serves food, stopped off for a spur of the moment lunch stop and we were so glad we did, only had burgers but the service presentation and quality were outstanding, will definitely be making more trips here

Helpful?
Thank Cathy H
TownhouseTeam, Owner at The Townhouse, responded to this review

Always nice to get good feedback.......will be passed on to the team. Thank You. More 

Travellers who viewed The Townhouse also viewed

Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 

Been to The Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 5 - US$ 9
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 London Road, Bexhill-on-Sea TN39 3JR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Bexhill-on-Sea
  • Phone Number: +44 1424 211730
Description
A traditional English pub serving good quality traditional food, all cooked to order and served all day.We also offer a selection of real ales plus a large selection of lagers. For the finer weather days we have an exquisite beer garden with different zones for different moods, chilled and relaxed, alfresco dining and social meeting place, real flame heating and a fire pit provide a little respite against the English climate.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Townhouse and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Townhouse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?